We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but overrated”
Review of Vaatika Cafe

Vaatika Cafe
Ranked #26 of 241 Restaurants in Varanasi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, but overrated”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Had a pizza hear. Great location (as we were staying next door at the Ganges View) and decent pizza - not worth all the hype, but a decent pizza.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregoire1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    140
    46
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Incredible!!! Highly recommended !!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The restaurant had very good food, very good thin crust pizza, tasty vegetarian lasagna, incredible vegetarian ravioli. The food tastes fresh and flavorful. And it is very reasonably priced.

The atmosphere is really nice, with a nice view and welcoming tables. It was always full whenever I went, one did have to wait a short while for a table to become available, but staff handled this well, maintaining western decorum and ensuring everyone was happy, rightfully seated and as quickly as possible.

Staff were also very helpful, speaking English well. They were very obliging when we asked if we could get take away food too. Service was quick and without mistakes, even with big complicated orders.

Really good food, really good service and really good vibe!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Tx USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Atmosphere is congenial. Nice location on the Ganges. Wait staff good. Pizza poor by western standards. The worst I've eaten in several years though I ordered extra cheese and even tried the ketchup to give it some flavor. If you like pizza order something else.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AcclaimTalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great pizza crusts”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The pizzas here are quite good considering there is no meat on them. I had one with eggplant and, I think, mushrooms, which was quite delicious. And the crusts are always good and crispy. No alcohol, of course, but delicious blends (smoothies?) of fresh fruit, e.g., pineapple. And the apple pie is quite good.

Anecdote: I accidentally left my vest (with my wallet and passport) on the back of my chair when we left. When I came back an hour later, the waiter had found it and everything was still intact. So they honest too!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joneall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VARANASI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and apple pie, very good atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Popularly known as Pizzeria, here you will get exellent thin crust pizzas coming out from a huge a clay oven. The restaurant is alfresco outside dining and lots of greenry around. But for pizzas and apple pie of such wonderful quality, you can take a risk of bird`s drop as well. Very reasonably priced, Pizzas between 100 to 170 rupees. Their pineapple and mix veg pizza is worth a try. Even, their noodle soup is also good with portion size of two. Do not try garlic bread,they are normal bread slices,Pastas are also ok type and can be tried. The menu also is having Indian and chinese options. Indian is good but chinese is like good in taste but with indian taste. Their apple pie is one of the best i ever had. They do not serve non veg and alcohol but they do have clausthaler,non alcoholic German Beer.

They have no provision for wash room and a temporary one is not like for humans. But, the place gives good value for money and atmosphere is also very pleasant. A recommendable place to dine.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kuldeep_kumar312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vaatika Cafe also viewed

Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 
Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 
Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 

Been to Vaatika Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing