We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke filled breakfast room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #219 of 253 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights from the 5th of April. We are regular travellers who stay in mid range hotels. We had made our booking here about 4 months earlier but when we arrived we were told that our Deluxe pool view room was not available and they would upgrade us, this was fine with us. We were taken to a room on the 6th floor in the building facing the reception area, I can't remember the room number but it was the last room on the right hand side. The room did not have a pool view it was looking out over roof tops. Next to the room was another room that had air conditioning units in it that blew hot air into the corridor, the first day was not so bad but it got worse as the days went on. In the afternoon it would get so hot that it had to be at least 55 degrees Celsius out side our door which was affecting the air conditioning in our room. The shower in the room would flood that bad that the water would run out the shower and all over the floor in the bathroom. It would run straight towards the door and we were using towells to stop it going into the bedroom area. We bought this to the attention of the staff but they could not fix the problem. By day two we started to get a sewage smell in our room. We bought this to their attention but they they could not fix the problem. We asked about changing rooms but we were told that the hotel was full, which I didn't totally believe. The breakfast was fine but they allow people to smoke during breakfast some mornings you would have 10 people smoking in the room which was disgusting. I am not against people smoking but to have people's second hand smoke blowing into your face while you are eating breakfast is not very nice. The photos they display on their website are misleading, our room certainly did not look like the photos and we had family staying in other rooms and their rooms were not like the the photos displayed. I think the Swiss bell hotel group should remove the photos from their site and put up current ones. Overall I think this hotel is not worth the money, I think you could get a lot better value elsewhere. I look forward to the reply from the management.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Sydneycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliKutaResortBKR, Front Office Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Sydneycan,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor for Bali Kuta Resort by Swiss-Belhotel International.
We apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We were thought that you and your family would be more comfortable with the bigger room of a junior suite. The weather itself was unusually hot during the time of your stay, which could account for the high temperature in the corridor. We are carrying out maintenance to fix the blockage in the bathroom shower outlets and stop the unpleasant smell. We have also made arrangements for smoking and non-smoking areas during breakfast.
We sincerely hope that you will stay here again on your next trip to Bali.

Regards,

Tedy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 124 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Comfortable stay in the junior suite - loved having the king size bed all for myself!!
Location wasnt the best (due to the Bali one way street systems)

I always use bluebird cabs (no fuss & arguments over payments) but being off the main road not many cans came by)

The drains started to smell on the last night. Noticed I dirtied the bed covers with food and when room was made up that day the sheets wherent replaced thought that was a bit ordinary for a hotel.

Breakfast is chaos, not much room for guests - although good view ! Pick your time or expect to be turned away or wait until a table is free. Since there is free wifi now people hang around after breakfast on laptops & iPads.

Suggest they move to somewhere they can accommodate more people?!

Won't stay there again due to location but comfortable beds & clean rooms. lovely staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danistyles85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliKutaResortBKR, Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Danistyles85,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor for Bali Kuta Resort by Swiss-Belhotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us. We would like to inform you that we do provide a free shuttle to Kuta 3 times a day. Also, we will discuss with the management about the sheet changing system, which inconvenienced you during your stay. We do hope that you would stay here again on your next visit to Bali.

Regards,

Tedy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here for one night before we headed off the island...and we weren't that impressed. I felt like they TRY to make you feel like it's a "nice" resort, but it's all cheap. We had Ants and bugs in our bathroom..we paid extra for a better room, which then to us looked like a normal room. It was further away from the beach than other hotels of the same price that were closer. They put us in a room that was also next to the road, which was noisy. I would say look elsewhere and you can find a better deal.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliKutaResortBKR, Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Eric B,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor for Bali Kuta Resort by Swiss-Belhotel. We apologise for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We will take up the matter of insects in the bathroom with our pest control contractor to arrange for treatment. We hope that you would stay here again on your next visit to Bali.

Regards,

Tedy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were here for our honeymoon in Mar 2012... n booked a deluxe pool view room thinking deluxe meant a little bigger room ..
Check in was smooth... However we were dissappointed with the size of the room as it really was tiny. Would hve preferred a bigger room n smaller balcony .. It really was not like in the photos. Kinda felt upset that the room was so small :(
Nyway The room was decorated with
flowers for our honeymoon n we were given a nice little honeymoon cake..
The best thing in this hotel is the spa , though a lil ex ( u can get cheaper massages on kuta streets) it was a wonderful treat. We took the romantic package n it was just lovely.
There was pretty much nothing else to do at the hotel , we did not swim as it was raining, we did play the free game of Pool while enjoying our welcome drink.
Kuta streets are in walking distance..thank goodness for that otherwise we wud hve been bored here.
The buffet breakfast was such a dissappointment with mostly fried food, salads n porridge. There was however an egg station whr they would make u fresh omlettes n soft boiled eggs... (really prefer Harris Resort Batamz buffet)
So there u have it
Small but clean rooms, average buffet spread..plus point walking distance from kuta streets...Fast service n friendly staff
Ps: they change sheets on a daily basis

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thasha1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliKutaResortBKR, Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Thasha1005,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor for Bali Kuta Resort.
Congratulations on your wedding, we wish you a long and happy life together. We appreciate your enjoying your honeymoon with us. We would like to inform you that our breakfast menu will be reviewed and the same will be done with our Internet photos. We sincerely hope that you would stay here again on your next trip to Bali and look forward to welcoming you.

Regards,

Tedy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We looked online at this hotel and the great photos and thought "NICE". But ! We arrived at nite and were given the worst room in the place. Right next door to the stairs and elevators and breakfast. How much sleep did we get. "ZERO". So complain and shifted to another room which was much much better. The hotel is pretty much booked out so if you come in late the worst rooms is what you get.Having said that the staff are fantastic and they go out of there way to help. Although there is one particular chap at the front counter who throws all the good service from everyone else out the door when you have to deal with him. People skills of which he has none. To the pool bar guys if I had a hotel I would steal you. Breakfast is OK but always cold.
The rooms are clean and the waters hot. It is a bit far out of Kuta but we didnt mind the walk. Be carefull of the photos on the internet as they dont mach what we booked. But hay for the price it is very good.

Room Tip: Dont accept rooms 1 or 2 on every floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliKutaResortBKR, Manager at Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear warpak,

Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor for Bali Kuta Resort.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay with us. We have brought the matter of our Internet photographs to the attention of the management and we will review those photographs. We also be carrying out more staff training in order to ensure that we provide the best service for all our guests.
We hope that you would stay here again on your next visit to Bali.

Regards,

Tedy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 km away
Park Regis Kuta Bali
Park Regis Kuta Bali
#55 of 253 in Kuta
552 reviews
0.4 km away
HARRIS Hotel & Residences Riverview Kuta
1.6 km away
Best Western Resort Kuta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Grand Mega Resort & Spa
Grand Mega Resort & Spa
#116 of 253 in Kuta
452 reviews
1.0 km away
Kuta Central Park Hotel
1.4 km away
The Sunset Bali Hotel
The Sunset Bali Hotel
#81 of 253 in Kuta
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center

Address: Jl. Majapahit No. 18, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: ₹ 1,237 - ₹ 2,670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Kuta Resort by Swiss-Belhotel is conveniently located in the heart of Kuta area, 15 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International Airport and five minutes to Kuta beach. Our central location allows easy access to entertainment venues, tourist attractions, exclusive shopping and sightseeing in the Kuta, Legian, Seminyak and Nusa Dua regions.We boast more than 250 rooms, featuring amenities you would expect of a four-star hotel. Choose from superior, deluxe or junior suites tastefully furnished in a blend of classical and contemporary motifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Kuta Hotel Kuta
Bali Kuta Resort And Convention Center
Bali Kuta Resort & Convention Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing