We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Shiva Continental
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Mussoorie
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Mussoorie is an excellent escape from the city life of India. It definitely has one of the best views I have seen since I've been in India and hands down best temperature. It is a (relatively) quiet town, clean, with many great shops and a large range of food options.

Hotel Shiva is in a great location, just blocks from the main road of the city. The hotel staff will help you with all requests, and if you are sick, they will even go out and get you tissues! I was unhappy in the first room they put me in, but when I asked to be moved it was no issue at all.

The rooms vary in style and when they were remodeled. My first room was very damp feeling with old, old carpeting but had a beautiful view of the mountains. My new room had beautiful hard wood floors and was much more modern, but had a view of a brick wall. Compared to other hotels I have been in, the bathrooms are in great condition with a separate area for showers with a shower curtain. Because of the climate here, it has a tendency to feel damp in some of the rooms and some have mentioned mold in the damper areas.

My favorite part about Hotel Shiva is the food. The kitchen staff never stop making new and delicious food for all meals.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room without carpeting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JourneyD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

To start with positives-
Hotel has great location ..just bang on Mall road.. So it is ideal for families/couples looking for staying near to market.
We stayed in super delux room and the stay in terms of room was comfortable.
Room service was good but definitely skip the hotel food. There are plenty of good options available near by.
Summing up- in comparison to its peers in that area.. This is good option to stay

Negatives- Food and Reception people. Avoid talking to them as much as possible. Very impolite and would argue on anything. Do carry printouts of the agreed rates/booking to avoid hassles and arguments

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gaurav099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

The hotel is situated near Picture palace, to me it was the best place coz, it was near to all the best resturants in town. Very near to the famous Mall Road. The good thing about the hotel is its cleaniness, hygine and the service staff is quite courteous.
The room size was quite good and the view from the room was also not bad. The terrace of the hotel is nice place to be and have lunch.In house buffet breakfast was very good. however lunch was just ok
The cost of our stay was with in budget. The only downside I could see with the hotel was parking. There is no inhouse parking instead we were suppose to park in nearby government parking.
I would surely recommend to any one looking for comfortable and friendly stay.

Room Tip: Talk to manager and you could get the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SachinMittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Hotel Shiva Continental , Mussoorie
Date 29th dec 2010

I had booked this hotel as one of my friends had given an amazing feedback about it.
After my stay in this hotel i would love to suggest it to most of the people.
As this hotel offers all the amenities which are required in a 3star hotel.
Rooms were spacious , neat and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raghavgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

I booked this Hotel online by viewing its photos and some reviews. Building is quite good but not the service. They allotted me a room having Large window from which a "Wall of Stones" was visible. It was made to support upper buildings and roads, as it is hilly place. There was annoying bad smell in room, I guess from Carpet. It was like non-washer socks. Though hotel have Centralized AC, they didn't use to keep temperature pleasant. It was about 15 Degree Celsius and they would have kept rooms to 22 or so.

When I requested for Extra Bed, a person came with bedding, grabbed Remote of TV on bed, started it, browsed till him favorite channel; finally started to prepare extra bed, while watching TV !

On, and the TV, it was of annoying brand rather "Unbranded". When one presses CH+ button on Remote, previous channel appears ! Tuning was not proper either. Furniture in room is kinda old styled. No hot water 24x7. When you order something on phone, you must wait atleast for 30 mins.

In the first interaction they seemed to be more interested in Money rather than service. When I sent an email for confirmation of reservation, I got reply in which they asked whether I have paid for extra bed online, otherwise they will charge me.

And this one is not a budget hotel. You can certainly get better hotel than this, at same cost. Even closer to Mall Road.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank electrosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
2.9 km away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#4 of 76 in Mussoorie
179 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Vishnu Palace
Hotel Vishnu Palace
#11 of 76 in Mussoorie
468 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Himalayan Club
Hotel Himalayan Club
#24 of 76 in Mussoorie
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.7 km away
Hotel Radha Residency
Hotel Radha Residency
#53 of 76 in Mussoorie
32 reviews
1.4 km away
The Pearl -  A Royal Residency
The Pearl - A Royal Residency
#57 of 76 in Mussoorie
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shiva Continental? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shiva Continental

Address: The Mall Road | Near Picture Palace, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: ₹ 2,345 - ₹ 5,602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shiva Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shiva Continental offers a selection of 28 well appointed rooms, including 2 Standard Rooms, 11 Deluxe Rooms, 12 Super Deluxe Rooms and 3 Maharaja Suites. We are located near the Picture Palace just 5 minutes away from the Mall Road. This is a place for leisure, recreation, family and corporate bonding. We do not have our own parking facility, however Government parking is available near the hotel at an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shiva Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing