We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location but overpriced and with rock hard beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Varanasi
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic location but overpriced and with rock hard beds”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

You couldn't possibly ask for a hotel with a better location in Varanasi than this one. It is located right on the Ganges in the middle of the most spectacular ghats of the city.
The pick-up from the airport went well and hotel employees will carry your luggage for the last 100 meter (cars are not allowed to enter the ghat areas).

The rooms are quite small and dark considering the relatively high price. However, what I really disliked about this hotel were the mattresses. I realize that Asians usually prefer harder mattresses than Westerners, but those were rock hard and I woke up with an aching back every morning as a result of that.

The service also leaves a lot to be desired. Seeing as the nearest post office is quite far away from the hotel, I asked the receptionist whether they could bring my postcards to the post office and buy stamps for me. They charged me 25 rupees per card (I Iater found out that stamps to Europe cost only 12 rupees), but unfortunately none of the cards ever arrived. So the most likely guess is that they simply took the money and threw the cards away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JochenHertweck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    240
    120
    49
    48
See reviews for
96
248
107
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, VA (located just outside Washington, DC)
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Most important....stay in a hotel in the Old City on the river; do not stay in Cantonment area. You will miss the experience of seeing and walking the ghats, streets and alleys of Varanasi. The trip from Cantonment to the river takes about 1/2 hour....traffic is horrific within the city.

Best location right on the Ganges River with a comfortbale bed, clean room and accomodating staff. The roof top restaurant (breakfast included) provides a marvelous view of the river. Walk out the front door and hire a boat to cruise the Ganges and gain of view of the various ghats at sunrise and the evening. A short distance to the right is the Dasaswarmedh Ghat where you can view the hour long ganges aarti fire ceremony at dusk. A 10 minute walk to the left takes you to the cremation ghat, Manikarnika. Centrally located, great accomodations, nice staff and moderately priced.

The Rashmi allows you to explore the streets, alleys and experience the unique character of Varanasi. I walked from the 1st ghat, Assi, to the hotel which took about 45 minutes at a leisurel;y pace. Varanasi is an Indian city not to be missed. See my BLOG, www.tomsindiaadventure2012.blogspot.com which provides diary of my 40 days spent in India.

Room Tip: The hotel offers rooms with a river view at a price 3 times that of a regular room. I had a regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Aged-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The only reason to stay in this hotel is for the fabulous location over looking the Ganges. I do believe its slightly overpriced given the size of the rooms, the relatively poor services from the staff but most people come here to see the holy river and Indian life that happens around the river so the location is fantastic.
The beds feel like you're sleeping on a park bench, there is basically not mattress and the bathroom needs a really good clean.
I would not recommend their restaurant to anyone as the staff are sooooo rude and the food is very bland.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I were in Varanasi one year ago (2011) and spent 6 days in Varanasi. LOVED IT. Stayed at Rashmi - they picked us up at the airport (seamless) and we had arranged ahead of time to hire Pappu as a guide. So glad we did!! He was great! Very friendly and accommodating. He guided us through this very confusing and fascinating city and arranged for a guide (also great) to Sarnath (glad we did).
The hotel isn't top drawer by any means, but the location...perfect. Everything that's said about it is true: It's a little funky, you have to walk the last few blocks (good to have a guide the first time!) as the hotel has no vehicle access. The staff were friendly. The restaurant view is outstanding. Good selection of beer for those hot nights.
So what kind of experience do you want? We wanted to wake up on the Ganges and the Ghats, to be right in the midst of all the activity at night and quick access during the day to the old city and the river. It was perfect for that.
The staff was friendly and helpful and...free wifi, too.

Room Tip: pay extra for the top room with a view of the sunrise over the Ganges. worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cascading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I was staying in Varanasi for five days and i was on photography tour..I had a great time and really fantastic meal in Rashmi Guest House, rooms was clean and smell really good.Hotel owner Mr. Tiwari was really helpful and help me for to get more information on Varanasi.Must visit place for every tourist.I will not forget to add Hotel is on great location and staff is really helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms are great and very very clean.Restaurant is great and you can view Ghats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtulPratapChauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.2 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 74 in Varanasi
2,061 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 74 in Varanasi
1,172 reviews
0.8 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#15 of 74 in Varanasi
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 74 in Varanasi
257 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#16 of 74 in Varanasi
253 reviews
1.4 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House

Property: A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
Address: D A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House 16/28 - A | Dasaswamedh, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,132 - ₹ 5,942
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Palace on River (Rashmi Guest House) is a newly opened hotel on the edge of the River Ganges. We are located at Manmandir Ghatt, Varanasi adjacent to Raja Mansingh's Observatory. Although it is a guest house , we try our level best to provide the services at par with that of five star hotels in Varanasi . It is the only guest house in Varanasi which is run by a competent 3 year Diploma Holder in Hotel Management , catering and applied Nutrition ( Ramesh Verma). This hotel has got a team of well qualified and experienced professionals.We leave no stone unturned in making the guest feel comfortable , their home baway from home . As for the restaurant , we serve a wide variety of dishes catering to all shorts of individuals. Overall we believe in better and better services from each and every stand point ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Palace On The River, Rashmi Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing