We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family-run guest house a short walk away from the Ganga..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holy City Paying Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holy City Paying Guest House
Ranked #11 of 206 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good family-run guest house a short walk away from the Ganga..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

I must say that the rooms here are pretty basic but the family, led by Gopi, who run the guest house do what they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. All family members who we had dealings with were very helpful and friendly and made our four days stay at Subh Laxmi Guest House a comfortable one for the price that we paid. Gopi and his cousin Krishna were particularly helpful to us, including providing us with information about the surrounding area and the Ganges without being pushy. We found Gopi and his family/staff to be open and honest too. We had a room with TV and a bit of hot water (they offered us to have a shower in the next room when the geyser for our room was playing up). Based on the service they provided us and considering the price (we paid Rs 600/night), Subh Laxmi Guest House is worth giving a go.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side of the building can get a little loud in the evenings and early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    31
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
23
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

This guesthouse provides you with everything you need to experience varanasi. They have cheap, clean rooms and the superfriendly family, the owners, know all about the city. It's not easy to find the place, but it's close to a lot of interesting things to visit. They charge a correct price for tours and traintickets. They're rooftop is cosy and the food is cheap. It's all about respect and if so you can ask them anything. I had a great stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnSofieVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

On arrival in Varanasi we were hassled by touts, be careful when you arrive as they just get in the taxi with you! The hotel was very central Varanasi which is the most congested place we have ever visited. The hotel was though, very cheap and if that is what you need then this would be your place, but the rooms reflect this. The rooms was very noisy (despite the owners having plans to change this) and the sheets dirty. The room did have TV but only 1 english channel so not much use. The food on offer was basic and we found it quite expensive. They did have free internet on the roof and helped to book tours of the local area, though you may find them cheaper if you ask around. Overall great if you are backpacker, if not stay out of town which is much more serene.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
419 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Gupti and his family try very hard to make sure your stay is comfortable and you are well looked after.

the rooms are basic but we had a nice balcony where we could watch the street below. We did struggle to get much hot water from the shower but Gupti was always there to provide a bucket of hot water when we needed it. But if you weigh that against the price the guesthouse is still good value for money on this budget.

The guesthouse is in a good location for exploring the city and only 5minute walk from the Ganges. There is a rooftop restaurant which Gupti's wife prepares all the meals for and she does a great job.

Gupti's wife is a gem and is just lovely. It was great getting to spend some time with her and chatting whilst she did a beautiful henna on my hands.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Myself and a friend just stayed at the Subh Laxmi Guest House in Varanasi and had an absolute great time. The owners are very friendly and helpful with tours and good recommendations for buying high quality silk and not getting ripped off.

The rooms were clean and the food, served on the roof, was tasty and inexpensive.

The location is near the main ghat which is very convenient.

Highly recommended. If I return to Varanasi, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.5 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.1 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Banaras Paying Guest house
Banaras Paying Guest house
#3 of 206 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 km away
Kedar Guest House
Kedar Guest House
#4 of 213 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.4 km away
Somit Paying Guest House
Somit Paying Guest House
#10 of 206 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holy City Paying Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holy City Paying Guest House

Property: Holy City Paying Guest House
Address: B 30/232 | near Ravidas Park, Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 651 - ₹ 782
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a place to sleep...a place to rest your soul! No hotel, however grand, gives you the feel of home like this lovely heart of holy city bed and breakfast does. Centrally located in Varanasi city, our guest house is nearby ganga quiet, peaceful and secure environment. Basic amenities. Staying with the family will give you a unique local experience with the charm, warmth & intimacy of a private family guest house. One of our guests said that "the family is everything at Holy City Guest House has a touch of 'home' to it; offering elegant, affordable accommodation & warm hospitality with a quiet, relaxing and un-intruding atmosphere. Our constant endeavor is to make your stay in Varanasi, whether for tourism or business, as comfortable and memorable as possible. We wouldn't want it any other way; I think people who are looking for a more local experience, which is cheap and where you can enjoy home cooked meals may enjoy this stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Holy City Paying Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing