We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but OK ...”
Review of Hotel Sidhartha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sidhartha
Ranked #29 of 145 Hotels in Agra
South Sjælland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic but OK ...”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The price is right and online reservations easy to use and dependable. Location for the Taj Mahal, riverbank, and suburb Agra perfect. And the position in the trafficbanned zone makes it a much more calm place to stay and sleep. Rooms are totally basic and fairly clean, we had no pipes for hot water but had buckets brougt to the room at our request and no additional cost. Hotel manegement were helpfull in every way. Take things "the indian way" and you will enjoy your stay ... and you will most definately enjoy the low price. We stayed for two nights with no hazzle or problems.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlafRise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    213
    108
    35
    39
See reviews for
77
195
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

For location Hotel Sidhartha is premium located about a minute from the western gate of the Taj Mahal. The staff are friendly and engaging, the in restaurant has a diverse menu and is highly recommended. The rooms themselves are clean but incredibly basic, don't expect too much from them, however if it's only for a night or two they are acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank As2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

While the location was great, we were extremely disappointed by the hotel. I made reservations online and paid 600rs per night for two nights, which is higher than what others seem to have paid. definitely do not stay in room 104.

I didnt opt for an A/C room because the weather didnt warrant it, but the windows to our room didn't shut properly, and the bathroom didn't have a glass window (just a piece of plywood with holes cut in it), so our room was full of mosquitos, and was extremely noisy, as it faced the street. All night we were kept up by music, the sound of the mosque, people on the street, and barking dogs (thats WITH earplugs). There was also no hot water in the shower, so the hotel brought buckets of hot water to our room. This wouldn't have been too big a deal at a cheaper place, but I wish I'd known when I made my reservation.

I guess the room was reasonably clean, and the mattress was comfortable. We didn't eat at the restaurant.

Having never been to Agra before, we thought it would be nice to be do close to the Taj so we could get up early and see it. Pretty much all of the hotels in the area are only a few minutes' walk away. Stay somewhere else. We ate at Lucky Guest House, and the manager told us he had a large AC room with wifi, a big TV, and hot shower for 600rs. Wish I'd shopped around.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Procrastinasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Good value for money. We stayed two nights. Excellent hot water in the AC room. Blankets on the bed needed a good clean. Floor was dusty.
We didn't try the food as we ate out at various places.
The owner/manager is a fun friendly & caring man, who speaks very good English.
Don't use the Internet next door, they quoted a crazy price. Much cheaper places around the corner, & there is free wifi at some restaurants too!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amoslandrybasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I was in due to be in Agra this last weekend ( 25-26th Feb 2012)and was looking for a budget hotel.Booked this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, what looked promising was its proximity to Taj Mahal's western gate, and its decent rooms at reasonable prices. I got exactly what i expected when i got there, I had booked a non-AC room as it is still relatively cool during this part of the year. I think anyone looking for a budget hotel should not definitely look at Hotel Sidhartha as one of the options.

Room Tip: 1.Dont be too excited about the roof top restaurants, monkeys will always keep u away from eating th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank praky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.6 km away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#22 of 145 in Agra
564 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#82 of 145 in Agra
375 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#40 of 145 in Agra
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#90 of 145 in Agra
580 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#31 of 145 in Agra
138 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#68 of 145 in Agra
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sidhartha? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sidhartha

Property: Hotel Sidhartha
Address: Western Gate, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Agra
Price range (per night): ₹ 646 - ₹ 904
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sidhartha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, ClearTrip, OYO Rooms and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sidhartha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidhartha Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing