We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best tea”
Review of Filocafe

Filocafe
Ranked #8 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Varanasi
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 3
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
noida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best tea”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I love the tea and the view. Very cheap too so refresh yourself.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank puprash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Filocafe - a must to visit in Varanasi”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed at the Kautilya Society and can only confirm that this cafe on the rooftop of the guesthouse is an ideal place to relax and have some interesting conversations on any topic. One thing very difficult is to choose between the options of ordering an excellent coffee from the from Italy imported coffee machine, or ordering one of the delicious selfmade juices. You can make out that the owner of this cafe has put a lot of effort in this place to make it so unique. Even when you are not staying at Kautilya Society visiting this cafe is almost a must during your visit to Varanasi.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IlDek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Can still smell the coffee”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Great french press coffee and yummy cookies. Cool location with an interesting view, just bring the insect spray if you are up here after 5pm. Not open on Mondays. Good place to come for a caffeine fix or if you need a late afternoon snack.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleCurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A truly Enlightening experience in Varanasi”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I am a resident in Varanasi and have been going to Filo Cafe for the past 2 years. To all the travelers and those living in the city, I would like to say that this is a unique place to visit. Its uniqueness is not only in being a place with the most variety of coffee's and teas in Varanasi, but at the same time the purpose behind opening such a space is totally different to anything you might have experienced.
At first you might be taken aback at being offered a membership for having coffee at a cafe', but what needs to be understood is that this is actually a community cafe', the concept is that Kautilya Society wanted to create a space where persons of different cultures and backgrounds can get together and participate in a dialogue where one can learn from others on any topic one likes... being in the holy city of Banaras, the topics usually range from philosophy to art, music and culture.
The many times I have been there have been really eye opening in terms of getting to know the different perspectives with which one can see the world and the diversity of humanity that exists. Usually the conversations last till closing time and really good bonds of friendship are made. I can say that every visit makes me feel really good not only because of the amazing coffee or the beautiful environment, but also the experience of learning something new and getting to share my own understanding, which is truly the best feeling there is.
Again, becoming a member helps as one is sure that it is comparatively safer to become friendly with someone one meets for the first time there,
My advice to all in Varanasi and travelers passing through, do make sure to visit the cafe' and while there, relax and make friends and ask questions about the city and the culture, It will surely take your experience to another level.
I wish all the luck and success to the team that brought this great idea to life!
With a very BIG Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank vargha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awsome!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The cafe is one place for me in varanasi where I can relax an have a good time outside my house!!! The only complaint I have is that outside food is not allowed :P keep it going, I'm loving this place :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChhotiKachori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Filocafe also viewed

Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 
Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 
Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 

Been to Filocafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing