We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
53
64
27
12
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
64
27
12
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2018

It's basic but it's clean. The biggest reason to book this guest house is the view. If you can afford it, spend a little more money to get a room with a balcony. If you can't, you can still see the river from their dining area.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyVanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

At Scindia Guesthouse you are on top of it and you still have peace and distance. From your balcony you look out on the Scindia Ghat and the adjacent Manikarnika Ghat - the most important place for Hindu cremations - and through the door on the Ganges side you are directly in the hectic ghats. You cannot wish for a nicer place to be in this extreme, intriguing city. The rooms and restaurant are basic but adequate, the people are extremely friendly and helpful and the food is well prepared and hygienic. A great location as a base to explore the unlikely world of Varansi. And after a few days you’ll even find the way to the guesthouse in the labyrinth of alleyways ...

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michel6562018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Staying at the Scindhia House you are right in the center of the truly amazing Varanasi. Basic needs are met with a smile. Our rooms were overlooking the Ganges with balconies. Many stairs to the rooms but there are porters to assist. You can arrive either by boat or from the main street with porters I arranged with our guide prior at Streetwise Varanasi Tours. 7 minute walk through the narrow passageways you arrive right into the center of the Manikarnika Ghat and then another block walk along the Ganges you will see the hotel. Right in front is the famous must-see sinking Shiva temple. Entrance to the property is a bit discerning as you walk up the side of what looks like a bombed out shelter and in reality is an active temple facing a hole in the wall with dirt flowing out of it. Our porters who were in front of us disappeared and I thought they walked through that hole entrance but there are steps continuing to the right and there is the entrance to the guest house. Being a travel consultant and organizer I thought"oh no I might be finding another hotel to stay in when I first looked at my group of friends faces {all females} but the Scindhia Guest House was great for what we expected...clean and basic and the staff welcoming. I chose to stay right at the ghats as we were doing two sunrise boat tours, one in each direction and one sunset boat tour. With the traffic above so horrific staying at a more westernized property away from the ghats our time would have been very inefficient. Watched the bathers in the Ganges from our balconies. Baboons at night ended up sleeping on our balcony so make sure balcony door is locked. Walked to the Aerti Ceremony and all along the ghat area including the burning ghats very easily. Fascinating seeing all the rituals performed by individuals in and out of the Ganges. Lots of walking in and outside of the hotel with steps so you do have to be able to navigate up and down stairs. We had hot water and they do have a sign saying they use machines and not like a lot of hotels have the laundry done in the Ganges. A remarkable scene as you boat up the Ganges. I expect to come back to this city again as it is a photographers paradise and look forward to staying at this guesthouse again. Management was very interesting and helpful.

Room tip: balconies overlooking the Ganges
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

the views from the room are great, you are overlooking the burning bodies, so watching that part of the culture was very interesting. The monkeys visiting you was all a part of it too. Shared book to read for my travels was nice as well. this is a basic place, but the location and views is what sets it apart. It is worth the climb.

Date of stay: August 2017
1  Thank Tarynwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

The property is not reachable by car. It is close to the burning Ghat. The manager appears to be very helpful but when you ask for something - like can we get a packed breakfast because we leave early- he was not keen to assist. BUT We did get a packed toasted sandwich with hardboiled eggs on the day of departure .Breakfast each morning- .No fruit and weak coffee with egg and toast- it is complimentary... so I guess I should not mention it... but rather pack your oats so easy. The boat trips the hotel arrange was Rs 150 per person- which was good price- you pay cash. You have to give your key in at reception and ASK them to clean your room daily- they do not do it if you do not ASK. So
No kettle in the room and no coffee or tea. It might be because the hotel was quote empty that the service levels were down. But I will not stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Natasja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews