We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Location”
Review of Hotel Ganges View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Ganges View
Ranked #12 of 207 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I love the Hotel Ganges View Hotel. I stayed there in 2004 and again in December 2011. But the price increased dramatically during that time period. From a place for visiting scholars it has moved to a much higher price range. If you can afford it, though, it is worth it. The rooms are comfortable (although the beds hard) and clean and the bathrooms work. Just like in 2004, every night about 8 pm the electricity shuts off momentarily and a generator goes on for about an hour or so, which can be noisy, depending on how sensitive you are and the location of your room. So carry your flashlight with you at night! The breakfast, on the open air terrace is great -- you can order whatever you want - continental and Indian - but no fresh juice. The dinner is also very good vegetarian and worth opting for over other restaurants in the area, although a little too much paneer cheese for my liking (as a vegan). Be careful about having laundry sent out -- they tried to charge me 20 rupees to wash a pair of socks and I had a number of pairs bringing my total laundry bill to over 800 rupees!! But they reduced it to 500 rupees, still expensive for India, but it was done in one day. So ask about the price first before sending laundry out. The service is excellent. But don't count on wi-fi. Despite saying it "would be coming", it was never running during our 3 days there. There is a good cyber cafe next door for your needs (with its own generator as well). The view from the balcony is wonderful.

Room Tip: The main floor (with dining room) is cheaper but not nearly as nice as the upper two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VaryaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    161
    62
    21
    22
See reviews for
47
212
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I spent 2 nights at the ganges view guest house in august 2011.
As mentioned before the location is great. It's on Assi Ghat, easy to find and the neighborhood is great. As the Ganges river was very high I couldn't walk from Ghat to Ghat, too bad...

The hotel is very pretty with lots of antiques. I had a room with an enclosed balcony. yes, the beds were on the hard side and the sheets had a few stains, but they smelled clean.There is A/C and a fan in the room. I didn't spend much time in the room anymay, it was much nicer to sit on the deck :-)

bathroom : efficient and the water worked... but bring your own soap, the soap bar was very small.

I has dinner one evening and it was really good. We were at a table for 2 and regretted that we didn't go for a table with other guests.

The staff was very helpful.

to conclude, this is not a luxury hotel, it's not very modern, it's not highly comfortable, but it doesn't claim to be. It's homey, tasteful, charming... it's a guest house.

I recommend waking up early in the morning to watch the sun rise over the river and people on the ghats...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The hotel is nice to an Indian standart but room was small. The view means you have to step outside from your room to a tarrace !!! If you think that your room is with your own balcony you are mistaken. It is a tarrace used by all tourists from the floor ( 4 rooms on one level ). We paid 5 000 rupies per night with breakfast, please, negotiate as they want to make more money and charge extra for breakfąst. Wi-fi is working only is surroundings of the reception - shame as the hotel is three strey building. Overall it is an average place a little bit expensive for the value you get.

Room Tip: Negotiate a price of the room with breakfast as they want to charge you extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlawekPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

... of the Ganges himself! Very well located, next to holly Assi Ghat. Nice vegetarian food and helpfull staff. Simple but comfortable, elegantly decorated. A very special place. (If you are on a very tight budget and find it a bit pricey, stay in one of the hotels nearby. Very good location in Varanasi)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

A small hotel overlooking a narrow street and with good views over the Ganges. Rooms rather dark but with pleasant sitting areas outside. Hotel is clean with friendly staff - beds a little on the hard side. Hotel is of a 'colonial style', with lovely hand-painted motifs and pictures. A good choice given its location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.8 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.4 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.8 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
5.6 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganges View? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganges View

Property: Hotel Ganges View
Address: Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,270 - ₹ 8,468
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ganges View 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganges View guest is one of best guest house in Varanasi or Banaras those are situated at unique oldest city in the world or holy pilgrimage cities in India located on the Banks of the Holy Ganges...... and so much ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing