We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm Amidst the Chaos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Calm Amidst the Chaos”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Varanasi must be one of the most chaotic places on earth! We loved it... were there in March 2012 and stayed at the Gateway Hotel Ganges. Staff were excellent. We arrived early after a hell overnight train trip from Jabalpur, got harrassed at the train station, someone trird to steal our bags, finally arrived at the hotel at 7.45am - hot, tired, in desperate need of a shower and change of clothes. The receptionist got us into our room straight away which was fantastic, as I was totally prepared to wait until the 2pm check in time. The room was very comfortable, bathroom tiny with toiletries a bit on the skimpy side, but who cares after the train trip from hell. Overall the service was great, the food was excellent and great choice of indian and western dishes that you would find in any of the major hotel chains. The only odd thing was the power kept cuttin in and out at various times throughout the day and night. It would only be for about 30 seconds until presumably a generator kicks in. We booked our tours through the tour desk in the lobby, well priced and great service provided. It is a great haven to come back to at the end of each day when you have been out and about with the throngs of people on the streets and down at the Ganges. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    636
    296
    57
    32
See reviews for
321
499
98
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

It was march 2011 when i travelled there, (took me a while to make a review). personally liked it because it was near the activity of the city, however crossing hotel doors, you can feel the quietness inside the hotel. Personnel definitely kind, food is very nice , but nothing spectacular. We had the tremendous luck of arrive to one of the most famous festivals of Shiva, so the streets were full! of pilgrims and devotees. Super overwhelming experience, and thanks to hotel surroundings, we were able to snick the view through the walls and see the big activity from a very quiet place ( mosquitoes ate us, but it was worth it). It was almost the end of our trip to India so I was very gratefull for this little oasis in the middle of chaotic, but spectacular Varanasi.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianaPDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Right from the top with the duty manager Mr.Shukla to the bottom with the security personnel, I was totally impressed with the genuine friendliness, warmth and courtsey of the hotel staff. They really went out of their way to make my wife Saroj and me feel special and they completely succeeded. No request was too big for them to comply with. As it was my wife's birthday, I had brought a special bottle of South African wine to celebrate the occasion. While hotel regulations did not allow them to serve outside liquor at the restaurant, Mr. Shukla made available another room at no charge where we were able to enjoy our drink in peace with our friends who were visiting from Mirzapur. They also very kindly sent up a cake for Saroj courtsey the hotel to our room which we enjoyed after dinner in the GAD restaurant. And then finally when we asked for a very late check-out, Mr. Shukla gave us an entirely new room where we could have a shower and freshen up after we came back from our meetings and before we had to board the train. We were simply blown away by the level of hospitality extended to us - it is right at the top in terms of being a truly memorable hotel experience.

Room Tip: I followed the advice of other travellers on this forum and booked a room on a high floor and at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayoite74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Have been staying here for the past many years, and have practically stayed in every hotel in this area. Must say that this hotel beats all the others in the city by a big margin. The rooms are comparable to the best in the city, although must say that the carpet quality is not good on any of the floors. The food quality is superb and the staff is extremely nice. Also the amount of space this hotel has is amazing. No doubt the compound belongs to the Maharaja of Varanasi.

Room Tip: Try booking the executive floors for a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go-Jolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I booked the Hotel after seeing the rooms on the net.they were nowhere near what was on the net.I was shocked when I reached my floor and cane out of the lift.It was very poor the doors were from the 50 year old hotel re-painted in a very cheap white enamel paint.

I complained and they changed my room ,it was better than the previous one but nothing great.I also had a suite which they refused to change as they said all of them are the same and not renovated i was disappointed at this.!!

Staff is very good.Food is also good.The lobby is well done and looks recently renovated.Lawns are nice and big.

Room Tip: Recently renovated rooms may be executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suchit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
4.1 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
282 reviews
1.0 km away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
4.9 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 79 in Varanasi
1,431 reviews
0.7 km away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 79 in Varanasi
643 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi

Property: The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Address: Nadesar Palace Grounds | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India (Formerly Taj)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,262 - ₹ 10,140
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group-oriented mid-rise hotel centrally located on Raja Bazar Road at Nadesar Palace Grounds, on the banks of the Varuna River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, TravelGuru, MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing