We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Assi Ghat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sahi River View Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 220 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Taxi from airport dropped us around corner and finding the place was a bit difficult as it was up an alley, under part of the building, up some rather daunting stairs - but once inside it was fine - charming chap on desk - nice clean but basic room - beds and bedding great - bathroom clean - verrandah outside our room with 3 tables and chairs for eating complimentary breakfast overlooking the River Ganges. Really nice place - very easy to get to Ghats and into the streets to find eating places etc.

Room Tip: Room with view overlooking Ganges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gerryivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2016

Sahi River View felt like a calm oasis in an exciting city. Clean and comfortable with an attentive staff. Several sitting areas provided good nooks to sit and read or relax after exploring city. Great location for walking (or boating) anywhere. Only drawback was morning yoga on the Ghat, amplified for the whole neighborhood to hear. I would recommend this Guesthouse!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This place is well-located right off Assi Ghat, but the otherwise basic accommodations are too expensive at 900 rupees per night. We could justify the cost somewhat upon staff assurances that breakfast was included -- unfortunately, not until the bill arrived did staff specify that "complimentary breakfast" refers to just plain toast and jam, not the bulk of the items on the breakfast menu. The advertised "hot shower" is also an overstatement, seeing how there is no showerhead in the bathroom, only a bucket. Yes, the water is hot -- sometimes too hot even -- but the lack of working temperature controls means you won't be able to adjust the temperature. Wifi is included, though the signal is hit-and-miss, and each time the signal drops you have to enter a complicated password to get back online. Agreed with the other reviews that staff is very nice, but still nobody has been by to clean our room, even after five days, and this place would do with a serious tidying up. Next time we visit Varanasi, we'll look for a place with a more realistic pricing structure. We don't mind paying more for good value, but Sahi River View left my fiance and I with the feeling that we'd just been ripped off.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Swannie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

A little expensive but very helpful staff, clean rooms, and fantastic location. Very close to Assi Ghat. Staff are very attentive. I'd recommend it. We had an enjoyable stay. The rooms had lots of windows which I like.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Naama G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Located next to assi ghat, in a very quite place. The rooms are clean and the owners are very nice. Will assist at everything.
They have rooms with Ac although it's not a must. The Ac is very loud so you can't sleep with it anyway.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Regev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.4 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,127 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#11 of 79 in Varanasi
275 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 79 in Varanasi
262 reviews
2.3 km away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
0.9 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahi River View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahi River View Guesthouse

Address: B - 1/158 a 2 | Assi-Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range: ₹ 250 - ₹ 1,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Sahi River View Guesthouse Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing