We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to basics” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanaya Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tanaya Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 280 Kuta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Back to basics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Booked a room directly from their website and had no problems at all. Check-in was a breeze and was warmly greeted by the reception.

I would say that this place is a bargain especially for the price that I paid. Location was good and near many eateries and shops. It's very basic. I really like the decor, refreshing and tastefully done. There's cable tv too!

The other visitors were right about not getting any mobile reception in the room which I find it quite strange. It can be quite noisy as well with the motorbikes passing through the side lane so if you're a light sleeper, this may not be your place.

I stayed in a double room but checked out those that share a common bathroom. They were generally clean and pleasant. The breakfast area has a balcony which is nice.

What could be improved is the cleanliness in the bathroom. I felt it could use a good scrub for me to give this place an excellent rating.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miss_natq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    190
    49
    11
    9
See reviews for
24
146
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel is really a good one. Do not expect a five star accomodation but my room was clean and tidy. Worths the price definitely. At the same time I only offer for young travelers and not for families with kids. Legian road is the shopping and party area so it is very busy during the day and loud music at night. Plus there is road construction so you have to be careful. But I recommendthis hotel at the same time.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adelina_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is my second trip to Bali. I love Bali~

I took taxi to Tanaya once i reach the airport and it charged us Rp55K. I bought the taxi ticket from the counter near exit even many of them were approached us once we stepped out from the lobby.

Due to the heavy traffic over weekend, the taxi drove us more than 30 minutes to reach Tanaya. This B&B located just nice of the Legian road, a happening night life place. A fast check-in and friendly service provided by the staffs. We stayed at the room 3 (twin bedded with enclosed bathroom) at second floor. The room is clean and the beds are comfortable. Viewing from the window to outside, it is a path for the locals to ride to somewhere. So, it is a bit noisy. The TV stations provides variety of programs so you wont feel bored if staying inside the room. Besides, they also provide Wifi service at the lobby and you may get the coverage in your room with very low speed. We never put high expectation in the breakfast because just a simple bakery food, food and drink only.

This hotel is very strategically located in Legian road. It provides many choices of food and entertainments. It is a pub called "Brewer" located right opposite of the B&B. If you would like to have some western food with pork served, you can turn to your right (walk out from the B&B entrance) to dine at the Mama's German Restaurant. The food is nice and at reasonable price. If you would like to take a Starbucks, just turn to your left from Tanaya and located in the Legian 101 (new hotel with higher price but better environment). Further down from here, you will reach more happening places which consists of many different pubs and lounges. Finally, you will reach a "triangle" junction, a sad place which bombing happened few years back. There is a memorial wall with those name lists stated on for visit. Along the way from Tanaya, there are a lot of branded shops, local shops and convenient stores.

Just an extra sharing tip for those would like to get local sim card. The sim card is not available in all convenient stores. If they can sell you, they will offer you at higher price ranging from Rp50K to Rp90K which i experienced before. As my guess, i think the sim card sell personally by the staff because they won't provide you any receipts and different pricing in different store even the sim pack is same. According to my honest tour guide, the sim card only cost around Rp5K with Rp2K credit inside. If you would like to get one, you may get it around the shop (so-called IT shop) same row with the colourful Surfer girl's shop around the memorial wall because it sells various sim card there. Good luck!

Made's Warung is one of the famous local cafes in Bali. There is a branch in Kuta area which took me 20 minutes to reach there from Tanaya B&B. It is located at the right side of the junction after the memorial wall, which is opposite of the Indigo Kid shop.

From Tanaya to Kuta beach, it only takes about 20 minutes from the short-cut besides the Hurley's building (grey bricks) before the Mama's German restaurant. There are many hidden gems in this path to look around here. Just enjoy the walk to the Kuta Beach.

Room Tip: If you are very sensitive to noise, please get a room further in from the lobby at second floor. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovemenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Strategic Location, All you need (Drink, Shop, Eat, Beach, Club) is only a step away from this hotel. Very Clean, Very comfortable, Very cheap. The amenities using top notch quality like 4Stars Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AfatPhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

As the name suggests, this is a no-frills B&B good if you only need a place to sleep

LIKES:
-Good location if you like the very touristy Kuta area for clubs, shopping, eats
-Double room on 1st floor clean, nice furnishings, good international channels
-Continental breakfast pastries were soft and tastes good
-Reception staff have pleasant demeanour
-Common area are well maintained

DISLIKES:
-Because it is located exactly at Jalan Raya Legian, traffic noise may be too much especially for those whose room is near to the front
-There is a side road running along the building so there's definitely some traffic noise most of the day and night
-A friend was going to join us so we paid for triple room at upper level - HORRIBLE. We had room number 16, a corner one where there's 'sun roof' at the toilet and basin area. You can see the dirt through the opaque plastic roof. Generally room is not clean, old furnishings, cobwebs at some corners, mosquitoes. The worse part was that there was a black worm wriggling, making its way across the floor when we entered (i have photo & video evidence). I did not dare look under the beds. There were 3 rooms being renovated while we were there and so the upper level common area near those rooms are dusty & noisy. Needless to say, we did not want to stay. Unfortunately the 'Manager' was not able to help as the only solution was to move us to one double room. Problem is, we have 3 adults and double room is way to small to accomodate all 3. No other solution was given and no refund, not even partial when we decided not to stay. We moved out and lost US$+++, major disappointment. We would not go back

Room Tip: get ground floor or newly renovated rooms if you really want to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordanIda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 km away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
0.1 km away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#23 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 km away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#34 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa
Sun Island Hotel & Spa
#13 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.0 km away
Rhadana Kuta
Rhadana Kuta
#86 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.4 km away
Palloma Hotel Kuta
Palloma Hotel Kuta
#67 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanaya Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanaya Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tanaya Bed & Breakfast
Address: Jl. Raya Legian 131, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 280 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,047 - ₹ 1,702
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tanaya Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tanaya Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanaya Hotel Kuta
Tanaya Bed And Breakfast
Tanaya Bed & Breakfast Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing