We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Denver, CO USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Oasis”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this gorgeous oasis in Varanasi. The staff was very friendly and attentive and quite accommodating when asked for advice about seeing local sights. I would definitely return!

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Cynthia B. Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back to see us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    290
    118
    58
    45
See reviews for
147
218
89
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

So disappointing to find unfinished rooms, doors made of plywood, approximative bathrooms, old AC, 70s televisions, uncomfortable small beds, small rooms. The pool is the only blessing. The restaurant servest very good food for inexpensive prices. They do have some modernised rooms but wouldn't upgrade us, so we left after one night even if we had booked for 3!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room if you really must stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your review. All feedback is important for us at Hotel Surya. We do have different levels of rooms at different price brackets. Our premium rooms are newly remodeled with European style bathrooms and flat screened TVs. We do apologize if these rooms were unavailable while you were with us. The hotel is going through renovations, and rooms will be updated this year. We do hope to see you again in the future, at least to visit our pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The building is lovely, as was our room with a balcony over looking the central gardens. Room service was prompt, and the laundry service good. The pool was well looked after. I had a massage in the spa which was wonderful. My only gripe is the restaurant... while the food when it eventually arrives is tasty, the service is incredibly frustrating! Not somewhere to eat if you have any time constraints at all....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirLance80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate your feedback about the service. We are actively working to improve and are sorry that you did not receive great service. We hope that you will join us at the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed here three nights and enjoyed the hotel. The room was fine although the staff did not clean the room after the first night. The restaurant was very good and it appeared local Indians were coming in to dine, a good sign. The pool was very nice as was very hot in Varanasi. My traveling companion enjoyed the spa and I had shave there. The first time some one else gave me a shave. There is a charge for the Internet, which wasn't always working. The hotel is a good distance from the heart of Varanasi which is a good thing, unless you like chaos. This is a nice retreat from a very intense town.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MileHiSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your posting about Hotel Surya. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is very helpful and we will use it to continuously improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We were there in January 2011 on our travels through India. First they cheated on us in putting us in a standard room even though we booked a deluxe room. The older manager (owner?) there tried to convince us that we were already in a deluxe room. We kept complaining to a younger guy and they sort of admitted that there were indeed "better" rooms. The next day they offered us a "deluxe" room which was still horrible: blood stains on the walls from killing mosquitoes, tons of mosquitoes, dirty linen, noise from construction, dirty room overall- we really were disgusted and glad when we could leave. It sure looks way better on the web than it is!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granite64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about Hotel Surya. We do have three different level of rooms, Deluxe, Standard, and Premium. At the hotel, Standard rooms offer more than the Deluxe rooms, so upgrading you to the Standard level would have been to offer you a better room than the original one you had booked. Our newly furnished Premium rooms are the 'better' rooms you are speaking of and are offered at a slightly higher price. It is possible that they were already booked while you were there. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would be happy to help you personally if you choose to give us another try. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.4 km away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.1 km away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 79 in Varanasi
1,431 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 79 in Varanasi
641 reviews
0.7 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
5.5 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace

Property: Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Address: S 20/51 The Mall Road | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,378 - ₹ 5,270
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cantonment area, the Surya Kaiser Palace is accessible to the airport and railway station, as well as the Buddhist holy site Saranath and numerous Hindu temples on the holy river Ganga. Surya sits on a historical site of an ancient Nepali king's palace built in 1818, named Kesar Castle. Newly restored, this palace is for you to enjoy. A fine dining multi-cuisine restaurant, a unique cafe and juice bar, full service bar, banquet halls, and a swimming pool are all available. Each hotel room has a balcony with a view of the palace and the gardens, where you can dine facing this beautiful building. Surprisingly affordable hotel accommodations will delight and pamper you. Four unique levels of rooms allow you to decide which accommodation suits you best. Each room package has a complimentary breakfast buffet served daily and 24-hour room service. All guests may have full use of the pool, and access to the spa. At Surya Kaiser Palace it is our desire to provide a paradise where guests can relax, rejuvenate, and enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelGuru, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing