We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing food great service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ananda in the Himalayas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narendranagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We booked a suite and it was fantastic. The overall experience was pure luxury and worth it! We loved the food, the service and treatments at the spa. The grounds are beautiful and serene. The spa treatments are good, my husband and i did the couple retreat tos our treatments were all. We attended a few of the Vedanta classes and the visiting teachers were so knowledgable and friendly. We did the hike too- but i wish we had known to bring actual hiking shoes ,its a serious trek but worth it. We I would go back any time to this lovely location. The chef is great and the food is very healthy . They come to your door in the morning with a homemade ginger tea that was the best. I miss that!

Room Tip: I suggest a suite- its very large and ours had 2 bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gbabla@yahoo.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmananda2013, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for your kind review.

We are very pleased to know that our services and facilities met with your expectations and that you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

I went alone to escape Delhi pollution, looking for clean air, relaxation an spa. To my surprise, this place has proven to be so much more. Ananda spa is a sanctuary which promotes a better more balanced life style. The spa treatments are exceptional indeed, the food amazing, the yoga and meditation program thorough and I discovered Vedanta, which left a profound impression. All of this in stunning surroundings. I am sold and will be coming back!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Iris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmananda2013, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for your kind review.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially the spiritual experience, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Our visit to Ananda followed a trek to the Har-ki-Dun valley in the Himalayas. It was so timed, to get few massages after being in the mountains for the previous week. Anyone who treks will know the bliss of massage, steam, et al in luxurious environment after a rigorous hike. Yes, it is called bliss.

Ananda has a fabulous location. It is secluded despite being so close to Dehradun and Haridwar. And the facilities are first class, befitting a high end spa.

Checking in the one of the best we have seen. Hospitality at Indian high end hotels is legendary and Ananda takes it a step further. Quick, with lots of smiles, a great drink, and a string of ‘rudraksha’ beads replacing the traditional flower garlands. A great transition – rudraksha is Shiva’s adornment, a symbol of ascetic life - into a spiritual life, albeit of luxury, for the next few days!

The rooms are spacious with a balcony – we had one overlooking the garden and the valley below – the provisions are top class. Replenishments are regular and one can call for anything, at any time, and the service is prompt. And you have pristine white ‘kurta-pajamas’ hanging in the closet, which will be your clothing for the duration of your stay, subject to any number of replacements at your behest.

Dining area is beautiful including al fresco on a deck, sunny in the day and starry in the evenings, complete with a lit up Haridwar in the valley below. The food is fabulous – from breakfast to dinner – global and Indian dishes, calorie counted, offering delicious choices to eat at your calorie point, so without any guilt. The varieties of honey, the different juice combinations are all delectable.

The facilities are excellent. From yoga to gym to the pool and the fabulous spa area, all are excellent. How lovely to wake up early morning, sip your pre-ordered lemon juice with honey in hot water sitting in the balcony watching the valley below and occasionally a peacock strutting and meowing in the garden. Then on to a yoga session under a gazebo in the trees, a shower and lovely breakfast. After some rest, get to your massage session, relax in the quiet spa area with a view of the valley, read a book, steam yourself, shower and feel refreshed! An afternoon nap, a long walk in the evening, or a trip down to Haridwar to watch the Ganga-aarti, a spectacle. Dinner under the stars later.

The three days we stayed there were blissful. One may call that short, but after spending the previous week in the big mountains, the stay was just right – rejuvenating, luxurious, and healing! Off to real life then. Cheers!

Room Tip: Higher Floor, garden facing recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bhaskar_desai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmananda2013, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

thank you for visiting us ay=t Ananda and for reviewing your experience.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Wam regards,

Nikhil Kapur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

This must have been amazing when it first opened but now the property is in need of renovation. Poor wifi, small TVs and outdated plug points were a damper. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite with a lovely garden view with a water feature. Treatments were excellent and dining was a pleasure even though service was slack at times. Sandeep in the restaurant saw to our needs with a smile in such times....Staff were generally attentive. A special thanks to Monika for giving us a mini guided tour of the property

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmananda2013, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Than you for staying with us at Ananda and for your review.

We are happy that your overall visit was pleasant and are grateful to you for pointing out areas where we can improve. The same has been shared with the concerned deartment heads.

You would be pleased to know that we are in the process of renovating our rooms and facilities and will have renovated the whole hotel over the next few months.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ananda.

Warm regards,

Nikhil Kapur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic spa in a great location. At 1,100m up a windy road the hotel is secluded. With gates at the entrance there is no chance of stray visitors. There is so much to do and some guests come for 21 days! There is nothing to fault the place. The staff are charming and incredibly helpful; nothing is too much. Sitting by the pool is relaxing and never crowded. There are so many treatments to choose from and I wish I had the time to try them all. The food was good and I would recommend choosing from the Indian menu. The director of operations was everywhere and making sure that guests were happy. I wish we had the time to stay longer.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narendranagar
4.7 km away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
19 km away
Atali
Atali
#1 of 2 in Singthali Village
597 reviews
4.6 km away
Dewa Retreat - A Himalayan Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
21.8 km away
Raga on the Ganges - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Raga on the Ganges - An Amritara...
#2 of 2 in Singthali Village
137 reviews
5.8 km away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#5 of 60 in Rishikesh
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda in the Himalayas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda in the Himalayas

Address: The Palace Estate, | Tehri - Garhwal,, Narendranagar 249175, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Tehri Garhwal District > Narendranagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narendranagar
Price Range: ₹ 34,362 - ₹ 75,895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ananda in the Himalayas 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ananda in the Himalayas is an award winning luxury destination spa located in the foothills of the Himalayas, the birthplace of India's ancient arts of yoga, meditation and Ayurveda. Dedicated to restoring balance and harmonizing energy through a holistic approach, Ananda incorporates the healing principles of the East and the West with a specific focus on Ayurveda and Yoga, along with contemporary International spa experiences. Set amongst 100 acres of virgin forest and opened in September 2000, Ananda in the Himalayas is built around a Maharaja's palace estate and located 260 kilometres north of New Delhi. The resort features a restored Viceroy's Palace, world-class Spa, 70 deluxe rooms, 5 suites and 3 villas. Two of these villas are 2 bedroom villas and one is a single bedroom villa, with breathtaking views of the Ganges River and the mountainside. With the highest standards of service, luxurious accommodations, innovative dining and breathtaking mountain views, Ananda is an internationally recognised oasis offering an enriching experience designed to restore, renew and revitalise. Ananda signature wellness programs include Detox, Ayurvedic Rejuvenation, Weight Management, Stress Management, Yogic Detox, Ananda Yoga, Ananda Renew and Ananda Active. Getaway Spa packages starting at 2 or 3 nights are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Yatra, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, MakeMyTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Ananda in the Himalayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda In The Himalayas Hotel Rishikesh
Ananda In The Himalayas Rishikesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing