We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unhelpful staff. Expensive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diamond Hotel
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Varanasi
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unhelpful staff. Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

The staff were totally disinterested in helping us until they thought we needed help in arranging transport that would secure them big kickbacks. The suggested itinerary was daft and expensive and not what we were looking for.
Restaurant was not good.
They made "mistakes"

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandKate101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    41
    17
    13
    5
See reviews for
38
26
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bombay
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

This was a mistake to pick this hotel to stay in Varanasi. Its the most unclean hotel I have come across. There was a dead moth in my bathroom, inspite of the cleaner cleaning the bathroom every day, for 3 days it just WAS THERE!!
The room service is BAD and so is the staff. Yea, I know at some places I cannot expect a lot of luxury if I am paying less but hey..cleanliness has nothing to do with "less money"!
The rooms had cockroaches and to add to it, on the carpet I found a half cut shaving blade!!! I was travelling with my husband and my 6 year old daughter. I was terrified!
I wish we stayed in one of those hotels near the ghats, they look shabby but they are cleaner. This Diamond hotel was a big disappointment. The food was horrible. The toiletries were bad and towels were almost like the scrubbers.
The quality of other guests..well, I would not really blame it..coz I realised we chose a wrong hotel (for the unavailability of others)..

AVOIDABLE!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monamukherji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

We, a group of 8 people checked in Hotel Diamond in the holy city of Varanasi. The rooms are just okay and particularly during hot summer, there is acute power shortage. The Air conditioner just does not work and only fans are used through generator. Mind you they charge you for AC and you do not get to enjoy it.

The food was average and overall a very bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeka24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punjab
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

I don't know everything about this hotel as i was there just for sleeping and food. Food is gud and rooms r full ac and comfortable. i can say its a gud hotel for one day trips and for solo traveller. gud and nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amantamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

V usually visit varanasi n tried different hotels there too. But 2 years back someone suggested for diamond hotel v stayed there for the first time in 2008 and from then our search for comfortable stay at kashi got over.
It is quite homely atmosphere there. After one visit you really feel at home. beddings r neat, staff is decent and friendly . Room service is really prompt. Above all food served is marvellous. Over all things r cool n charges r reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uniquesanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.9 km away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#13 of 75 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#7 of 75 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#11 of 75 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Rivera Palace
Hotel Rivera Palace
#23 of 75 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Janki International
Hotel Janki International
#10 of 75 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Grapevine
Hotel Grapevine
#4 of 75 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hotel

Property: Diamond Hotel
Address: Bhelupur, Varanasi 221010, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,274 - ₹ 4,944
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diamond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelGuru and ClearTrip so you can book your Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing