We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful vacation getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Jimbaran, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
munawar a
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad managment”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The place is okay with ocean views. However the issue we had was with the owner. The villa is in a secluded place which we are well aware of so you would at least expect your basic needs met - I.e drinking water. But for some reason this was too much of an ask for the owner to provide when we ran out of water. He got really funny about it and was rude and blamed us for using all the water up.
We wouldn't have asked but as you are in a secluded place you are dependent on management to provide simple necessities.
Also be careful when booking with this owner as he doesn't offer some of the services that is on offer on the website and then claims he doesn't offer refunds when you have paid up.
If you are looking to go to Ungasan there are just as good villas in the same location with better management service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2018
Its all stated in our listing. Moreover you can't expect when selecting the lowest price.Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariamabr...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“insect infected, dirty, poor customer service!”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I would like to start by saying the villa itself is quite nice, however the issues we had on a daily basis ruined our holiday. The main issue is with the management, any issue we had was not resolved and instead of sympathising we would get rude and sarcastic responses. Firstly i tried to book the chef before i arrived and was told they no longer had one, after a few emails he arranged a chef however he was definitely not a qualified chef,the food was terrible and tasteless on both occasions we used him.

Also before i left i checked that they had fumigated for mosquitos and was told they have a professional company that does it. When we arrived at the villa there were many mosquitos( we were all bitten so badly whilst at the villa, even at night in our beds!), there was also an ant infestation, all over the kitchen, inside the cupboard with the crockery, if food was dropped on the floor within minutes there was 100 ants! I couldn't even put a cup of coffee on the table without ants getting into it. I understand that in tropical climates there are insects and that is fine but this was a infestation and not normal! When i contacted the manager (as the staff spoke poor english nothing could be communicated via them) he stated that the fumigation company would be notified and blamed the problem on rain the previous week (we were in a villa in Sanur the previous week and there was no such problem!) No fumigation service came out but the housekeeper sprayed some repellant, no difference to the infestation was made!

The other problem we had was the lack of house keeping by the house keeping staff. One of the house rules was to be clean and hygienic, unfortunately they do not practice what they preach. There was food, dirt, dead insects on the floor on a daily basis. The shower drain had hair clogging it and was not cleaned, towels were not washed and occasionally just hung back (i understand they don't have to be washed daily but we were there for 7 days and due to the hot climate had a few showers daily so they were smelly and dirty!), the bed sheets were also not washed ever in the 7 days we were there, my sons bed sheet had faeces from a gecko (they lived in the ceiling of the bedroom) and that was also not washed, there was gecko faeces on the floor that i cleaned daily a few times a day. The toilets were dirty as were the sinks.It made staying at the villa very unenjoyable.

Then there was the breakfast, in fairness i did not pay (previous reviews were pretty bad on the breakfast) so the manager gave us complimentary breakfast. We requested breakfast at 7 but were told we couldn't have it till 8.30, we agreed on the 1st day as we had no other option. We were given half cooked toasts, coffee with floating bits,unripe melon and papaya that smelt of feet! After that we bought our own bread and fruit and prepared our own breakfast, the staff occasionally cut up our fruit if we requested however we were usually finished wth breakfast by the time they arrived. One morning there was no butter and that is all the villa provided for us! When i mentioned this to the manager his response was that i should ask and i will get! Funnily enough i had asked for butter that morning and got none! The next day we ran out of water being in the middle of nowhere it's not as though you can run to the shops to get basic items.

I feel the staff need better training in preordering items used on a daily basis. They also need to be trained on hygiene such as changing bedsheets and towels. The washing up liquid was diluted with water and completely liquid, it was so disgusting to think that was how our dishes were washed! Again when i complained to the manager he stated i expected a maids service which i found highly offensive and rude!

Wi fi was terrible and the tv had no channels so in the evenings we had to entertain ourselves, not great with young kids or if you want to plan activities, i couldn't even send emails out most days let alone surf the web!

For 2 nights we had 1 aircon remote between 2 rooms and it made it really difficult at night as it got too cold or too hot.
There is no air con in the house other than the bedrooms, in the afternoons when the sun faced the living room it got stifling hot and unbearable, the point of the villa was to spend time with the family together and that was impossible as only the bedrooms had air con.


If your looking for a clean villa, efficient staff and good management that respond to well to complaints by rectifying matters then this is not the place for you. I'm not sure if there has been a new staff turnaround but previous reviews do not reflect the experience i had,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Hi Mariam
Thank you for your feedback. We will improved on some of the areas like getting the right staffing speaking good English which is pretty hard to find in Bali.
Most of the feedback mentioned were completely unfounded. Guest expectations were not with realistic consideration despite offering complimentary daily full breakfast and a substantial lower rates during that season. Pricing given was the lowest for this guest Staff were discriminated for not reaching to her expectation of cleanliness. All the features of the design are all listed in our web page including the location maps of the area. If people bother to read before booking.

Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KZ0101201...
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation getaway”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Karang Kirana is everything it's billed as and proved itself to be everything we were expecting based on the description and reviews.

The villa itself is gorgeous and well furnished. Many times, I've booked hotels based on the professional photos, only to be disappointed on arrival as the property looks nothing like the photos. In this case, the villa is more gorgeous than the photos. From the beautiful pool to the ocean views from the ground level and upper level, it is everything it's billed as.

The villa staff were wonderful and looked after our every need. Being used to doing everything ourselves, it took a bit of getting used to to have people waiting on you all day and have everything done from serving breakfast to laundry and cleaning. The staff were very accommodating and were able to meet our needs easily.

The villa is located in a secluded neighborhood, 5 mins or so drive away from the main road via a narrow single lane road. Unless you are just looking to spend a few days relaxing at a villa with a pool and beautiful views, be sure to arrange transportation. I doubt taxis, Uber and such would be able to find the location easily and there's no place to walk to. We used the transportation option recommended by the villa owners and found it to be excellent and reasonable. The driver was available to us 10 hours daily and knew just about every place nearby so was able to take us to appropriate places based on what we were interested in doing that moment.

The closest beach to the villa is Pandawa beach and only about 8-10 minute drive. It's a hidden gem and one of the nicest beaches in all of Bali. Highly recommended if you are looking to head to a beach and relax. Nusa Dua, Jimbaran and Sanur beaches are also not too far away.

A couple of things would make things even more enjoyable for guests:
- Better wifi: Though we had wifi throughout the stay, the coverage was only good in the main living room area downstairs (An inexpensive wifi booster or two on the upper level would easily solve this issue).
- Better breakfast: The continental breakfast was very basic and consisted of coffee, toast and/or pastry, jam and butter + a plate of cut-up fruit. We resorted to getting eggs and other items from a supermarket on our way back every evening and had the villa staff prepare boiled eggs, etc for Breakfast but would have been nice to just have a hot breakfast included (e.g. Optional at a small additional cost) rather than have to deal with it ourselves daily.

Overall, a great stay and hope to be able to return and stay at Villa Karang Kirana again someday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Hi K.A,
Thank you for a positive review and wonderful feedback. We are glad you and your family had a wonderful time staying at the vila. Since started out this year and still organizing all the finer details we definitely will take up your suggestions for a small fee for a hot breakfast and wifi booster for the upper levels.
We hope you would come back this way and staying with us again.
Warmest Regards
Kim n Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shu Xin O
1 review
“Mesmerising view, pleasant decor, friendly staff, wonderful experience”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The villa had a rustic laidback feel, with décor that was very pleasant and great for pictures. The villa had a mesmerizing view of Pandawa beach, and you can watch the sunrise from the second floor of the villa. There are green pastures right next to the villa where cows graze in the day. The staff are very friendly, who assist in housekeeping and cooking. The basement is convenient for cooking as well as drying laundry. Rooms are of comfortable size with large bathrooms and wardrobes. The best part of the villa is the pool, which is great for leisure swimming and pictures. In addition, you can also enjoy a massage right here in your villa, with contacts conveniently provided. Wifi is also readily available. This is a villa that caters to the young and old, and if you're looking for a getaway from the bustle of city life, this villa will provide the peace and quiet you seek.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Hi,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delightened you had a great stay at our villa. We hope you will be back again staying in the near future. All returning and loyal guest will get a special rate when booking with us again.
Warmest Regards
Kim n Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lun2Trave...
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Room to improve”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The villa is quite comfortable but there is room for improvement in its operation. It is isolated so you are dependent on a driver for access to shopping and sightseeing. The nearest warung is a 10 minute drive away down the dusty, bumpy road. Air conditioning is only provided in the bedrooms so on really hot days, you need to retreat there if you don't tolerate heat well - but the beds are very comfortable. Only local TV channels are available and the Internet is patchy but that's Bali. Breakfast is sparse. Two pieces of toast, jam, watermelon and coffee if you ask. Butter had run out by the time we left so - toast and jam. Shampoo is not provided so it was lucky we had brought our own.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's clean and modern.
Liked least: Lack of air conditioning and breakfast very minimal.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Dear Bryan Box,
Thank you for your feedback.
The whole architecture design was build with a tropical concept in mind. The open frontage faces the ocean designed with the wind coming from the sea. The location is at Kutuh in the region Ungasan and the write out has stated clearly at the southern part of the island. This place offer a great hideaway from the city chores and noise which you can see is not near the city. These information are all listed in our web page for future guest to know about us.
The island Bali is renowned as a nature paradise and in most part remote. Having this in mind we do agree that Bali is normal to have patchy wifi connection and poor reception of cable and TV channels. This is beyond our control and generally not well supported by provider.
Best Regards
Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 183
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing