We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Valley of Flowers National Park
Open today: 8:00 am - 2:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Valley of Flowers National Park
from $529.80
More Info
from $847.68
More Info
from $196.03
More Info
from $218.54
More Info
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
226
56
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
226
56
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hemkund sahib heaven on earth blue poppy km trek packed lunch base camp mother nature on foot night halt hot water horse ride costs rs three days glacier raincoat route climb
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

we visited vally of flowers on august months. we have seen lots of flowers in the vally. vally is very beautifull and it was my chilhood dream came true as i entered in the vally. it is a must visit place. i had gone with tour operator and some friends. all arrangements was good . we had lost 1 day due to landslide. coming time we came by helicopter and was good experience also. overall it was a nice trip and memorable also.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Freedom814560
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2018

We (in a group of 12) visited Valley of Flowers and Hemkund Sahib in the 1st week of September. The itinerary is the same as available at most places over the internet. Haridwar->Govindghat (Day 1)-> Gangaria (Day 2)->Valley Of flowers (Day 3)-Gangaria>Hemkund Sahib (Day 4)->Govindghat (Day 5). But I have a couple of important points that might help:

1. Time of Travel-> Although famous travel sites will say July- Sept is a good time to travel to VOF, don't expect the bloom after 15th August. 1st week of August is the best time to travel if you are a sucker for the bloom. Having said that, even minus the flowers, the trek is beautiful.

2. Food supplies- Hemkund Sahib is no problem in terms of food supplies as there are multiple food stalls and rest points along the way. For Valley of Flowers, however, you need to stock well. There are no food stalls/ washrooms etc on the entire trail. We started our trek at 7 AM and reached the valley entrance around 12 noon. You need to carry food for the trek from Ghangaria itself.

3. Road Travel to Govindghat- If you start your travel from Haridwar/ Rishikesh early morning, you will reach Govindghat same day late night. However, you must note that you must cross Joshimath before 7:30/8 PM. Around that time the roads are blocked and you may need to seek special permissions from the local police to travel beyond, at your risk. It is also risky to travel once its dark.

Drop in your questions, if you have any. Will try my best to answer.

Date of experience: September 2018
6  Thank mansha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2018

There isn't much to add to all the other reviews; it is well worth the exhausting climbs. Get a lift in a local vehicle to Pulna from Govindghat- the locals are the only ones who can use this road - the climb to Ghangaria is now halved. Get a horse to carry heavy bags from Pulna - its worth the small cost. We all found the walk very tiring and apart from the horses and locals nobody was rushing past us.
Pre-book accommodation.
GET A GUIDE - without one you will not understand the valley and its flora and fauna. We hired Rajneesh Chauhan for our group of 4 - he has a shop in Ghangaria (9927594671). What he didn't know about the valley wasn't worth knowing - he also made us lunch from what he carried and from what he picked along the way - It was delicious. He knew what we could taste and found us lots to sample along the way. We saw many large groups walk past plants as the guides couldn't get them all to see the small delicate plants. There was only one location for Blue Poppies close to the path and many visitors never saw them. Your efforts to get there will be rewarded if you are with a guide in a small group of about 4.

Date of experience: August 2018
5  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Valley of Flowers is a wonderful place to visit. The bloom is at their peak in monsoons but travelling can be quite risky at that time.
Reach Govindghat from 10-12 hours of travel from Rishikesh, there are multiple stay options available there. Leave next day for Pulna which is some 20 min drive away from Govindghat. From Pulna start trek to Ghangaria or one may take mules. There is a Gurudwara and many basic stay options available at Ghangaria. This is a starting point for pilgrimage route of Hemkund Sahib.
As this is UNESCO heritage site, mules are not available, but palkis are available for the valley.
Each month has different bloom and apart from flowers there are many himalayan trees and birds which can be sighted along the way.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank JustAnotherLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2018

The route to the Valley of Flowers starts at Gobindghat. There is a road from Govindghat up to Pulna (about 3 kms.) and the 10 kms. trek to Ghangaria starts there. From Ghangaria to the Gate of the Valley of Flowers is about 2 kms. From there the actual valley is 4 to 5 kms.

Weather permitting, one can take a helicopter from Gobindghat to Ghangaria, the cost is about 3000 per passenger; each passenger is allowed 5 kgs. of baggage. There is no advance booking. The service is run by Air Deccan.

Alternately, go from Govindghat to Pulna in a taxi (300 or so); and either take a pony, or walk to Ghangaria.

If you are trekking from Pulna, the road is paved but the climb is somewhat steep; one goes from an altitude of around 6500 ft. at Pulna to 10000 ft . at Ghangaria. There are Dhabas along the way, but also a lot of crap of the ponies. There are sweepers appointed to keep the track clean, they try, but clearly their effort is not enough. It also does not help that they also ask for money from passers by.

Ponies from Pulna to Ghangaria (one way) cost around 800; ponies are not allowed into the Valley, but porters who have a bucket seat on their back to seat an individual are available at a cost of about 1500 one way from Ghangaria to the Valley.

There is a Gurdwara at Gobindghat which offers rooms at very reasonable rates: contact the Office Manager at 7579006947. They also have a Cloak Room if you want to leave behind some heavy baggage. And there is a Gurdwara at Ghangaria too, offering reasonably priced accommodation.

There are no eateries along the way from Ghangaria to the Valley, carry your own water and some snacks such a dry fruits to keep you going. One has to leave the Valley by 5pm, so people generally start early.

The trek to the Valley is not easy. An earlier track, which was more level was washed away in 2012 or 2013. The present track is narrow, steep and has loosely placed rocks, which means you have to watch every step carefully.

There is an entry fee of 300 Rupees, and the entry Ticket is valid for 3 days.
Flowers vary by season; we had gone at the end of August; we were not disappointed, but not overwhelmed either!

If you have a good guide, he will give you a wealth of information about the flowers.

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank Motumotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews