We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Shabby Palace”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Simla Palace

Hotel Simla Palace
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Simla Palace
Ranked #48 of 81 Hotels in Lucknow
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Shabby Palace”
Reviewed 12 January 2011

My wife and myself stayed in this so called Palace in early November 2010. The hotel IS near the railway station and in a very busy commercial area. The hotel did arrange a pick up which was on time. This is a "budget" hotel so we were not expecting 5 star. The good points of the hotel was that the staff were helpful and the front of the hotel was clean. There is a taxi service available at a reasonable price. There is also a restaurant at the side of the Hotel which only serves vegetarian food. This food was very good and tasty and not expensive. BUT the hotel could do with a damn good clean. 1)Our room, at the front of the hotel, was relatively quiet but shabby and down right dirty. The dark blue carpet should have been light blue. No wonder the bottoms of our feet were always black.The carpet needs a good scrubbing with soap and water. 2)The menu card for the restaurant was torn and tatty not inspiring confidence in the cleanliness of the restaurant below. 3)One of the staff asked for a tip on ALL occasions he saw us even if he opened a door for us his hand automatically went out then complained that any tip was "Not enough". 4)but by far the most off putting issue about this hotel was the open lift shaft which was nearly completely covered with orange "spit" deposit presumably from the discussing Indian habit of chewing tobacco then spitting out the residue.
If these four issues are addressed and acted on and the lift shaft cleaned and painted then The Simla Place MIGHT be more attractive to western visitors .

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dezzagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
4
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

1) Service: the check in took me ages. i had a confirmed booking made a while back, yet when i reached i was told my room was being prepared and would take half an hour. when i requested for another room to freshen up, i was told there was no other room. room service is horrible - food takes ages to come, and wet towels are left on your bed to dry.

2) Room: the rooms are really small - as soon as you enter, you can walk in a single file around your bed and thats it!! the air conditioning is really loud as well!

3) Location: near the railway station, pretty accessible, however Lucknow's not a huge city.

4) Food: Hotel food is strictly okay, and i generally eat out as there are many other restaurants which are famous for their kebabs and biryanis.

5) Overall experience: probably the worst hotel i have stayed at... would never go back there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashishmedhora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucknow hotels

mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

we had a very plesant &memorable stay for 4 days.Calm surrounding,pollution free atmosphere, excellent natural scenary can be viewed.The place is really beautiful and the view is breathtaking. Above all, the hospitality offered is something to be cherished forever. The food is homely and the service is excellent.Its really awesome and pleasant hotel.its a good place for honey moon .The place where this hotel is located is good connection to railway station. Overall it is a good and wonderful experience for me staying in this hotel.I would definitely love to go back again more.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SATISHKUMAR812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I was here for 4 days and I completely loved this hotel for its simple yet impressive service. The rooms were very clean and the bed sheets etc were well laundered. The staff was very polite and friendly especially the manager. I would definitely love to go back again

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sajanjiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurukshetra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

my stay at this hotel was a very good experience. Main thing that counts it the location of the hotel, it is very near to the Railway Station so its very convenient to reach this place. The food quality is good. No non-vegetarian food served but that not a big problem. Overall satisfied with the quality and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamratBaweja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Arjun International
Hotel Arjun International
#33 of 81 in Lucknow
5 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel SSJ International
Hotel SSJ International
#53 of 81 in Lucknow
29 reviews
0.2 km away
DIDI International Hotel
DIDI International Hotel
#41 of 81 in Lucknow
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#20 of 81 in Lucknow
53 reviews
0.6 km away
Mohan Hotel
Mohan Hotel
#32 of 81 in Lucknow
95 reviews
3.6 km away
Executive
Executive
#47 of 81 in Lucknow
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simla Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simla Palace

Property: Hotel Simla Palace
Address: 5 Hotel Simla Palace Gautam Budh Marg | Latouche Road, Lucknow 226001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 81 Hotels in Lucknow
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,166 - ₹ 2,073
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Simla Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SHIMLA PALACE is located in the heart of capital city, Uttar Pradesh in close proximity to Lucknow Railway Station, committed to best, personalized hospitalities at very affordable price. Accessibility: *1 km. from Lucknow Railway Station *13 km. from Lucknow Airport *11 km from Aminabad *2.5 km. from Hazratganj *2 Minutes walk from biggest chicken cloth market of Asia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Simla Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing