We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vishnu Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vishnu Palace
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Balangir
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Its a decent hotel for families. I was there with my nephew for a couple of days. If you find the linen dirty simply ask for fresh ones! The management is very cooperative and friendly. Wifi is available on at the lobby which they said would soon be available in rooms. Food is not so good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samarendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    204
    59
    11
    9
See reviews for
235
108
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

So I think I read too much into these reviews and began expecting too much...which did not match reality..
Positives:
1. Excellent view of a very green valley and snow clad mountains in the distance from the superior rooms (opposite direction to Doon valley)....and much better personally.
2. Excellent service ..right from booking over phone to food service to blankets etc...very fast, polite and helpful.....(Ram at the front desk was great!)
3. Adequate parking
4. Mini fridge in room
5. Location next to mall road

Negatives:
1. Hotel is at best still a 2 to 2.5 star in terms of quality of the rooms and infrastructure...so if you can afford higher....skip this one.
2. Room size was not that great ...and what is with the no soap and shampoo??
3. Cleanliness was just OK..not great...e.g. the rajai covers were obviously not washed even after several stays in the room
4. If power goes off...so does the geyser...and also the tiny wholly inadequate heater..
5. No balcony,,
6. There was construction going on creating noise...(but the stopped it every time we complained)

The review can be summed up in this simple incident....we were shocked to find no bathing soap and shampoo in the room (bad!)...but then reception offered to get someone to run along and get whatever brand we wanted from the market if we paid..and we did and got it in <5min...morover we used this "service" for our stay for getting fruits...milk...etc. etc..(great!)

In Mussoorie Eat @ the Tavern....it was great...and so was Kalsang

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amitrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I had selected this hotel for accommodating a college student group of 50 odd persons for two nights in Feb end, 2012. Front office staff was efficient to quickly check in the rooms. During our two days of stay everything was so automated that we do not have to bother for any arrangements.

We opted for veg meals which was served as per schedule and was sumptuous. Hotel is well located close to Library end and easily accessible. There is parking for cars and min vans in the hotel complex itself. For buses there is a big parking slot just 100 meters from hotel.

Mall road has two ends...Picture Palace end and Library end. Picture palace end is a clumsy place well short of parking because it has long taxi stand and bus stand on its side.

On the contrary Library end has much open spaces and almost free of traffic clogging. Vishnu Palace has one of this good advantages. There are shops (medical, bakery, clothing, fruits, vegies, general stores etc at this end). You are also lucky to have the panoramic view of the snow clad Himalayas from this end and even from most of the rooms of Vishnu Palace.

Rooms in newly built block of Vishnu palace are modern and spacious. But, rooms in old blocks needs maintenance. Worn out bed side carpets, electricity fittings (mirror lamp in bathroom of room of 302 for instance) needs to be replaced.

Overall a very good experience at Vishnu Palace. My sincere thanks to Mr. Ashish Goel (Owner) and his dedicated team. Will definitely see u soon :)

Room Tip: Rooms is new block-Valley facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royalescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish G, Owner at Hotel Vishnu Palace, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you Sir for the compliments.We are gearing up for the season and everything would be in place soon.

Regards

Ashish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed in the hotel from 27th Jan - 01st Feb. It was a 50-50 experience, meaning satisfied with few things and dissatisfied with others. Booked a honeymoon special room.

Few Points that I did not like:

1. Rooms were not warm enough. The heaters barely provided any relief to the winter chill.

2. Housekeeping service was not good. You have to call them again and again to get your room cleaned.

3. No toiletaries provided. You don't expect a person travelling and staying in your hotel for 5 days to carry soap, shampoo, comb etc. It was only when I complained at the reception that they provided shampoo and soap. You expect these things to be refilled everyday.

Bath tub was there for which they charge extra but it was not usable as their geyser was not able to provide sufficient water and also they did not have bath tub soap, you have to get on your own.

So, it's better to go for superior rooms as the bath tub is the only difference and they charge Rs. 300 extra for that.

Housekeeping would always do opposite of what you ask. The geyser and room heater were not operational at the same time, they could not handle that load. And when you ask the housekeeping to turn off heater and turn on geyser, they would do the opposite.

4. It is a bit away from the MALL ROAD, so if you can get a hotel for about Rs. 200 more but the same quality on the Mall Road, then better to go for that.

5. Rooms are not that elegant as they look in the photos. There was no carpet and the wooden floor was so cool that you cannot put your feet. You expect carpet in a superior room.


Few good points:

1. Food service was good, food was OK and prices reasonable.

2. Since the food bill wasn't too much, they waived that off for me and did not charge anything.

3. Since Bath tub was not usable, they charged me same as superior room but gave only a 20% off-season discount. So my advice is that during off-season , go there and then negotiate the prices. If you book in advance you are at a loss and you can easily get rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daganavin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish G, Manager at Hotel Vishnu Palace, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us for your stay. It is our endeavor to provide our best services.
We have gone through your review in detail and appreciate the details given. We are working on the problems you had faced during your stay with us.
We assure you that the shortcomings would be seriously dealt with and would try our level best to overcome them.
We look forward to your next visit to be the witness of our effort and the result.

With warm regards,

Ashish Goel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The hotel was very good.
The staff was very polite and co-operative, always ready to help.
The location was very good at the library chowk. The taxi stand and rickshaw stand was was nearby.
The view from the room was very awesome.
The restaurant has good food.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.4 km away
Honeymoon Inn Mussoorie
Honeymoon Inn Mussoorie
#13 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
1.0 km away
Hotel Himalayan Club
Hotel Himalayan Club
#23 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.0 km away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vishnu Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vishnu Palace

Property: Hotel Vishnu Palace
Address: Library Chowk, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,488 - ₹ 5,172
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vishnu Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates vary throughout the year and room accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Vishnu Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing