We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An Oasis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Buddha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Buddha
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

A little bit away from the main drag but a little haven. We arrived tired and travel worn, but we were able to check in after our train journey in the early hours and take breakfast which was welcome after there had been no service available on the train. Do take the chance to ring them for a taxi if you can from Mughalsarai as there is a bit of hassle from the station. The hotel was very clean, service was excellent. It is a quiet spot overlooking a garden with lots of flaura and fauna, including monkeys and chipmonks in the morning,. The patron/manager was always on hand to make sure staff were attentive,polite and the hotel's guide, Chintu is a local who has an inside look at the city if you avail his services and you will get an insight to local life and less hassle.

Room Tip: Going to see silk merchants a bore
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn_phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, General Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Phillips,

Thankyou for your reviews!!

It was a great pleasure reading your experiences here.

Apologies for all the blunders, and appreciation for all the compliments.

Warm Regards,

Soumya Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    173
    88
    31
    17
See reviews for
171
96
41
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

As far as acommodation in the 1300-1500ruppe range in Varanasi goes, this was acceptable. The staff were excellent, the bathroom was very clean, however there was no hot water as advertised. The bed was comfortable, but the sheets and blanket could have been cleaner. The floor is unpolished marble which always has a dusty feel. The curtains and chairs are grungy. There is air con, however even ear plugs cannot dull the noise. We choose to sleep with the fan only. There are frequent power cuts but they do have a generator, which was outside our window! The included breakfast is average. Location is quiet and a 50rupee trip to the ghats. I would probably spend more and stay elsewhere should I return to Varanasi.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NollaigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, General Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Nollaig,

Thankyou very much for your reviews. Your reviews are most valuable to us.

I apologize for your complains and trying to recover on all of your points.

I'm sure the next time you visit Varanasi, we will be all set new making sure you have no such repeated complains.

We welcome you again in our holy city Varanasi


Warm Regards,

Soumya Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
389 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights here paid £18.50ukp for double AC room B&B. Had TV with 199 channels. Booked Agoda and emails were great. Check-in smooth and professional - hotel 580Rp from airport by fixed price taxi - security guy/concierge was a star. Room spacious with sparklingly clean bathroom (unusual in India!!) and coooooool AC and loads of space. Clean sheets/towels and cleaned room (properly) daily. Breakfast was Indian buffet - tasty and with some variety. Meals and drinks were fine in the clean restaurant. Staff helpful not pushy. Near to trikes/tuktuks for Ghats etc.. (40-50Rp) and 10 mins. Fast reliable WiFi for free too. Tour guy was helpful and not pushy either. Great quiet nights sleep. Cannot fault for a midrange hotel.A really nice stay - HIGHLY Recommended! p.s Ghats are OK (and cheap/easy) to visit - BUT staying there has many issues......

Room Tip: Any ! All seemed OK - we got to choose ours 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank sherylpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Hotel Buddha,The Management at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Hotel Buddha. We thank you for your comments and we appreciate you taking the time to write to us. We look forward to welcoming you back again and to providing with the very best of our hospitality.


Hotel Buddha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

The Hotel Buddha had exceptionally helpful staff and really comfortable large rooms which were spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also excellent. We managed to get a balcony - it's hard to find windows that open in Indian city hotels so a balcony was a real luxury. Yes you need to hire a rickshaw down to the ghats, but that costs hardly anything. If you want a nice hotel to stay in at a reasonable price then I'd opt for this hotel rather than one directly on the ghats where you might get the view but very little else. We tried both and this hotel won.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank maw285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Hotel Buddha,The Management at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Maw285

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and it is gratifying when one of our guests takes the time to let us know of their satisfaction. We will certainly pass along your comments to our colleagues who will be delighted to find that their efforts were appreciated.

We look forward to being giving us the opportunity to serve you again and to provide you with the very best of our Hotel Buddha hospitality.


Hotel buddha team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Not sure what this building was before it was a hotel, but it is very cold. Also do not stay way out here. Be on the ghats.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Hotel Buddha,The management at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear Kelehb

Thank you for having taken the time to post your review on TripAdvisor we are disappointed to read that your expectations were not met and that there were certain part of your stay that gave cause to less positive comments and If was there in problem in our service then We apologies for all the blunders and inconvenience you had to face.Be assured that we have already shared your comments with the team.



Hotel Buddha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.0 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#7 of 75 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
2.2 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 75 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.1 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Janki International
Hotel Janki International
#10 of 75 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
#13 of 75 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
2.6 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 75 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buddha? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buddha

Property: Hotel Buddha
Address: C-26/35 Ramkatora Lahurabir | Near Lahurabir Crossing, Behind Lahurabir Petrol Pump, Varanasi 221001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Varanasi
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,683 - ₹ 5,098
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buddha 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Varanasi, the hotel offers variety of luxurious rooms and suites for a comfortable stay. We serve a range of cuisine and provide our guests with an exclusive travel desk to design exciting tour plans. The facilities and quality of service we deliver makes us an equivalent to a 3 star hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Hotel Buddha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing