We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old Sorga - a reliable BUDGET choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sorga Cottages
Ranked #130 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Good old Sorga - a reliable BUDGET choice!”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I have stayed at the Sorga plenty of times over the last 8 years. It's a small family-run property in a back alley off Poppies 1. It used to be a hidden gem among expats, NGO-workers, long-time guests, retirees and the ingenious traveler. Then it got a review in Lonely Planet and it was all over with the atmosphere and hordes of backpackers started descending. First of all, this is NOT a resort. It is also not a 3-star hotel. This is a good solid reliable budget option in the midst of Kuta. The location is great, close to everything you need, but tucked away enough to be quiet and not so hectic. For $25 for two, you get an aircon room with a basic Indonesian breakfast and a small but very convenient pool. If you are noise sensitive, you want to be in the back building to the left and the ground floor rooms are quieter. The upstairs room above the compound walls get the disco noise from Jalan Legian - some nights. Depending on fellow guests, it might be noisy around the pool and restaurant area. Other than that, it is a peaceful hotel. I would go for the more expensive room, they have better beds and are a better deal.
If you are used to Western hotels and you are fussy and you are a non-seasoned traveler, you will not like it. If you have traveled Asia before, then you will be pleasantly surprised The staff are all lovely and have been there for years. The airport pick up is free and reliable. The rooms are clean and are cleaned daily. Yes, there might be mould due to the humid climate, the water pressure is bad, some sheets are old but all are clean. I have never had a rat problem in my 8 years there. I have stayed in almost every room for up to 1 month at a time. They store your luggage while you are away and they welcome you when you get back.
Overall, it is the best of the bunch and at $25 per room, you will not get a better deal.

Room Tip: Take the ground floor rooms in the back building to the left for the least noise - away from pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AquaPacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    45
    31
    13
    9
See reviews for
15
46
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Hotel was good location,10min walk to the beach and to busy streets. Pool looked ok but never use it Room was good size and had tv with good channels ,but i dont think is worth $25 night what we paid!

Sheets had cigarets hole's ,pillows were moldy!!! breakfast were boring .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ursula6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Gifu, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We chose this hotel for the cheap rate and airport pickup. When we arrived in Bali the hotel driver was waiting for us at the airport. He was friendly and professional, despite us being stuck in the horrible taxi queue for over an hour and having to deal with some really rude revelers.

When we finally arrived and the hotel and checked in we were set to sleep. Until, at about 4 am we were woken up by what sounding like a rats-only fight club meeting in the ceiling of our room. We were really really trying to sleep after getting to Bali at 2am and the hotel at 3am, but it was useless. We were slightly concerned about the ceiling being too weak to support the weight of the angry and/or fornicating rodents above.

Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed in Hotel Sorga on our 1st night. This is located in Kuta. A deluxe room with breakfast + free airport pickup costs us Rp.295.000.

Not bad, but it has a creepy feel. The bed is fine, but it looks very old. The bathroom looks haunted.

Again, for the free pickup, their rate is fine.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank riandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The outside of the hotel is really nice, clean swmming pool, nice balinese garden, lovely staff, new towels every day, free pick up from the airport.
But the rooms are very basic comparing to the image we can have from outside. The rooms could be claner AND the second time I stayed at Sorga I had bedbugs. I did not figured out what it was immediatly. But after I sent them an email to say I had bedbugs in their hotel and to inform them they should clean this room more seriously. They did not dare to answer. Unprofessional!!!
Rooms are overpriced and wifi is really expensive (20€ for 10hrs wifi!!!), not even unlimited. Breakfast was really basic, fruits were not good, I'm sure I would have found better fruit at the vegetable market...
So they know their hotel is dirty and they just want to give a "nice image".
Maybe it is worth paying a little bit more and enjoying a really nice hotel at an expensive price. And not a average hotel at an expensive price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimimundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 km away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#110 of 251 in Kuta
85 reviews
0.1 km away
Balisandy Resort
Balisandy Resort
#154 of 251 in Kuta
163 reviews
0.3 km away
Fat Yogi Cottages
Fat Yogi Cottages
#155 of 251 in Kuta
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
La Walon Hotel
La Walon Hotel
#136 of 251 in Kuta
214 reviews
0.5 km away
Restu Bali Hotel
Restu Bali Hotel
#149 of 251 in Kuta
84 reviews
0.9 km away
Jesen's Inn II
Jesen's Inn II
#107 of 251 in Kuta
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorga Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorga Cottages

Property: Hotel Sorga Cottages
Address: Jl. Poppies 1 Gang Sorga, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Kuta
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,035 - ₹ 2,006
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorga Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Kuta Beach, Hotel Sorga Cottages boasts an outdoor pool and rooms with private bathrooms. It offers free usage of safety deposit boxes at the 24-hour front desk. Guests who drive enjoy free parking privileges. Free WiFi access is available in public areas. Hotel Sorga Cottages is located a 10-minute walk from Beachwalk Shopping Centre and 15-minute walk from Kuta Art Market. It takes 20 minutes to drive to Ngurah Rai International Airport from the property. Airport transfers can be arranged at a charge. Providing either air conditioning or a fan, rooms are fitted with wooden furnishings and tiled flooring. Guests can relax in the seating area while enjoying views of the greenery. Select rooms come with a cable TV. Bath and shower facilities are included in the attached bathroom. Staff can assist guests with car rentals and laundry requests. In-room dining options are possible with room service. At Sorga Restaurant, guests can enjoy a variety of Indonesian, Chinese and American dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorga Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorga Hotel Kuta
Hotel Sorga Cottages Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing