We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap food but otherwise a very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

I came here alone for business and because of Varanasi being so crowded and dirty decided to eat most of my meals at the hotel. Each meal was bad, the mutton was swimming in oil and the naan was hard. The breakfast was not bad but again the lunch and pasta for dinner was very very bad.

The hotel otherwise is great, clean and has nice staff with great wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saurabh79s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,574)
There are newer reviews for The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,046 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed with Taj in Varanasi i had a very bad experience. Staff of front office were very rude specialy a lady Vandana ,she dont no how to treat with guest i should not mention but i have to i think you should remove her and i dont remember the name of the duty manager something Mr. basu he is over smart .And about my stay was unhappy because i stayed in 1st floor . My room was smelling requested for non smoking and they have provide me smoking room but i have to mention one more thing about your spa was good and your food was very very good as well as staff of coffe shop.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaipurHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Our Trip To Varanasi became even more splendid with this hotel. Helpful, Warm blooded staff , excellent breakfast was a big plus too. The Room was well equiped clean. The hotel arranged all city tours including Tourist guide. Highly Recommended !

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Gateway Hotel - Varanasi - this is a beautiful Taj Hotel in a secured compound in the heart of  Varanasi. The  rooms are spacious. There is a large swimming pool. Right outside the front gates of the hotel is one of the most chaotic traffic scenes that we have ever witnessed. We returned to the hotel after dark in a rickshaw after witnessing the nightly events on the Ganges. The ride was harrowing with traffic of tuk tuks, motorcycles, trucks, more rickshaws, cows and people everywhere. Amazingly though...no accidents.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Radiohutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This hotel truly is an island of respite in what could possibly one of the most intense and chaotic places in India. The staff are amazingly friendly, not infrequently to a fault. We were often asked our room numbers and whether we wanted coffee or tea at breakfast more than 5 times a sitting by servers who seemed to hover and watch nonstop. They whisk plates out from under you even before you take your last bite and will interrupt your table conversation to ask if they can get you anything else. We were also annoyngly asked at least a dozen times to fill out the comment card by various staff and confronted by the chamber maid at time of checkout demanding we show our thanks. I agree with other reviewers here who say the rooms and hallways are somewhat tired and in need of upgrade and not quite up to the standard of some other other Taj hotels, but the place is basically grand and well and lovingly maintained. Power outages are frequent so avoiding the elevators may be wise especially in the evening. Rooms are very clean and comfortable if a little insecticide smelling. Great water pressure, and a working safe and fridge. Grounds are lovely and the pool is just wonderfull. Food ok. And oh yeah, they have real coffee, a treat in the land of powdered instant java. Breakfast and lunch room featured a non stop movie soundtrack music loop which had us all humming the theme to 'don't cry for me Argentina' all the way back to Delhi.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Esparcette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
4.1 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
306 reviews
1.0 km away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
4.9 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 79 in Varanasi
1,454 reviews
0.7 km away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 79 in Varanasi
654 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi

Address: Nadesar Palace Grounds | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India (Formerly Taj)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: ₹ 5,657 - ₹ 10,864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group-oriented mid-rise hotel centrally located on Raja Bazar Road at Nadesar Palace Grounds, on the banks of the Varuna River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelGuru, DerbySoftTaj and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing