We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for students”
Review of Hotel Ganesha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ganesha
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in Varanasi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for students”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Quiet, clean and cheap, this was ideal for us (7 students). Away from the main ghats, it is situated at the very last/first ghat which we greatly preferred as it was very crowded near the main ghats. Free wifi (if u have a laptop, iPhone etc) or pay to use the computer and Internet.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidr2873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyJaiswal, Director of Sales at Hotel Ganesha, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thanks for the very truthful review. our main aim is to provide our guests A very Clean , very peaceful and a very secure environment with very low rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    76
    35
    14
    12
See reviews for
23
50
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The rooms are very clean and with a good bathroom. The location is great, and the staff staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nis555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed only one night since we were coming back to Delhi the next day. I loved the room, its size was fine, with AC and TV and the furniture was comfortable enough, though the bed could be considered a little hard for some but for me it was fine. The place was very clean and the staff was really helpful and friendly, even when I woke them up at 5 am to see the Ganges early in the morning. Besides, it has a good location, you can find new-stands and grocery stores right on the corner. 100% recommendable

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anabeatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Our small group had been staying down at Meer Ghat for our stay in Varanasi and then attempted to leave by an overnight train...until we saw once we got to the station that the train was 17+ hours late. Not fond of the idea of staying on the concrete all night and morning, we hightailed it back to Varanasi in hopes of finding Somewhere to rest our heads at close to midnight. Hotel after hotel was closed, booked, price gouging us... until we found Hotel Ganesha. It looked SO beautiful from the outside that everyone else had their doubts it would work out---but I knew Ganesh wouldn't let us down! Turns out we were one of the first guests there (I think).
It looked like a little boutique hotel you'd find in San Francisco, not Varanasi. It was adorable, and the rooms were a welcome relief; clean, comfortable, cute. The sparkling bathroom was also comforting.
The unfortunate part is that we were woken up at 5 a.m. by our newfound cab driver friend, telling us the train was coming, so we had to get all of our stuff & go. (Turns out, we had another 7+ hours to go!). I truly wish we had been able to spend more time at Hotel Ganesh because it seemed like a very cool place. All I know is, it saved us in our tired, slightly-freaked-out hour of need. Thanks, Hotel Ganesh!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank QiDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed a couple of more or less pleasant nights at Hotel Ganesha - but you're time is better of searching for another hotel in the same area! Assi Ghat is fantastic.
We used the computer of hostel quiet a lot of times to search flights, facebook ect. While using the internet the computer broke down sometimes (India, you know), but we discovered later on that the staff had abused the loged-on facebook site to 'like' their own hotel - while we were still staying there! Further on the staff is nice - but the manager gets pushy, angry and condescending if you are not following exactly his advise. It's not worth you're time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 020890cbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 76 in Varanasi
1,175 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel Gupta Inn
Hotel Gupta Inn
#30 of 76 in Varanasi
91 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Sonmony
Hotel Sonmony
#57 of 76 in Varanasi
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#19 of 76 in Varanasi
426 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#12 of 76 in Varanasi
512 reviews
2.4 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 76 in Varanasi
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganesha? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganesha

Property: Hotel Ganesha
Address: Assi B1/48 | Opp-Abhay Cinema, Varanasi 221005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 708 - ₹ 1,674
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ganesha 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ganesha is situated at a strategic location in Varanasi. Its convenient location, only 1 kilometers from the city center, makes Hotel Ganesha a perfect base to explore the holy city of Varanasi. Besides, the budget hotel offers modern amenities and services. 200 Meters From The Famous Assi Ghat, 500 Meters From The Banaras Hindu University (B.H.U), 1KM From The Dashaswamedh Ghat (Main Ghat), 5Km From The Varanasi Railway Station & 20Km From Airport. This Is a Very New Build Hotel with The Main Aim Of giving our guests cleaner & peaceful environment. With center of all important tourist location and The Beautiful "Assi ghat". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Yatra, HostelWorld, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Ganesha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing