We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless location and staff, spartan rooms”
Review of Hotel Sidhartha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sidhartha
Ranked #31 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 4 March 2012

For location Hotel Sidhartha is premium located about a minute from the western gate of the Taj Mahal. The staff are friendly and engaging, the in restaurant has a diverse menu and is highly recommended. The rooms themselves are clean but incredibly basic, don't expect too much from them, however if it's only for a night or two they are acceptable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank As2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 339 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

While the location was great, we were extremely disappointed by the hotel. I made reservations online and paid 600rs per night for two nights, which is higher than what others seem to have paid. definitely do not stay in room 104.

I didnt opt for an A/C room because the weather didnt warrant it, but the windows to our room didn't shut properly, and the bathroom didn't have a glass window (just a piece of plywood with holes cut in it), so our room was full of mosquitos, and was extremely noisy, as it faced the street. All night we were kept up by music, the sound of the mosque, people on the street, and barking dogs (thats WITH earplugs). There was also no hot water in the shower, so the hotel brought buckets of hot water to our room. This wouldn't have been too big a deal at a cheaper place, but I wish I'd known when I made my reservation.

I guess the room was reasonably clean, and the mattress was comfortable. We didn't eat at the restaurant.

Having never been to Agra before, we thought it would be nice to be do close to the Taj so we could get up early and see it. Pretty much all of the hotels in the area are only a few minutes' walk away. Stay somewhere else. We ate at Lucky Guest House, and the manager told us he had a large AC room with wifi, a big TV, and hot shower for 600rs. Wish I'd shopped around.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Procrastinasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Good value for money. We stayed two nights. Excellent hot water in the AC room. Blankets on the bed needed a good clean. Floor was dusty.
We didn't try the food as we ate out at various places.
The owner/manager is a fun friendly & caring man, who speaks very good English.
Don't use the Internet next door, they quoted a crazy price. Much cheaper places around the corner, & there is free wifi at some restaurants too!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amoslandrybasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I was in due to be in Agra this last weekend ( 25-26th Feb 2012)and was looking for a budget hotel.Booked this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, what looked promising was its proximity to Taj Mahal's western gate, and its decent rooms at reasonable prices. I got exactly what i expected when i got there, I had booked a non-AC room as it is still relatively cool during this part of the year. I think anyone looking for a budget hotel should not definitely look at Hotel Sidhartha as one of the options.

Room Tip: 1.Dont be too excited about the roof top restaurants, monkeys will always keep u away from eating th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank praky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We looked at 4 rooms the non A/C rooms are not clean and smell bad !! the A/C room had less smell. The bathroom is very old as in a rusted stick to turn on shower. not real bedding sheet on mattress and thin dirty blanket. We didn't stay as although we had ID and the credit card used to book, as per the terms, they demanded our passports and visa which we didnt take for security reasons. The hotel we stayed at insted didn't ask for passport.

Room Tip: get a/c room even if you don't want the a/c as they don't smell as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.6 km away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 147 in Agra
592 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#67 of 147 in Agra
88 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Saniya Place
Hotel Saniya Place
#95 of 147 in Agra
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#104 of 147 in Agra
142 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#28 of 147 in Agra
157 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Taj Galaxy
Hotel Taj Galaxy
#37 of 147 in Agra
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sidhartha? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sidhartha

Address: Western Gate, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Agra
Price Range: ₹ 648 - ₹ 907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sidhartha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, OYO Rooms, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Sidhartha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidhartha Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing