We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel on the Ghats - not widely known”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel on the Ghats - not widely known”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We were looking for a place to stay in Varanasi near the Ghats and booked this place on a website in the US. Afterwards our Indian relatives, who frequently travel to Varanasi, told us that we were being ripped off, because they only knew dumps near the Ghats. Therefore, on our drive from the airport to the hotel we were getting a bit anxious, but then we arrived at this oasis and immediately knew that this was the right place. Excellent service, morning yoga class, sunset boat ride on the Ganges (only 4 people in the boat), very good restaurant and live Indian music at night in the atrium all made this a very special experience. All the staff members were very friendly and helpful. Varanasi is a strange place with strong impressions and for us this hotel provided a safe and comfortable base for exploration. I would highly recommed staying here and not in the city center.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Golitsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    168
    54
    21
    9
See reviews for
73
239
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel is located strait on the ghat.

At the beginning you may not realize the superb location of the hotel, from which you can reach all the Ghats with the ceremonies, without the necessary of using the rickshaw (motor or bicycles) or any other transportation in the dusty polluted roads of Varanasi.

The service of the hotel GM and stuff is extra ordinary

The hotel is serving only vegetarian meals.

The only negative issue, is that the dinner price “a la carte” is expensive compared to good restaurants in town

I am warmly recommending staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed for two nights at the end of a month in India. The food at this hotel is some of the best we had during our month of traveling around. Really delicious, both breakfast and dinner. The service was excellent. We took a morning yoga class on the roof overlooking the Ganges and that was great. Strongly suggest getting a river view. You'll be very happy here.

Room Tip: Be sure to book river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

When we were planning our trip to Varanasi, choosing a place to stay was proving to be rather challenging. we wanted to stay on the river but did not want to trek through miles of narrow lanes or compromise on quality to be on the Ghats. I came across Surya Uday haveli by chance (eople managing the property should work on improving the web presence and visibility) - and from that point onwards it was an experience worth every minute of it.

Making a resevation by contacting their Bangalore office was not only easy, it was a pleasure. No question or request was too trivial or difficult for them.

Next we looked for a contact at the hotel to sort out our arrival details as we were arriving by an early morning train from Delhi. From the first phone call I made to Mr Kedar Ghosh I felt that I was visiting the home of an Indian friend or family rather than a hotel. On the morning of our arrival Mr Ghosh made it a point to be there personally (at 5 AM) to ensure that we had no difficulty in finding our car and we reached the hotel safely.

Our next surprise was meeting Mr Aman Bhandari (General Manager) at the hotel. It felt like he took it upon himself to ensure that we had an unforgettabe stay at the Haveli. Mr Bhandari, Mr Ghosh and Mr Arvind from the reception deserve all the praise for making the Haveli a very special place and a very rare experience.

Another person I must mention is Mr Shauqat (?) the Captain at the Restaurant. His approach to service personalised Indian Hospitality for us. The excellent food prepared by the Maharaj and the ambience in the evening with live music by Mr Babloo and his team of classical instrumetalists are unforgettable.

Then there are the other staff at the haveli whose names I do not know or remember. We are grateful to all of them for making our stay in Varanasi an experience to remember and cherish for a long time. The drivers who took us to places and a very special friend we made in "Bachcha Yadav" added to the experience. We hope to return to The Haveli and are keen to explore other properties managed by the group.

THANK YOU.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Ground Level facing the River - Rooms 102 and 103 are particularly good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indian_Nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed two nights at this authentically restored haveli at the Shivala Ghat on the banks of the Ganges: great rooms with a view and excellent shower, fresh towels in daytime, slippers, fruit and water, preparing your bed in the evening, wonderful music at dinnertime in the courtyard (but the rather small portions of food are overprized for this category hotel), yoga at rooftop, a free boattrip on the Ganges, and last but not least: the warmest welcome and the feeling of being looked after by the whole staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.1 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
4.9 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
5.4 km away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges
1.5 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort

Property: Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Address: Shivala Ghat B - 4/25, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,095 - ₹ 16,383
Hotel Class:3 star — Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suryauday Haveli on Shivala Ghats is a reflection of the spirit of the holy city of Benaras. The Haveli traces its history back to the early 20th century. It was built by the Royal Family of Nepal as a retreat for the aged. Its now been painstakingly put together again to provide the best ghat experience in Benaras. Your stay begins with a 15 minute boat ride upstream along the famous ghats of Benaras to reach the Haveli. The Haveli is also connected by small alleys and streets leading to the Famous Kashi Vishwanath Temple (15 minutes walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Yatra, HotelQuickly, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing