We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid and unpretentious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The hotel has its particularities that you can live with or not. To begin with, the hotels on the banks of the Ganges are all generally aligned with Ayurvedic principles and therefore you should not rely on taste explosions, let alone meat. For a beer you do not have to be here, there is simply no alcohol. The rooms are clean and simple as there are some significantly more luxurious - and therefore more expensive rooms available.

The reception is good and friendly, if somewhat formal, it will remain so throughout our stay. Our room was on a gallery, with chairs, where, if it is not too hot, you are fine. From the rooftop terrace, where you can eat, too ,you may see at night in the distance on the Ghats the cremation fires burning.

As I said the food is simple and breakfast as well. A chocolate pancake I will discourage, which seems really terrible, but the vegetarian dishes are quite ok.
I am also tempted to undergo an ayurvedic massage. Given the state of my back I had two sessions . After that I had the necessary rest, because the man who hardly reached my chin (I'm 1.74m), knew his job expertly. The entire body is covered, including the famous "finger pulling".

A disadvantage is the stray dogs that live around the Ghats. During the day there is little wrong, but at night they organize themselves and give a Jank - bark concert that is unprecedented. The nefarious idea to borrow a shotgun came into my mind. During processions you can be surprised too (even at 6:30 AM), by young people with a bicycle rickshaw immense six speakers and an amplifier through the streets dragging. The whole is powered by a generator on a trailer and the speakers reverberate with the last 140 Db Bollywood - Indian House and hits.

If you are not too demanding, it's a great place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majoord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 223 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

The Temple Hotel is well situated close to Assi Ghat. A stroll around the Ghat brings conversation, bookshops and music. Assi is within walking distance of Lanka and other shopping centres. Temples, large and small, are nearby. BHU is also nearby.

I had a comfortable room overlooking the Ganges. Because it was hot there was not a lot of visitors. However there was a good mix of local and international guests.

The owners and staff were pleasant at all times. The manager has perfected the art of unobtrusive service with a twist of irony. Talking with them after meals or on hot evenings on the deck was great.

Room Tip: They are happy to let you see available rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingram10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

They have nice, clean rooms and the bathroom was also clean.The staff is courteous and helpful. Opt for a room facing the ganges especially on the upper floors. The terrace is very nice, very cool breeze in the evenings because of the river. The food is fresh and nice, feels like home cooked. Good hotel for the price you pay. Value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spring210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

I booked the hotel through tavelguru from delhi. The place is far off from down town. I spent a lot on travelling. Otherwise an affordable hotel. Strictly vegetarian. The AC was noisy, nevertheless the staff, particularly the manager, was helpful.The location is the key with ganges within the walking distance.

Over all it was a good. choice which made my stay comfortable. Will like to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Good hotel, with nice roof top views. The best thing about it is the location. Hotel is on the Ganges, but at the same time taxis can come quite close and you don't have to find your way in the narrow labyrinths as in Varanasi old town. It is quite far from the center, but for us it was no problem at all. We took boat rides in the morning and evening, and also rickshaws to move around. Some places of the great importance are in few minutes walk from the hotel, such like the Temple where Tulsi Das was translating Ramayana.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shiurpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,208 reviews
2.5 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,120 reviews
2.3 km away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#10 of 79 in Varanasi
525 reviews
2.0 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
319 reviews
1.6 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#15 of 79 in Varanasi
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Temple on Ganges? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Temple on Ganges

Address: Assi Ghat | Assi Ghat Road, Varanasi 221005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: ₹ 2,264 - ₹ 4,463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Temple on Ganges 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a well esteemed hotel known specially for our excellent location on the bank of river Ganges and good hospitality services.We have an excellent multicuisine Vegetarian restaurant on the terrace with panoramic view of river Ganges and ghats, Free WiFi zone,Forex desk,travels counter and at door all vehicles accessible and parking facility.There are five different categories of rooms (with and without view) available to book online and directly with us also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Temple on Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing