We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that sterling” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Kanpur
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Not that sterling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Resort is situated at quiet a distance from the Mall and every trip costs you Rs.150 one way. Had a booking for 3 days and 2 nights. But despite being a timeshare holder, I had to pay for half day stay as early check-in charges (I arrived at 8:30 am at the day of my booking) . Check in time at the resort is 12 noon. which is ridiculous as you cannot expect the guests to all arrive after noon only and if the room is vacant then why not allow the guest an early check in? The resort did not provide basic facility like a newspaper or daily change of towels during my entire stay. The grocery shop also is understocked and charges over the MRP.
Their in-house restaurant serves standard meals at exhorbitant rates.
For a Taxi requested at the reception counter, the resort charged Rs.60 as service charge. All the resort facilities like the children's playing room and Pool and Table Tennis table are chargeable. Only the swing area is free. It is better to stay at a hotel on the mall rather than at this resort as that is more convenient.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconey facing the Doon Valley but ask for rooms that are closest to the reception b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    123
    53
    14
    21
See reviews for
195
81
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

The resort is built on a vast area with very good facilities. Although the place is quite far from the Mall Road and way up, the place is a treat in itself and one can truely enjoy and relax in the surroundings of the resort.
The resort offers various facilities and games for kids to play around. The place is ideal for those who are looking for calm and peaceful holiday at a resort itself.
The rooms are very well furnished with nice pantry/kitchen area. The resort overseas the Himalayas and is at height itself. Drive carefully if reaching at nite.
A large group would have great fun at the resort!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 19Madhur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

Myself with my wife and daughter, son-in-law, grand daughter visited Mussoorie in December,2009 - January 2010 and stayed in Sterling Resort. This Resort does not have a lift. As a result, we had to climb up a number of stairs since our rooms were much below the road level. This was terrible.

The location of hotel/resort is also far from the main mall. There were practicaly no facility for indoor games. No amusement for children also. One should avoid staying in this hotel since cheaper hotels are available in better locations.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIPAKJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

Myself with my wife, daughter, son in law, grand daughter and mother of my son-in-law went to Sterling Mussoorie on the 31st December and stayed there for three days. Our main purpose for visiting this hill town in winter was to see the snow. we saw the snow on 2nd January, 2010.

The Hotel rooms are on different terrace levels. As we did not book it well in advance, we were allotted the rooms at a much lower level from the road level. As a result, we had to climb stairs up and down whenever we wanted to go out. This was very uncomfortable.

The Resort must have lift to provide comfortable approaches for all levels. The location is also far from the Main Mall. Due to neglecting attitude of the management, the standard of recreational facilities has gone down. I could not find a pack of cards, the chess. Only carrom was there. The Library is non functional. During our stay we did not notice any organised show for the guests or children. One should avoid staying in this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DIPAKJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

Hi friends...I went to mussorie with my friends during my vacation and I feel That really worth of money to stay in mussorie that too in sterling inn..!!
wow I really love the hotel of stay..very clean rooms,food was too really good...since we went with many we was having a buffy type of serve..!!!
Starter with a soup..still could'nt forget such a trip..and my room was like long way to go from recepition,yet too Me and my friends enjoying going...brilliant...!!!
I planned to go mussorie again and for sure I will stay in Sterling Inn...awesome awesome awesome...Infinite eyes need to see the resort and mussorrie...:):):):):):):):)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriyaVivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
3.9 km away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Fortune Resort Grace
Fortune Resort Grace
#9 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.3 km away
Fortune The Savoy
Fortune The Savoy
#2 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.3 km away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#7 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: New Circular Road | Dehradun,Mussoorie, Mussoorie 248179, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,927 - ₹ 23,171
Hotel Class:4 star — Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, all is anew - new name, new décor. Experience the good old charm of Mussoorie and the alluring Doon valley from the comfort of premium modern rooms that have been just renovated to take your holidaying experience to the next level. Located 2.5 km from the town of Mussoorie, on a patch of hillside land which is combed by 300 steps is Sterling Holidays - Dancing Leaves where nature awaits in all its glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing