We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Valley of Flowers National Park
Open today: 8:00 am - 2:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Valley of Flowers National Park
from $529.80
More Info
from $847.68
More Info
from $196.03
More Info
from $218.54
More Info
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
226
56
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
226
56
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hemkund sahib heaven on earth blue poppy km trek packed lunch base camp mother nature on foot night halt hot water horse ride costs rs three days glacier raincoat route climb
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2021 via mobile

Rains had taken a break and hence the trek was relatively easy for the first 5–6 kms. We did finally reach our destination Ghangria at 7:30pm which was our base camp. Ghangaria is the last human habitation in Bhyundar Valley, and a base camp to visit Hemkund and the Valley of Flowers. However, it remains snowbound during winters, and remains accessible only between the months of May and September. The beds in the tent (Swiss tent style) was comfortable and had an attached bath with running water. We were given hot soup, tea and hot water in a bucket to get fresh. The camp was very cozy, we had 2 blankets to keep us warm with temperatures hovering around 5 degrees centigrade with the rain. After having a nice dinner we hit the bed and were fast asleep dreaming about what’s in store for the next day.

It was a bit chilly and there was just a bit of drizzle that wasn’t too bothersome. We learnt how to share a bucket of hot water while we got ready for our trek to Valley of flowers which is around 6 kms one way from our camp. We left after having breakfast and getting packed lunch. We were accompanied by Pankaj who was normal by now. Pradeep was still fast asleep as we started the trek at around 8 am. The first stop was the small town of Ganghria where there were many places to stay, places to eat and purchase some emergency supplies.

We continued our trek past the town and slowly started climbing as we passed the forest check-post where we had to pay entry fees. The Valley of Flowers is a bouquet of nature peacefully snuggled in the West Himalayan region of Uttarakhand. The trek of Valley of flowers goes through dense forests, along with Pushpawati river and can be reached by crossing many bridges, glaciers and waterfalls on the way. The trek here would be considered a medium trek since there is some climb but the landscape keeps changing and every 10 minutes you see something more fascinating that the next. We did reach the spot from where the entire valley could be seen around 4 hours after we started the hike. Though the flowers were a bit less, the valley looked very majestic with its lush green abundant land, mountains and numerous waterfalls. We had the packed lunch at the top, spent an hour more just admiring the scene and then decided to trek back. The valley is located at around 3600 meters above sea level but we didn’t find it too difficult to breathe while walking. The weather was perfect.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank punaroorpavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2021

Although categorised as a ‘moderate’ trek, the trek to the Valley of Flowers (and Hemkund Sahib, which is on the same route) is reasonably steep and difficult in parts. Having said that, it is worth exploring Valley of Flowers, Mana & Badrinath.

Valley of Flowers. The very phrase conjures up images of undulating meadows, carpeted with flowers of different colours and hues, going up the side of a gentle mountain. Once you get to THE Valley of Flowers, it’s not exactly that! Firstly, getting there is a 3.5Km trek from Ghangaria through some stunningly beautiful ruggedly wooded mountains. You cross over from one mountain face to the other. Finally, you exit from a heavily wooded thicket to emerge into the valley. And yes, it is carpeted with flowers, making exploring Valley of Flowers an immensely joyful experience.

You have to see the valley to believe it. It’s not just a meadow. It is hectare upon hectare of heart – achingly beautiful flora. The valley is stretched over mountains, dotted with gurgling streams and even a glacier!

Amazingly, once we got INTO the Valley of Flowers, it wasn’t cold. On the contrary, with the protection that the surrounding mountains offered, it was quite pleasant. So much so, that all the time we were exploring the Valley of Flowers, we’d removed our jackets altogether.

I haven’t ever come across such a surfeit of orchids. As far as the eye could see, they stretched away creating an unbelievable carpet of riotous colour. It was like something out of a fantasy, too beautiful to be real! To this day, I don’t know which emotion is stronger. Was it the joy that I could see something so magnificent in my life? Or the nagging sadness that nothing one sees from hereon can ever live up to this?!

Date of experience: October 2020
2  Thank roadtripperabhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2020 via mobile

Mesmerizing place. The entry gate ticket counter opens at 7 am and closes at 12pm.One can see and feel Nature at it's best if the weather permits as the weather here changes frequently.One can visit You Tube channel The true beckon for crisp and detailed informative video on valley of flower trek.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank ganaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 March 2020

I had heard a lot about the Valley of Flowers trek - A UNESCO World Heritage site and about the myth that how there were some who even fainted due to the strong fragrance of flowers in the Valley. Being a mountain lover, I decided to take up the challenge of this beautiful trek. It is basically a 4-Day monsoon trek (Mid June - Mid Sept) where you stay at Ghangaria for 3 nights. Out of the 4 days, you have to trek for 2 days to go to and fro to Ghangaria from Govindghat which is ~9.5 km each side.
In the remaining 2 days , you visit the Valley of Flowers 1 day (~9 km to and fro) and Hemkund Sahib on the 2nd (~12 km to and fro). The initial hour of the trek is a normal route through the forest and that's where you start seeing glimpses of what's in store in the Valley - numerous varieties of flowers that you've never seen before. There is a small river crossing after which you will start the actual climb towards the Valley. It takes about 3 - 3.5 hours to reach the valley, but you would have already seen a lot of colourful varieties by then. Make yourself comfortable on one of the rocks and enjoy the mesmerizing views of the far stretched flowers and distant snow covered mountains. I was able to click 50+ species of flowers which was incredible. You'll immediately forget your fatigue and get rejuvenated by this spectacle. This was an experience to savor for lifetime.

Date of experience: August 2019
4  Thank Wanderer_Praj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2019

The best time to visit is after July and before September because after monsoon the valley covers full of flower. The view was amazing and anyone who wants to seat in a peaceful environment and enjoy the mountain view with flower. Once in a life, should be visited this place. Also, anyone can go there every easily first go to Rishikesh then Badrinath. The distance from the Badrinath is around 33 km and from Rishikesh is 273 km approx in gharwal district.

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank indianvisitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews