We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How cheap is too cheap?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Residence Kuta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Residence Kuta
Ranked #66 of 280 Kuta B&B and Inns
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“How cheap is too cheap?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

On the walk to this fine establishment you pass a smelly rubbish tip on your left, unused squatters building on your right, way too many dogs for just one area, and if you are luck you don’t get run down by either a taxi or a bike who are using this as a shortcut to avoid the main roads. After trekking for more than 10 minutes around various back alleys you come across the open reception desk where there is no security, you ask “is this the only access option” and are told yes! The “superior” room is located on the ground floor (again reminder that there is no security). If this still does not horrify you, go ahead and check out the bathroom!! For what is supposed to be a newly renovated hotel the shower curtains alone must be more than 5 years old – with the 5 years of mould to go with it! Oh also – speaking to the locals, the hotel is a no go zone as it was not blessed by them. The hotel has changed owners 4 times and each time they have not listened to what the locals have to say! I did not end up staying there, even though I had paid for the accommodation in full via Agoda. I was very disappointed as the photos are very deceiving and I had to fork out the extra money to say somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Brooke8319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    25
    26
    14
    2
See reviews for
9
28
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

My Fiance found this place through a friend who worked there but never hearing about it made me very worried about where we were staying. But I loved my stay here!! The staff at the front desk were so very helpful and friendly and on our last day, even gave us a box of tissues & cold drinks (we had to wait in the lobby for the car & we were quite emotional as my Fiance wasn't returning home with me).

The breakfast was quite basic but it was enough to keep us going until lunch time. The lady that served the breakfast everyday was wonderful. After the 3rd day, as soon as she saw us, she'd bring out juice, water & coffee for us. And as soon as she noticed my coffee was empty, she'd bring another one over! I loved that they didn't have an all day menu or drink menu (even though they have a little store out the front), it allowed us to leave actually having money left over!!

Our room was always clean when we would come back but I hated that when we would shower, the floor would be covered it water. But that's it!

The location was good for us (we have a bike) but some people might find it daunting walking to or from the hotel, especially if they're not familar with the area or confident.

We loved the pool!! Only once was there someone else in there at the same time as us and it was beautiful at night, just relaxing with a drink!

I can't praise the staff and management enough! They allowed us to bring 5 of our friends up to the pool on our second night and have a small "party" with food and drinks. Also, when any of our friends showed up looking for us, they'd call us to let us know and ask if they could send them up to us.


Overall, we loved our stay. So much so that we're going back for 2 weeks over Christmas!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crisa87au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed here for one night at the end of our trip, to be close to the airport for an early morning flight. The hotel's staff were very very accommodating, and no request was too much trouble for them.

Arriving at the hotel with very negative first impressions after a walk down poorly lit, narrow alleyways (which also became a problem when eating out at night - it didn't feel particularly safe to walk back to the hotel after dinner, and I was glad I wasn't travelling alone) we were greeted by apologetic and friendly reception staff, who checked us in quickly and efficiently and helped us to find somewhere nearby to eat. As this was the end of our trip, my travel partner had asked the hotel to arrange a small surprise of chocolates on our pillows and the staff were delighted to provide this service.

The free shuttle service to the airport was also very useful, but be warned, the service only runs after around 6am, so don't rely on this if you have a very early flight.

Overall, the hotel was a perfect place for a single night before or after a long flight, but perhaps not ideally located to enjoy Kuta.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minicuttingblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

the hotel itself is not bad with clean rooms and helpful staff. however, it is located quite far away from the downtown area. therefore, it's not convenient neither for shopping nor for sightseeing. there were many mosquitoes in the room. wi-fi only worked in the lobby area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed only 2 nights as our main trip was to go to Balian (2 hours north) for 2 weeks. All we wanted is a place to recoup from the long trip (fm QLD Australia with small kids) and pick up supplies before our journey, so it suited our purpose. We got 2 rooms side by side so that hubby & I can alternate having 1 decent night sleep and 1 with the kids for a not-so-decent night sleep. As far as baby proofing the rooms were ideal for that. Cleanliness in bathrooms was an issue. Everything that the negative reviews is correct, although we didnt go out late at night so we had no issue - we are confident travellers anyway. Staff barely speak english, especially staff who serve breakfast. I loved that part of it as I was intending to learn as much Indonesian as possible this trip. Also, I think they market to the local Indonesians who visit from Jakarta etc so dont expect a western experience. First morning we trundled upstairs to breakfast/pool area and waited 20 minutes before anyone came to serve. Remember this is a SMALL hotel and no traditional type western serving area. What we found is that they gave you 2 choices say, noodles or pancakes and you just picked. What we found is that it was better to stick your head into the kitchen door and bumble to ask what the choices were (as we saw visiting Indonesians do) rather than wait. Pancakes were FANTASTIC! Pool is very small, splash pool, so not great if you intend to lounge around. Lovely to stand on roof and watch the locals. Would I stay here again? The price of 2 rooms for a very quick stay, yes I would. If you need budget but you are staying in Bali for more nights then go elsewhere. It is a "stop-over" place, not a traditional holiday accommodation

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackoperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 km away
Taman Sari Cottage II
Taman Sari Cottage II
#12 of 20 in Tuban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 km away
Billy Pendawa Homestay
Billy Pendawa Homestay
#12 of 280 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.7 km away
Wana Kubu Homestay
Wana Kubu Homestay
#10 of 280 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pondok Anyar Inn
Pondok Anyar Inn
#64 of 280 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.6 km away
Pondok Sari Kuta Bali
Pondok Sari Kuta Bali
#11 of 280 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
15.3 km away
Bakung Sunset Hotel
Bakung Sunset Hotel
#170 of 280 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Residence Kuta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Residence Kuta

Property: A Residence Kuta
Address: Jl. Pudak Sari | Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 280 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price range (per night): ₹ 785 - ₹ 2,945
Hotel Class:3 star — A Residence Kuta 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the local community in a peaceful residential ambience, we offer modern facilities and services of a star hotel. The location is within walking distance from the famous Kuta's shopping recreation and entertainment center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your A Residence Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Residence Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing