We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay for an Overwhelming Varanasi Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scindhia Guest House
Ranked #30 of 207 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Hokkaido, Japan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay for an Overwhelming Varanasi Experience”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Varanasi is an exciting and overwhelming city, so a peaceful retreat, with simple comforts, clean rooms, character and kindly service, makes for a wonderful oasis amongst the chaos.

Scindhia Guest House is located right by the river overlooking the most picturesque of the famous ghats (Schindhia Ghat), which is next to the famous burning ghat. Mr Kush Barman, the owner/manager, is a helpful, charming host who can arrange sightseeing boat rides along the river (well worth it, both in the morning and evening) and side trips to the Buddhist centre of Sarnath. The restaurant, with a view of the river, serves excellent Indian dishes.

My daughter and I stayed here in December 2011 and had a marvelous time. We stayed three nights, but could easily have stayed longer. This will be the place I return to in Varanasi. As others have written, don't try to find the place on your own, phone Mr Kush from the railway station and he will send a tuktuk for you. The final approach requires walking through the narrowest of alleys - an adventure itself - and taking a porter is recommended. If you have no sense of direction and plan to wander away from the riverside, carry a compass and a business card from the guest house. We found the people of Varanasi to be kind, helpful and friendly, and very willing to give directions when we were lost. Vendors by the river will of course attempt to over charge you for anything, so take this in your stride, either calculate a reasonable price in your own currency and pay that, or seek advice from the guest house before you shop anywhere. Mr Kush Barman was helpful in so many ways, and I particularly liked his very positive attitudes towards cleanliness and security, and the fact that this is a drug free lodge.

Making reservations ahead is strongly recommended, as there are few rooms, and the upper floor rooms are particularly desirable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StellersEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    52
    25
    10
    16
See reviews for
17
61
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We chose this place on the reviews from tripadvisor and Lonely Planet. We didn't book and so when we turned up they only had one room left, the double AC with balcony. We splurged for the 3 nights and weren't disappointed! the view from the balcony was amazing, the sunrise over the river Ganges and the city were great everyday. the room is very, very clean, including the bathroom. Actually the bathroom is huge by Indian standards. The only disappointment was that occasionally there was powercuts and the AC was off, however if whenever we mentioned it to the man in charge it was amazing able to be on. The cheaper rooms would be great value I reckon.

That aside the laundry service was great, the clothes came back really clean. the position of the guesthouse is right on the waters edge in old varanasi. when you arrive the auto rickshaws can't take you all the way. We got ripped off by out auto rickshaw guy who dropped us in the middle of the main road. We knew you couldn't get all the way by auto but he obviously was pissed we didn't want to go to a hotel where he could get commission. If you don't have a transfer organised asked the rickshaw driver to drop you at the archway to old varanasi on Dasaswamedh Ghat Rd or at the autorickshaw stand on mandapur rd - then just ask for directions. Don't follow someone unless you want to tip them, just ask shop owners, they are really helpful. We found this many time when looking for something obscure in the alley like streets of Old Varanasi.

The guesthouse is just around the corner from the main burning ghat - Manikarnika Ghat. Everytime we needed to leave the guesthouse and get around we had to pass this ghat. This meant that we saw loads of bodies being carried to cremation. it sounds creepy, but it's not, it' s really quite amazing to see. If you do stay this end of Varanasi, make sure you go to Madhur Milan Cafe next to the archway. It is still the best and cheapest Indian food we have had since being here (2months).

The only negative was the in-house restaurant. We had breakfast there on our last day was we had a morning train to catch and the service was pretty slow, but standard for tourist places. Local Indian places have much faster service, but that is normal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

A house and a city full of character. Access is an adventure by foot only - use the hotel service,
first tuk-tuk then porters through the alleys, don't attempt to find it on your own! When you arrive, the location is stunning - right by the Ganges, overlooking the ghats and temples.
All the rooms face the river, the best are on the top floor, en-suite with comfortable beds,
shower and balcony views to die for. Very helpful owner who arranges boat trips etc, and
friendly staff. A great place to spend several days and absorb the essence of India.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alatram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My first visit to varanasi and I think thiz was the perfect place to stay. the view is excellent. every room has a balcony and you just love to sit there and soak in the ganges.

the breakfast is great and it is amazing when you find out that the owner himself makes the breakfast for everybody.

kush, the owner's son runs the front end of the hotel and looks into evedybody's needs and requests.

the toughest part is to find this hotel, but the owners have put enough directional signages along the narrow by lanes. if you are still stuck somewhere, you can alwayz ask for sankata mata temple or scindia ghat, both of which are next to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bimalsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The biggest problem with this place is its location. If you are trying to find this on its own, as we did, then you are in trouble. We decided to take prepaid taxi from airport because it’s cheaper (and it was about 500 rupees) than taking hotel taxi (800rupees) but we were left at some police gate and told that rest of the way we have to go by foot. We were looking this place for more than one hour. The problem was that we were always asking about Scindhia Guest house and people didn’t know where it was so we were wonder around. If you want to find it then always ask for Burning Ghats – this ghat is next to Scindhia and is commonly known.
I’ve quite good experience with this place because our room was clean, spacious and had balcony with beautiful view. This balcony was like an oasis for in this crazy city. One more thing that still I can’t believe is that due manager fault our room was changed from Standard to Deluxe and we didn’t have to pay more!!! This is something that doesn’t happen in India were nothing is for free.
Hotel isn’t very cheap but comparing others with such a view is a very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrzejPuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.3 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 km away
Ajay Guest House
Ajay Guest House
#41 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Treebo East View
Treebo East View
#41 of 207 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.5 km away
Kanha Paying Guest House
Kanha Paying Guest House
#19 of 207 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 km away
Sankatha Guest House
Sankatha Guest House
#20 of 207 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scindhia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scindhia Guest House

Property: Scindhia Guest House
Address: Scindhia Guest House Next To Manikarnika Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,815 - ₹ 3,823
Hotel Class:3 star — Scindhia Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated ideally in the crescent on the left bank of The Holy Ganges is The Scindhia Guest House just adjacent to Manikarnika (The burning ghat) offering excellent panoramic view of the river on both the sides.Breathtaking sunrise to the scintillating evening view of the river and the ghats can be enjoyed from all the available balconies in the property. Enchanting ringing of temple bells is simply nostalgic.AC / Non-AC rooms are neatly laid with attached toilets equipped for round the clock hot and cold shower. Super-Deluxe rooms have TV, Refrigerator and intercom too.Internet is available on demand.The Roof top (river view) restaurant offers sumptuous refreshments cooked under strict supervision in very hygienic conditions.Pick-up service on request is available from the railhead as well as the airport (Payable).Medical aid is available on call.As a policy matter, Scindhia Guest House does not allow consumption of Narcotic Drugs / intoxicants of any kind and nature within the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Scindhia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scindhia Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing