We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“New Year's Eve ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortune The Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fortune The Savoy
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year's Eve ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We picked Mussoorie for our New Years Eve. We are 14 friends. We were booking Jaypee but since it was sold out decided on going to Fortune Savoy.

Turned out the location of the hotel was excellent. Just next to the Mall Road. Due to the New Year's Eve rush, the road to the hotel was totally jam, we were lucky we didn't have to take the car as we were on the Mall Road.

The property was excellent. The pictures are true to the hotel. The Dal at the hotel is excellent if you like makhani dal.

The worst part of the hotel is room service. This hotel doesn't have sufficient staff for high season and also doesn't have sufficient crockery and cutlery. We asked for spoons they never came and wine glasses they said they had only 2-3 glasses and those were taken up at the bar.

Except for these exceptions the overall property is excellent.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nama2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1902Savoy, General Manager at Fortune The Savoy, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice.

At Fortune The Savoy, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune The Savoy and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Regards

Rajiv Mohan Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    103
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
239
100
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is on mall street entrance but once you enter the property you are "transported away" from the hustle and bustle of the street. The staff were excellent. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Christmas eve dinner buffet was superb. The room is spacious, clean, comfortable with stunning mountain views. Wifi was stable, 4 devices allowed to connect. Excellent games room for kids. Would definitely stay again if in Mussoorie

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank magan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1902Savoy, General Manager at Fortune The Savoy, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mussoorie.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune The Savoy, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune The Savoy and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Regards

Rajiv Mohan Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of my favourite in the hills !!! Brings back memories of my childhood..... so luxuriously beautified by ITC. I keep coming back to this place for a feeling of being in British times & the atmosphere of being genuinely in the hills

Stayed January 2017
Helpful?
Thank belukhurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1902Savoy, General Manager at Fortune The Savoy, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mussoorie.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune The Savoy, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune The Savoy and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Regards

Rajiv Mohan Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This property has picturesque views and serene lawns! Its a quaint property away from the hustling mall road which is crowded year round. The amenities are just perfect and the colonial feel, furniture and interior of the hotel just makes it the right hotel to stay at. The architecture clearly gives away an old world charm which is mesmerising in its own way. The hotel could definitely improve on the quality and taste of the food. Nothing negative otherwise. Courteous and warm staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Prateek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1902Savoy, General Manager at Fortune The Savoy, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mussoorie.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune The Savoy, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune The Savoy and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Regards

Rajiv Mohan Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An awesome place to be on a weekend gateaway, the property itself is a place to be. You can get that royal feel..Not at all haunted, you can experience best in class service and the food they serve is just lip smacking ..though the price you may seems to be on a higher side. But over a fab place to be .. keep it up guys

Room Tip: Rest rooms in chamber rooms are less spacious, compared to other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArpitaTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1902Savoy, General Manager at Fortune The Savoy, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mussoorie.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune The Savoy, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune The Savoy and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Regards

Rajiv Mohan Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
2.9 km away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Fortune Resort Grace
Fortune Resort Grace
#6 of 73 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.2 km away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#8 of 73 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#4 of 73 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 73 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune The Savoy

Property: Fortune The Savoy
Address: Spring Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,123 - ₹ 15,727
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune The Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The British have always needed their summer holiday resorts, and Mussoorie, like other hill-stations in India, was almost entirely an invention of the British. While Shimla became the summer capital of British India, Mussoorie became its pleasure capital. Located 34 km from Dehradun at an altitude of 2500 metres above sea level in the beautiful Gharwal Hills, it is one of the most frequently visited hill stations in India as it provides the perfect getaway to those who want relief from the hot, sultry conditions of the plains, especially since it is close enough to the capital to make just a weekend trip.Swirled in the mist of time, Fortune The Savoy is an elegant and historic hotel that was opened by Cecil D. Lincoln, an Irish barrister, here in 1902. Built in English Gothic architecture style and spread over 11 acres, Fortune The Savoy is a wonderful mix of old world charm and new-age conveniences, and promises to give its guests an unparalleled experience. With a regal history of more than a hundred years, the hotel has been delighting famous dignitaries and royalties from India and abroad with its heart-warming services and all the appurtenances of luxury. It is a place that has inspired famous authors and playwrights. Its 'Writer's Bar' remained famous for many decades after the independence of India in 1947. In April 2001, the hotel hosted its first writer's retreat, followed by another one in 2002, which included writers, academics, film-makers and people from other walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, Agoda, Expedia and ClearTrip so you can book your Fortune The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing