We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing, awsome pools”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas
Ranked #36 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Bungendore, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“relaxing, awsome pools”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Great service with friendly smiles, beautiful pool with swim up bar - enjoyed the breakfast and luxury rooms. just a tad far out of Kuta, need to use the blue taxi service to get around.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    318
    116
    41
    22
See reviews for
316
259
32
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodvale, Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I was very concerned about staying at the Patra after reading some of the comments on Trip Advisor. They were so varied. What were we in for, have we made a mistake?

Well, we spent 9 nights in April 2012 with our 2 children (6 and 8) and had a fantastic time. As we knew that the hotel grounds were huge, we emailed ahead to request a room close to the pool and upstairs and we certainly weren’t disappointed. Our Deluxe Suite (which suits our family lifestyle) was amazing with two balconies, no common walls, king bed, beds for the children, lounge, marble bathroom, separate bath/shower and plenty of storage and 2 TV’s!! The children's TV was even bigger than ours!!! (Ok they weren’t modern TV’s but they still do the same job). There was plenty of hot water and the rooms were always serviced immaculately by the staff.

The pool area is huge and very inviting, the grounds are beautifully manicured and the staff could not do enough for you, they were so friendly. To some it may be a little far out of Kuta for restaurants and shopping but it only takes about 15 minutes to walk on the beach to the centre of Kuta (which by the way is a lovely stroll) and if you don’t want to walk ....well $2.00 AUS isn’t much to take a metered taxi or there is a free shuttle bus at different times during the day from the hotel. For us it wasn’t a problem and we enjoyed not being in the hustle and bustle of Kuta especially whith children. Being close to the airport doesn’t cause any grief either - the children loved seeing the planes land.

Breakfast at the hotel was great, heaps and heaps to choose from. If you didn’t want to eat at the hotel, there were 3-4 restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance that were very reasonably priced, actually all of them were cheaper than most of the restaurants on the main street of Kuta.

We couldn’t fault our experience at the Patra one bit and we would definitely stay there again. Congratulations on a fabulous resort which is well priced to suit down to earth families.

Room Tip: Upstairs Deluxe Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dancam06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We went back to the Patra Bali because we'd stayed there some years ago and fallen in love with its beautiful gardens, huge rooms, lovely pools & friendly staff.
But time ages all of us, and without some upkeep the wrinkles start to show.
The good - and there's lots of it - the gardens are still amazingly beautiful and if you stay in the 300 - 400 + units you'll be able to walk through them to breakfast each day.
As a plus you'll have minimal airport noise - and with the enormous increase in flights using the airport that can be an issue in the rooms closest to it.
The rooms - and particularly the deluxe suites - are much bigger than anything being built today and the balconies overlook the gardens.
But here the wrinkles start to show.
Wooden floors have been worn by years of sandy feet and really need re-finishing, toilet seat plastic is turning yellow and plumbing & wiring are showing their age.
We checked in at 7.00 pm after a flight from Sandakan in Borneo via Kuala Lumpur that had begun far too early that morning - so we were tired, hungry, sweaty & really needed a shower. Check in was great & the bell man with his golf court took us to our suite & helped us with our bags - but as we came through the door we heard the noise of constantly running water in the toilet.
No problem said the bell man, we'll send someone over right away to fix it.
We couldn't shower because we didn't want to be naked when he arrived, so we waited and waited, calling customer service & eventually the night manager every half hour or so. About an hour & a half later a maintenance man with no English arrived, looked at it & gave up [the flapper valve had died of old age & he didn't have a new one] so we called the night manager back & asked for a new room. Persuading him to give us one took another hour - why was this so difficult ? - but by 10.30 we'd showered in our new room & finally made it to the restaurant almost too tired to eat.
Can we have something simple like a pizza or steak sandwich ? No - the pizza restaurant closes at 10 and all the restaurant does is heavy dinners with a major emphasis on Nasi Goreng type Indonesian food & expensive steak. A kind waitress finally took pity on us & offered to serve the steak as two sandwiches, at which point the night manager arrived & told us that would be an extra charge and we should order from the menu, until [bless her] she told him she'd already told us a lower price...
Throughout our stay front line staff were all great & tried very hard to help - but management today seems to be totally obsessed with making every last possible cent from guests [read their currency agreement that says you acknowledge that even though you booked in dollars you'll be billed in rupiahs & if the dollar goes down you'll be out of luck, or their non-recourse credit card agreement which has you signing that your stay met all reasonable expectations so you can't complain to your credit card company]
Or look at the prices for their spa..
They're also heavily into tour groups and the steady income they provide, which makes getting a table for breakfast difficult [hint, find out when they'll be eating & pick a different breakfast time] and since most of them are from Taiwan, Korea & Indonesia the breakfast menu tends to be heavily into very ethnic foods, with western choices largely limited to fried food, baked beans & thankfully a good omelette bar.
But more plusses - you're a healthy walk or short cab ride away from one of the best beachside restaurants for dinner ever, the Boardwalk, near the shopping mall. Fantastic food, great service and the sea lapping beside you as the sun sets. And for lunch when you're tired of souvenir shopping Sugar Mamas is fun and surprisingly good..
Pools are a plus or minus depending on whether you have young children - the smaller one which used to be for adults is reserved for villa guests these days, so the larger one gets taken over by children for most of the day. If they're your children its great, but if you'd like to sunbathe quietly or swim in an adult pool you may not be quite so thrilled.
Were we just unlucky & do the plusses outweigh the minuses ?
Would we go back ?
Maybe, just maybe for the gardens - but I'll be reading Trip Advisor first to see if they've renovated and put some money back into what should be a very beautiful resort

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sewaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country South Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

10 out of 10 for The Patra. Wonderful staff, Grounds to die for! Resort Transport guys are tops..Hello to Giday what a wonderful young man. Deluxe Suites are fantastic, Clean, spacious and cool enough. We had two families stay here Kids aged 10 to 13, neither of us could find any complaints after 11 days of Bliss.. we have both travelled extensively, and this measures up to the best... When I read some reviews I cannot figure why anybody would complain..Man some people must just have to winge..Keep up the good work! BRILLIANT!

Room Tip: Deluxe suite are perfect for families.. fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce0134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

First time back in Bali for 20 odd years, I really enjoyed this place. It's vast and beautiful, friendly staff, immaculate rooms, luxurious and clean. I'd take my family if I go back. It's about a 15/20 min walk into central Kuta but still quiet if you want to stay out of the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarnzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 km away
Novotel Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
2.4 km away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
1.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
1.3 km away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.7 km away
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
#4 of 20 in Tuban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patra Bali Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patra Bali Resort & Villas

Property: The Patra Bali Resort & Villas
Address: Jl. Ir. H. Juanda, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kuta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#25 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#33 Family Hotel in Kuta
#38 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,819 - ₹ 11,886
Hotel Class:4 star — The Patra Bali Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas is a five star hotel set among 11 hectares of combination panoramic ocean and lush garden views, reflecting a true element of style in the culturally rich environment of Bali. The location is ideal, a huge landscaped property on South Kuta Beach, directly on the Indian Ocean and only five minutes from the airport. A huge (free) kids club with variety of kid's activities and great facilities for families made Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas one of Bali's most popular family resorts and the tropical gardens are particularly favored for weddings. The huge variety of breakfast selection (International food, Japanese food, Indonesian food and Indian Food) will indulge you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Patra Bali Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Patra Bali Resort And Villas
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas Hotel Kuta
Patra Bali Resort
Patra Bali Hotel
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing