We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most value for money if not for the airconditioning for the most part, hot water and the sad food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
ahmedabad
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most value for money if not for the airconditioning for the most part, hot water and the sad food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Most value for money if not for the airconditioning for the most part, hot water and the sad food.

Polite staff, sometimes a little too much , foreigners haven, chilled ambience and courteous attendants.

The best self proclaimed 4 star hotel in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vasant_guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    613
    288
    55
    31
See reviews for
300
478
93
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nasik
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We, a family of 5 stayed for a night and quite liked it. The ambiance at this old-world charm like hotel is great and is in line with what the charming Varanasi has to offer. The break-fast spread is great and tasty. The other Indian restaurant at this place is totally avoidable! The food offered is stale, tasteless, and way too over-priced for what is offered!!! We opted for the highly advertised and recommeded Satvik Veg Thali and were very very disappointed. We tried the continental resto for dinner and loved it!
We had no problem during check-in and check-out. Their airport-drop service was spot-on. The rooms are a bit worn-out but clean and pleasant. The old lock-and-key system to access the rooms should be done away with. The location is definitely not by the mighty Ganges, which is what I had assumed. It is a bit away from the city-centre, aprrox. 10 minutes by the auto-rickshaw.
Stay away from hiring a guide from the concierge desk here!!! We got a TERRIBLE guide named Raj(call me Raj, he said, as his name was Rajendra or something like that), who was a bit too friendly, way too philosophical than being informative and quite boring. He even rushed us through the stupendous evening Ganga arati by the Ganges! Please make sure that the boat(We arranged ours via Taj concierge) you take to attend the evening Ganga aarti doesn't hurry you back before even the aarti ends! We eventually weren't charged for our boat-ride when we complained but just be cautious before-hand in order not to spoil your experience. There are some other interesting walking tours offered by a few tour companies and I suggest you try them instead of hiring guides from here. We were there only for 1.5 days hence didn't have enough time to explore but I highly recommend that you spend some more time just soaking in the charm of this vibrant city.
Overall, our stay at Taj was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Butterfly_Vas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Nice decor, however it is quite old and the hotel rooms do need renovating. Spacious rooms, with non-noisy AC.

Didn't go to the spa; the prices were more expensive than equivalent places I have been to in Europe.

The biggest gripe with this hotel is practical harassment in the restaurant. It is grossly overstaffed (I cannot over emphasize this), both breakfast and dinner. Anytime we put our forks down or even stopped eating, our plates were pulled from under us, whether we were finished our food or not. The irony with it being overstaffed is that when we ordered food one day, it didn't arrive and we had to ask again. We could not really eat our food in peace here, too many waiters and waitresses coming up to us every minute.

This hotel knows what western travelers want and will rip you off accordingly: this place has the most expensive internet access charges we have come across in India. Water and soft drinks, are outrageously priced aswell.

The food, as aside from the restaurant staff, is excellent.

Room Tip: If you are going here, remember the hot water takes about 5-10 minutes to come out of the tap, as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Gateway Hotel proved to be pleasant experience. We were dissappointed to learn that the pool was being serviced and not usable, but apart from that there were no issues. Rooms were a bit dull but in good condition. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the dining options were adequate. The gardens were beautiful, and wonderfully quiet in noisy Varanasi. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the hotel, or visit Varanasi again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gtdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Great hotel, set amidst beautiful long trees, much change from the hustle bustle of the city, and other hotels
Beautiful rooms, with nice paintings reflecting the character of Benaras city
Very nice room service, and some local authentic menu is available as well?
I didn't know that my room charges didn't include Breakfast, yet the price inclusive of the breakfast was very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balledisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
4.2 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.0 km away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.6 km away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#10 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
0.7 km away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi

Property: The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Address: Nadesar Palace Grounds | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India (Formerly Taj)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,084 - ₹ 10,178
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group-oriented mid-rise hotel centrally located on Raja Bazar Road at Nadesar Palace Grounds, on the banks of the Varuna River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, DerbySoftTaj and Agoda so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing