We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Less than Adequate hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel New Temples Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel New Temples Town
Ranked #136 of 202 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Less than Adequate hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My family (spouse and children ages 12 and 13 years old) just recently stayed at this hotel and agree with many of the reviews that the beds are hard (however this is normal in Indian homes). We were visiting India our third trip, this hotel was booked by my uncle who lives in Varanasi. We were tired of staying with relatives. We had two rooms both were the same on the 4th floor. The hotel has bare amenities thus not up to standards for anyone from North America. Breakfast was included. The coffee and OJ were horrible and they can't even get the Indian chai to Varanasi standard. We also had most of our clothes dry cleaned, beware that it does comes back with more stains and a smoky smell, but its cheap. I hope that the hotel management reads this review and uses to improve. It does have a good location, its right beside a Wester Union that offers the best rate in town. There is also good gift shop beside it which has nice Indain souvieneurs. This is an okay hotel for backpackers, its a step up from youth hostels but thats it!!!!

Room Tip: Try to book rooms that are higher. Also rooms with big windows are noiser (dogs barking late night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    15
    17
    19
See reviews for
9
27
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Unfriendly service, over charge for everything with no reason and the worst bed I have ever slept on!
The location was pretty good, but thats about it - not recommended!

Room Tip: Do not pay for extra services like WiFi and bottled water - insist on it! they charge enough as it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liat_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We had a decent room with a large window. Our beds were like sleeping on granite stones though but the the room was clean.

Our train was delayed due to heavy fog so we were able to check in again and stay half the night at half the price. Unfortunately our train was delayed further so we ended up staying the whole night at full price but it was nice of them to allow us to stay half a night for cheaper even though ended up needing to stay the full night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPeterandMrLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Of 12 Indian hotels I stayed in, this was one of the bottom two or three. The room was small, dark, and windowless, and the beds were uncomfortable. The lobby and reception area are nice and shiny, but once you get upstairs everything is shabby and worn out. The carpet in the hallways should have been replaced at least five years ago, and it looks as if it's been ten years since it was last cleaned.

The food was below average to poor as well, and the restaurant staff didn't know their jobs.

The front desk service was adequate, but the rooms were overpriced.

I wouldn't stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesP723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

best services ever i get in temple town, while my visit to varanasi. Their services were excelent. and best part is that it is very near to all the tourist attractions of varanasi.

best services ever i get in temple town, while my visit to varanasi. Their services were excelent. and best part is that it is very near to all the tourist attractions of varanasi.

Sagar

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagarverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Park Plaza
Hotel Park Plaza
#45 of 75 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.4 km away
Hotel Meraden Grand
Hotel Meraden Grand
#33 of 75 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Clarks Varanasi
Hotel Clarks Varanasi
#32 of 75 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Madin
Hotel Madin
#18 of 75 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.5 km away
Sarin Inn Boutique Hotel
Sarin Inn Boutique Hotel
#141 of 202 in Varanasi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Temples Town? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Temples Town

Property: Hotel New Temples Town
Address: 53 Patel Nagar | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,276 - ₹ 4,845
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Temples Town 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, OYO Rooms, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Hotel New Temples Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing