We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel and guide”
Review of Ajay Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ajay Guest House
Ranked #42 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
france
1 review
“Hotel and guide”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Very nice and quiet place.
I meet Lalit, un really nice young man how helps me to visit the city and respect all my demands. It,s because of Lalit that I enjoy so much Vanarasi and I what to be back. As a professionnal, witz a lot of responsabilities, Lalit gave me so much.

Je recommande cet hotel ou il fait bon vivre et surtout, faites appel a Lalit, sa sincerite et son honnetete, sa gentillesse sont grandioses pour vous faire aimer Vanarasi.

Wish you the best with Lalit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    10
    7
    14
See reviews for
13
23
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The whole room and the few pieces of battered furniture could use a major hose down, except there was no water...hot or cold! Grimy, grungy, stained, cracked and peeling, our room had it all! Oh, and the view, well the balcony was barely 2feet wide. Still, it would have been great except the wire mesh that was meant to keep out the mosquitoes was so dirty, torn and mangled that it actually managed to block our view! Stay away. There are alternatives on the Gange in every price range.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

Buenos Aires
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I completely recomend this Hotel and his excelent views to Ganges River.
Very clean, and very good attention of his managger, you will spend a nice time here.
Also, it's place is perfect, because you are just 1 block from where the ceremony is make.
I will recomend all my friends, and I will be here next year without any dough!
Thanks for all!

Room Tip: For single travellers Room 101 is the BEST!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genaro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My experience thus far at Ajay's Guest house has been quite pleasant so far. The staff are friendly and actually seem to care about their guests. RC Singh is a very kind man and took the time to converse with me. The rooftop restaurant had excellent food! And as everyone else seemed to mention, the views are incredible. I have yet to see the sun rise, but I'm sure it will be beautiful. I've had better rooms but I can't complain at all. As long as you don't mind the nature surrounding you (newts along the hallways, monkeys on the rooftop, and the occasional ant in the room -nothing a little spray can't cure) you'll enjoy your stay.
There is also the option for guides to take you around the town for the day.

Room Tip: Select a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dcomeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Pros: views of the Ganges, two ghats away from one of the main ghats, Dasaswamedh; the restaurant/cage on the roof-- good, basic food and beer while watching the river and the monkeys. Cons: price of the room-- because of my single traveller status, I was assigned a small room but paid for a much pricier one when I booked through agoda. Still, I can't complain too much since what I got to witness every morning and every evening on my balcony was exactly what I came to Varanasi for. Also, credit should be given to management for arranging pick up and drop off to the airport in a timely, organized fashion.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasonides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.2 km away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#20 of 77 in Varanasi
427 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 77 in Varanasi
1,178 reviews
0.4 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 77 in Varanasi
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
0.1 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 77 in Varanasi
267 reviews
0.6 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 77 in Varanasi
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajay Guest House

Property: Ajay Guest House
Address: Choushotti Ghat Ajay Guest House D21/11 | Rana Mahal Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,418 - ₹ 5,416
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ajay Guest House is one of the fabulous sites of Varanasi. Extremely situated in natural location. Exhibits entire scenery of Varanasi one look. It also has all modern amenities from airport pickup, to sight seeing, travel planning. Each room is like a house in itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelGuru, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ajay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajay Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing