We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2007

We stayed here for one night on a two week guided tour of India, and after the 5* hotel in Delhi it seemed a little basic. In retrospect, however, it was very nice and we had one of our best meals of the holiday in the restaurant. They will insist, however on calling goat 'lamb', which is not really necessary, as goat is good and tasty. The waiters were particularly nice.

The room was clean, nicely furnished and well appointed, but the view out of the window was of a partially constructed building and building sites. We kept the curtains closed. We didn't sleep in our beds for long as we rose at 4.30am to take a sunrise ghat cruise on the Ganges. An amazing, unforgettable experience. I still get goosebumps thinking of it. Varanasi is a unique, crazy place where you feel so alive because your senses all come to the surface in the wake of its spirituality. After floating past the monumental ghats in silence and then walking through the manic, weird, filthy, noisy, illogical yet compelling city, we went back to the hotel by coach for breakfast. It was still only 7am and the calm and clean was a welcome contrast.

We left that morning for Khajuraho, but it might have been nice to relax there for longer. Good shops in the foyer.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Ms_Moggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    561
    281
    108
    51
See reviews for
268
426
114
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bavaria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2007

We spent two nights in the radisson. It's a good high-class hotel with excellent service. Especially the travel desk was extremely helpful. The building is on the small side as the rooms are. It's a quiet, clean and relaxing place.

On the other hand the hotel is far away from the ganges and therefore a bit cut off. Like a luxury island.

If you want to dive into the varansi-magic the radisson is the wrong place but the right place to keep distance from the varansi-insanity.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank marcel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2006

This hotel just opened in November of 2006. It is lovely. The service is outstanding. The restaurants are excellent, especially the Chinese Restaurant. We would stay here happily any time.

  • Liked — The newness, the pride of the staff, the restaurants
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D&DWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2006

Prior to visiting Varanasi during the week of 10/8/06, I had read mixed reviews of this hotel. While all of of other hotels in India were 5 star, I really did expect the Radisson to rate poorly. Well not so. Not only was this hotel clean, but the staff was very, very nice. Our room was spacious and clean, our linens were cleaned daily, and we had ample supplies in our room (toilet paper, beverages in the mini bar etc)., and all of the amenities in our room were in good working order. The food at the hotel restaurant, whether breakfast, lunch or dinner, was also quite good. The staff was particularly helpful in suggesting mildly spiced dishes for Western visitors. They even prepared breakfast for us one morning prior to their usual hours of operation. The staff at the front desk was also helpful and courteous, and the maintenance staff was also quite prompt in responding to our call when the power went out in our room early one morning.

Just make sure that you have a room that is not looking out over the vacant, unfinished concrete apartment building next door. Its not a very pleasant site (but one of many unpleasant sites in Varanasi), and something you should try to avoid.

All in all, this hotel was an absolute oasis of cleanliness and convenience in a Holy City that lacks both.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, quality of food
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jd94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2006

We, a family with two children (15 and 18), stayed the 6th and 7th of July in this hotel in rooms 202 and 203. Although Varanasi and the hotels in the city seem to have a bad name, we were in a positive way surprised about the quality of this hotel. It is a modern hotel, the first hotel you see when you enter the Cantonment-district of Varanasi. It has a very nice modern lobby where the tranquillity was the opposite of what you see outside on the streets of Varanasi. The rooms were furnished in a modern style with good and clean beds and, when you wouldn't look outside, you could think you were in a hotel in Europe. The bathrooms were also ok. The rooms have perfect working aircondioning; a/c's that hardly produce noice; mostly the opposite in India.
In the hotel are 2 restaurants; because is was low season only the one on the left side (when you leave the lifts) was open. We twice had diner ( a la carte) and twice had good meals. Breakfast was also ok. The staff was very friendly and payed a lot of attention to us. Especialy a waiter called Anil, who knew a lot of soccer (and told us of the celebreties he had met in this hotel) was the favourite of my son.
Although there was some maintenance work on the higher levels (and an other building next door is under construction), that didn't bother us and we slept well. The hotel also has a moderate sized swimming pool, but we haven't used it.

  • Liked — the hygiene of the hotel in that city
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarcelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.5 km away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.6 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.1 km away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 79 in Varanasi
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
282 reviews
5.4 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
4.6 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Varanasi

Property: Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Address: The Mall Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Varanasi
#4 Family Hotel in Varanasi
#4 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,107 - ₹ 11,616
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Hotel Varanasi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, TravelGuru, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Varanasi
Varanasi Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing