We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
7
32
38
22
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
32
38
22
40
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Not easy to find. some rooms have great view.
Mr. Sheva sent a driver to pick me up. After paid high fee for transfer, his staff didn't show up. Then driver took us walked very long to the hotel with very heavy luggage. That was a terrible experience!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RettyHsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We chose a deluxe room,but it was small and full of unimportant things like a/c,fridge and tv.Blankets were dirty and stinked.
Nice food in the roof restaurant and nice staff.
Free pick up from the train station.
Gopal was helpful,but you have to know that he we'll send you to a silk family shop.
Nice location close to the ghats.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripfrancesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

One of the 2 extraordinary hotel experiences I had in India. It was very fun to make friends with Shiva and get to know some of his family who run nearby businesses. He was incredibly helpful and took a lot of time to make sure I was doing everything I wanted to be doing.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
Thank pbarry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Pro's
The location of the hotel - on the ghats overlooking the river if you get the top floor rooms
Free train pickup (if organised in advance) and breakfast included in the price
Hot water - when electricty and if you can jiggle the hot water tap to work
Airconditioning
Roof top terrace and cafe (though we didn't eat the food except for breakfast)

Con's
the manager takes a comission on any travel/boat bookings you make from the front desk - you will get quoted 100 per person for a boat cruise/hour instead of the proper 100 per hour/per boat to factor in his commission- so we were quoted 400 for a 2 hours trip for 2 people instead of 200 to factor in his comission - go directly to the boat people ont he river docks (and the rickshaw drivers for other day trips) so you don't get ripped off
Expensive perhaps for what you get in the room (you are paying for the location not the room quality so a bit expensive

Would recommend the hotel to a friend if they don't take the boat cruises offered by the manager and don't mind paying for a budget place with a good location

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdbkathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Rooms and very simple and unfortunately, fairly dirty and dusty. I have asthma and this is the first placeI have stayed where I woke up wheezing. Facilties very basic, which I expected but it would have been good to see cleanliness. Food in rooftop restaurant tasted stale and the kitchen looked very grimy. OK but nothing to write home about and I would only recommend for the location.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NekoZombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews