We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in mussoorie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Amber - Vermont Estate
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
new delhi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best location in mussoorie”
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Came to know about this place through tripadvisor, at first was a little hesitant to book it as it is a hotel with just 13 rooms..but after being here realised that this is the plus point abt it. the hotel is not that big which gives a very cosy homely feel, away from the rushy areas of mussoorie and is in a great location. all the rooms cater a great view of the mountains..coz from this hotel you can really see the mountains and nt just the houses and hotels all around like all other hotels in mussoorie do. they have a great deck area near reception which is a place one can just sit around for hours relax and enjoy the place.
The rooms are clean, hv nice good interiors with windows giving a great view. the staff is very friendly and welcoming . the one thing which was not to my satisfaction was the FOOD it really could have been better. they provide shuttle service for the mall road so them being a little away from all the hotch potch is not that big a problem as the view you will have is something to cherish.
So i feel its the best place in mussoorie to chillax.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manav_sh2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    81
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
197
124
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at this beautiful property for 5 days with my parents,who were convalescing after a surgery.The area in which this little home away from home sits, is just too good to be true . its on a hillside where there isnt any developement , and you have an uninterrupted view of the pristine himalayas .We spent whole days just relaxing on their lovely sun deck, and woke up to this lovely panaromic view ,in bed , with a hot cup of tea.The amenities are superb and have an understated class.everything is well thought out and planned, and we didnt miss a thing.The restaurant too is quite good, though I felt they were cutting costs by not operating their tandoor as the hotel wasnt full.....the staff though was very friendly and helpful.Being away from the mall and crowded areas is a definate plus,( they do operate a very prompt shuttle which we ended up using a lot.)

Room Tip: room 304 has the best views ,as it has two large windows .,but no balcony. In the new wings, the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delhiglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I visited the place with my wife and my 1 yr old son and the trip turned out to be an amazing one for the 3 of us. This place offers absolutely stunning view, and the wooden deck at 7 am in the morning turned out to be my son's favorite place. He had lots of place to run around and play and the staff were helpful enough to keep an eye out on him for us. The place was absolutely relaxing and serene. I was a little difficult to locate at first but then they offer shuttle service to the mall road so didn't have to bother driving after checking in. They didn't care how many trips you wanted to make in a day. The room was spick and span and well equipped. The food was ok, though food service could be a bit better. I'd recommend visiting some tibetean restaurants in the city for lunch, which serve excellent food. Overall I'll rate this place as the best in the lot at Mussoorie and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jagadhri
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

we had just a Spot on experience at the The Amber Vermont Estate last week when we visited there in a group of 10 people.

A) Both, ambiance and the atmosphere of the place was blissful, serene and soothing. Overall, its like 9/10 if we talk about he location and the surroundings.

B) If you are travelling in a group or family, this property is a good option as its a bit out of the way from the mall road and all the town's hustle bustle etc. One can have a completely relaxing experience. It's a good blend of a heritage property with modern amenities and infrastructure.

C) Now comes the Food part. I personally would rate the food to be 7/10. The morning paranthas were pre cooked and served in the casserole. Nothing to write home about the breakfast part as it was ordinary and a'int up to the mark of such an up to date resort.

D) rest of the food, lunch-dinner , 8/10.

E) One of the most important things i forgot to mention was the extended courtesy of the entire staff including a special note of thanks to mr Rakesh Saluja, the GM of the resort. He is a very amiable person with a very courteous attitude and accommodating in every sense.

My suggestion is if you are looking for a outing together with friends and family and seeking just the place where you can enjoy, chillout and at the same time enjoy in the lap of nature.... "THE AMBER VERMONT ESTATE " IS THE BEST OPTION IN MUSSOORIE.!!!

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!! CHEERS

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank varungee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, Punjab, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This place is awesome and the staff here adds more stars to it ... everything i read about it on tripadvisor turned out to be exactly the same ......i'm definitely coming back........Mr saluja and Mr Ravi (frontdesk)ur team rocks..................

Room Tip: "ROOM No 204 good view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
1.4 km away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
569 reviews
2.3 km away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
4.3 km away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#8 of 74 in Mussoorie
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#10 of 74 in Mussoorie
332 reviews
1.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
3.7 km away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amber - Vermont Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amber - Vermont Estate

Property: The Amber - Vermont Estate
Address: Hathi Paon Road, | Near Company Bagh, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,894 - ₹ 10,888
Hotel Class:2 star — The Amber - Vermont Estate 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amber Vermont Estate is a boutique retreat in the Himalayas. Vermont Estate was originally built in the latter half of the 19th century by a Britisher and is one of the oldest estates in the Himalayan town of Mussoorie. It has been refurbished to retain the atmosphere of a traditional English cottage with the addition of modern amenities. The property is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Mussoorie. The location, and the mix of modern comfort, old English charm and personalized service make The Amber Vermont Estate a treasure in Mussoorie. In the early 1800's, Vermont Estate was part of a grand estate called Logie Estate owned by the well-known Dr. Hugh Falconer. Dr. Falconer was a Scottish geologist, botanist, and paleontologist. He was the first to discover the remains of fossil mammals in the Siwalik Hills of India. In 1832, Falconer became the Superintendent of the Saharanpur Botanical Gardens, one of the oldest existing gardens in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelGuru, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your The Amber - Vermont Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing