We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Carltons Plaisance

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mussoorie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carltons Plaisance
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

It was a nice 'chill off' away from sizzling New Delhi and the staff was friendly and caring while the food was exotic. I should say however, the rooms 7 and 8 were cozy while 9 was unacceptable and needs refurbishing. It would be a great hit for bird watching especially in winter.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBrown B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    34
    11
    5
    21
See reviews for
61
30
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I am glad that Carlton's Plaisance has retained the old world charm in its structure, interiors and ambience. If you have grown up on English classics, stepping into this hotel is like stepping into one of those Ruskin Bond books you read as a child. The hotel has stocked up a lot of antique furniture which has always been an area of interest for me. We stayed in a large suite which had its very own verandah overlooking a slightly neglected but dense garden. Carlton's Plaisance is the perfect place to stay when you want to relax, daydream about life during the Raj or read all day long. There are many places inside and outside where you could curl up with a book and a cup of chai.

We didn't taste too much food except breakfast as we went sightseeing and ended up having most of our meals outside. But the parathas were sort of passable. It's a lovely walk to Mall road...especially on a chilly evening.

However, this place is not for demanding visitors who think they need modern comforts and room service waiting on them all the time. Consider it as more of a homestay in the past.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemima R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The property is located at one of the most scenic locations far away from the maddening crowds and pollution of modern Mussoorie. One of the major attractions here is the garden. It was well maintained with beautiful flowers.
It could be paradise but for the management.
The day beds( delightful concept) in the gardens have covers which are probably washed once every six months or so.
The bathrooms have heaps of dead insects, right at eye level.
The beds have sheets that are sometimes dirty and always unhemmed and polyester.
Except the suites, the other rooms are dingy and not inviting. The additional room on the first floor is literally a cupboard room with delightful cockroaches and spiders waiting for you.
Food is good most of the time unless you are a vegetarian. Options for vegetarians are limited at best.
They do arrange a bonfire for you and the owners are somewhat friendly but seem to have lost interest in the upkeep. We certainly did not think it was worth INR 5,000 per day.

Room Tip: The suites are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gauri407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anuajit, Owner at Carltons Plaisance, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
We appreciate your feed back which alerts us to our shortcomings .We understand that the covers on the deck chairs outside could have been faded and marked with water stains from the dew on the trees. We will be more careful in the future and not place the deck chairs under the trees.
The bathroom could have had a few dead insects. We give special attention to our bathrooms but sometimes small things escape our attention. Our property is large and one of the few thickly forested areas in Mussoorie.
The sheets are satin with matching pillow covers and duvet covers. They are soft and silky. This is the first time someone has not appreciated our linen. Our staff could have provided regular bed linen If asked. The linen that we use is viscose rayon, it has a silky appearance and feel, and also has the ability to breath in a manner similar to cotton weaves. One of the more popular properties of viscose rayon is that the fabric tends to drape very well, which makes it ideal for use in bed sheets (Google search). Can we mention that numerous clients have asked us to procure the same bed linen for their personal use.
We understand you stayed in one of our suites and found it comfortable---we cannot understand your comments about our double rooms as you did not stay in them—all the rooms in this category have large bay windows and cannot be dark and dingy.
We are probably the only hotel which serves authentic Garwali vegetarian fare, besides serving Continental and Indian vegetarian food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

What can I say, this is the worst experience I have ever had the unfortunate pleasure of paying for. Promises of historical hill station heritage full of character and charm were in fact replaced by drunk, abusive staff, raw chicken, grubby, shabby, cold and damp rooms.

We booked for three nights but left in the middle of the second night after our room was filled with smoke and kerosene.

Avoid at all costs, the positive reviews on here are obviously a sham by the owners and trip advisor should take them down.

Room Tip: book the four seasons hotel around the corner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anuajit, Owner at Carltons Plaisance, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
This review is very obviously biased by someone who has not stayed with us, and who does not even know where we are located.
The hotel they have mentioned is over 5 kilometers from us and is located downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We were travelling with another couple during the long weekend of Aug 13th. The booking was done in advance and the owners insisted on full payment ... was not accepting a booking amount. Now we understand the reason.
This hotel was quite a disappointment.. rooms given to us were the ones on the ground floor overlooking the lawn .. One of the 2 rooms didn't have a functional intercom and I had to climb up to the kitchen for any room service requests. There were rats and spiders in the room and the bedsheets and linen were dirty ... the rooms looked neglected and probably opened just before we arrived. It seems they have better rooms as well.... my recommendation is that one must check out the rooms before booking here ... maybe check out other hotels ...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VishalBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.5 km away
Avalon Holiday Resorts
Avalon Holiday Resorts
#31 of 74 in Mussoorie
124 reviews
2.5 km away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#7 of 74 in Mussoorie
363 reviews
1.9 km away
Dunsvirk Court Mussoorie
Dunsvirk Court Mussoorie
#20 of 74 in Mussoorie
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Shilton By Royal Collection Hotels
1.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
2.1 km away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carltons Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carltons Plaisance

Property: Carltons Plaisance
Address: Near the L.B.S.N.A Academy | Happy Valley Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,729 - ₹ 5,959
Hotel Class:2 star — Carltons Plaisance 2*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing