We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$ 44
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$ 44
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/12/21
Agoda.com
US$ 29
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/12/21
eDreamsUS$ 44
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
193
210
55
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
193
210
55
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews morning aarti rooftop dining the river homely atmosphere excellent location walking distance basic amenities tasty food very pleasant stay top floor hotel is located hot water boat ride no lift home away from home chai assi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2021 via mobile

Hotel with Ganges view near Assi Ghat.
Been staying in Temple on Ganges over the last 4-5 years and recommended my friends also . This time my family visited the hotel and stayed for 3 nights between 18-21 Oct - owner of the hotel has been really nice always and he took care of my family . Thanks for the hospitality as always .
However this time , service has been a bit sluggish and room cleanliness could have been better .
Also , an extra mattress has been provided ( with charges ) but no cot has been provided which is strange.

Room tip: Elders may avoid as there’s no lift
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank soumen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Temple On Ganges Assi Ghat, General Manager at Hotel Temple on Ganges, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
Thanks, a lot for your stay with us and thank you again for your review on tripadvisor.com.
we are glad to know that your stay was nice and comfortable. But you seems to not to be very happy this time.
Sir, as per the reservation made, we had already suggested for a triple room which was not available.
You agreed for a double room and every time there is an extra person in a double room, the cot is never provided.
its the mattress which is always provided.
We have considered your comment on cleanliness and certainly worked on it.

Regards
Madan Mohan Pandey
Reservation Manager
941592044

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2021

Stayed at Temple on ganges for two nights.

To begin with, my initial communication with Mr Ashutosh Pandey was very very convincing.

After reaching the place, I was more than happy to see the rooms.
The two rooms were on the top floor.
Well kept and tastefully decorated.
Unexpectedly clean.
Splendid view of ganges from the balcony.
Service is excellent.
Had ordered food from the kitchen, which was well cooked.
We had got immense cooperation from Mr Pandey whenever asked for.
Very close to Assist ghar.

There are plenty of eateries around.
I would highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ButuBapiRomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2021

Located in Assi Ghat, little away from the Main crowded chowk, beautiful view from the hotel room, clean and tidy well maintained rooms, food quality is also good. Most beautiful location is roof top, with beautiful view and good ambience. Loved the place and would recommend everyone to go for this place.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Navvz_Nita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2021

The ambience of the hotel is excellent. Its a great time spent over there. The food quality was really very good. Its just a min away from Assi ghat. The rooftop dining place at night was very good. Would definitely stay over there again when revisit benaras.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Debjani2992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2021 via mobile

The hotel experience was very pleasant and we did not have any difficulty during our stay. Recommended for anyone who need to stay away from core Varanasi and right on Assi ghat. The hotel has a bit of old world charm in its exterior and the room we stayed had the interiors done recently and was mordent to stay

The positives are:

1. Location was right on Assi ghat and access to boat rides, e-rickshaw and eateries were all within walking distance.

2. Hotel staff was very helpful and catered to all our needs without any issues. Mr Dilip Bhai ( the manager) was very helpful during the whole reservation process and also arranged the needed guides and transportation as requested.

3. Room # 20 that we stayed was a triple deluxe room with a river view. While room itself was split into 2 section and small but was well organized with a clean toilet, hot water, A/C and clean linens. The room was cleaned promptly every day.

4. They do have a terrace with a great view of the Ganges but seems a little under utilized.


Improvement areas:

1. The terrace needs a good refurbishment with fans and proper tables. This place can be converted to be the perfect breakfast/dinner spot

2. The restaurant while it serves good and tasty food, takes a long time. Be prepared to wait for 30-45 mins as everything is prepared after being ordered ( so plan in advance). I think the hotel can tell this to their guests upfront.

3. The area around the front of hotel can be cleaned and some tiling/ paving work can be undertaken to make it more appealing.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay and keep in mind that this is a 2 Star hotel and for the price charged, I felt we got a very good service. Best is to call hotel directly and fix the room and price. Kudos to Dilip Bhai, Anand and others to make our stay comfortable

Room tip: 1. Parking available 2. No Lift and stairs are narrow
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank gpkarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Temple On Ganges Assi Ghat, General Manager at Hotel Temple on Ganges, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
Thanks, a lot for your stay with us and thank you again for your review on tripadvisor.com.
we are glad to know that your stay was nice and comfortable.
Simultaneously we have taken your comments in consideration to make our place better.
Regards
Madan Mohan Pandey
Reservation Manager
941592044

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews