We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Of Exellence...!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Lucknow
Certificate of Excellence
Barabanki, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Of Exellence...!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I love my city Lucknow from my deep heart one day I gotne in vivanta by taj in gomtinagar Lucknow, and the services are excellent. You can view river tmn the top floor , best cafeteria, best spa meditation, resting and all thing have already available. Noo want to go out.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms having riverside display.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohsinbbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    303
    71
    30
    7
See reviews for
138
130
63
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

It was the biggest disappointment of my life. Had a Suite with my wife. The bathroom was leaky, water all over the floor. Did not get a single night's sleep with noise from adjoining room and from all sides. Complaints made but no result. Service was average. Food was probably worse then a Dhaba, or road side restaurant. Management promised to deal with the noise, no result. It must be lucky ones who loved the place, or drunk at night.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for noise free room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanzie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This was our 14th hotel in 30 days. Vivanta by Taj at Gomti Nagar is in the top order of hotels, providing excellent staff (professional, polite and friendly), quality food and pleasant grounds, including a large pool.
Initial impressions of the hotel were not 100% positive. The foyer is sparse, almost barren, and not typical of the decor of a Taj hotel. There appeared to be few guests and there was a vacant shop in the foyer that had obviously not been used for some time (later informed this had been a gift/book shop). These initial impressions did not fill us with a huge amount of confidence.
Check-in was smooth and we were provided with a room up-grade, which we declined as the poolside room was a smoker's room and smelt like an ashtray. We settled for a garden view room: adequate luggage storage, desk and two seater couch (some rooms only have a single armchair). The rooms (we saw half a dozen and looked closely at three) are of varying quality: apart from the bedroom furniture, some had not yet enjoyed a make over. Our room for five days was quite comfortable. My niggle here (as in lots of hotels) is having to pay for an internet connection at an extortionate price. We requested a package price for our five day stay but were informed they only offered a seven day package - end of conversation. The bathroom was very good. The shower was powerful with hot water.
Food was of excellent quality. We eat Indian food so I cannot comment on other styles, other than to say there were a number of choices available. The Indian food was tasty and we asked for it spicy (not vindaloo hot). Breakfast was buffet with the usual (included) additions of dosas and "live egg counter". An evening buffet was also available but we ordered ala carte. When we sort food, local specialties, not mentioned on the menu, the staff were helpful in arranging with the kitchen, either for what we had asked or something similar. (To do this we chose times when the restaurant was not busy.)
We used the travel services provided by the hotel. This was a painless option. The car provided was excellent and the driver very good (we knew exactly what we wanted to see) though he had limited English.
Overall, I rate this hotel as one of the best we stayed-in during our five weeks on the road in India - the quality of their service standards exceeded that of The Imperial, Delhi. The highlight of our stay was the wonderful indian food and hotel staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we felt like part of the family after a few days.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doingittough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tibshelf, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Set in beautiful grounds the Vivanta by Taj is a relaxing haven. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable and the hotel is very quiet and peaceful. The levels of service were almost universally good.

The food and drink experience was very disappointing. The all day diner was frankly, awful. I really fancied something other than Indian food so I had a burger. Big mistake! Dry as a bone. Not at all pleasant.

In the evening we went to the specialist Indian restaurant in the hotel. We had been recommended to try the kebabs, which we did, and they were very nice. However, be very careful if you fancy a gin & tonic. My wife ordered one, which was OK, but the surprise came when we asked for the bill. We had been charged 1000 Rupees (about £12.50) for the gin and a few hundred more for the tonic. They claimed it was Bombay Saphire gin which is indeed 1000 rupees on the menu, but I suspect it was more than likely the local hooch which is much cheaper. Although several different gins were available at varying prices we were not asked which we wanted or even made aware of the options, and of course we only discovered what had happened when the bill arrived.

We did complain to the manager sometime later, and to be fair, he did give my wife a free G&T, but we still felt that this was a scam. It certainly damaged our trust in the hotel. As I said previously, the hotel was very quiet, very few guests so perhaps they were just trying to maximise the take per guest!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We booked a room overlooking the pool (much to cold to go in on our visit) It was clean and up to what you would expect from a Taj Hotel. The downside, as in many Hotels are the usual door slamming from other guests, to what appeared to me to be perfectly good lock and hinge arrangements.
There are well tended and peaceful grounds to walk around. The staff are polite and helpful.
If you go out on foot from the front of the Hotel about 100 metres to the right there is a small shopping complex and on the third floor is a good branch of the "China Nation" restaurant chain. From the airport it is 500rps by prepaid taxi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony_cass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
3.9 km away
Fairfield by Marriott Lucknow
0.3 km away
Renaissance Lucknow Hotel
4.0 km away
Hotel Clarks Avadh
Hotel Clarks Avadh
#4 of 80 in Lucknow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Golden Tulip Lucknow
Golden Tulip Lucknow
#10 of 80 in Lucknow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.1 km away
La Place Sarovar Portico, Lucknow
2.9 km away
Hotel Levana
Hotel Levana
#8 of 80 in Lucknow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow
Address: Vipin Khand, Lucknow 226010, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucknow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucknow
#1 Spa Hotel in Lucknow
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,901 - ₹ 14,267
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a new wow in Uttar Pradesh's capital city. Just 8 km from the railway terminus and a mere 20 km from the airport. On the banks of the river Gomti. Right in the heart of Lucknow's business and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Agoda so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow Hotel Lucknow
Taj Residency Lucknow
Hotel Taj Residency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing