We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“no hot water; blaring music all night” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Imperial, Agra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Imperial, Agra
Ranked #28 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“no hot water; blaring music all night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The music outside our room was so loud, it was like being at a stadium concert. We called several times and the staff wouldn't turn the volume down, even though there were no guests outside listening to it. There was no hot water, even though the staff kept telling us that it was "ok." There are dancing performers (including a child) who keep aggressively bugging the guests for tips. Positives: the room was large and the architecture was interesting.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, 6 February 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    183
    132
    44
    38
See reviews for
151
204
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, thank goodness no look longer. The room was large and cold and backed on to the back of the kitchen! despite the place being almost empty. The shower was over the bath and like another post flooded the floor, probably same room. We didn't touch the buffet after the first night as it looked as if it had been there all day. Breakfast was no better with the waiters waiting to take plates before we had finished.

Everywhere we turned someone was waiting for a tip!! The laundry came back damp.

The good thing was the wifi was free although slow.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to look at room before taking,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winged1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, 6 February 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Nice big rooms but it was cold in December. The heater they brought over died and did not work. The toilet was blocked and housekeeping (3 guys!) could not fix it. They insisted it was ok even though a turd was floating in the bowl. They looked plaintively at me seeming to look for a tip.

One of us had food poisoning during our stay there - not having eaten anything anywhere else. The front desk was singularly unhelpful when we asked for a doctor. "Too much fog. The doctor will not come". Then get a taxi to take us to the hospital "too much fog. no taxi." Then get an ambulance. He could not find a hospital for 20 minutes.

Flipping through the guest book, you could see other entries of horror, including one: "my wife was ill". I wonder why?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erlanger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, 6 February 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
353 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed 2 night in the Grand Imperial.
The room are great and big. The comfort a little less but still Okay. It has a has a swimming pool and and a massage parlor. Also a restaurant, though the restaurant (buffet style) is something the hotel has to work on. This restaurant is rather below standard compared to other Indian restaurants.

Room Tip: Eat outside the hotel, there will always be a gentile TukTuk driver just outside the hotel that will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Allow me to be very candid so that all readers of this review know what to expect.


GOOD THINGS FIRST:
1) This is a heritage building from the Bristish Era, now converted to a Hotel. This was closed for almost 40years and has restored operations since the last 7 to 10years. In the bygone days, it has hosted luminaries like the Prince of England, Prince of Japan, The Agha Kan, Dilip Kumar, Madhubala... etc.
2) The rooms are huge and gives a very stately feeling. You will feel like a royal living here.
The staff is very courteous and they will try their best to help you out.
The F&B manager was very friendly and made sure that the guests were kept in good humour.
3)The breakfast spread is very good and I found it to be comparable to few of the best hotels I got a chance to visit.
4)Every evening, they have local or Rajasthani performances in the lawns. Sometimes they may have special programmes too, where the courteous front-desks invites all the residents to enjoy the same. Swimming pool is also well maintained.


ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT:
1) The staff received us at the hotel with garland which was very encouraging. However, then the welcome drinks turned out to be plain Cola drink in small and plain glasses. My 5Star experience expects some decorated containers with freshly brewed local drinks like coconut water, mango juice..... if not some good mocktails.
2)Since they have resumed operations recently, certain places here may pinch the eye. As per the management, since this is a Heritage Building, they need approvals from the government even for petty matters like putting a nail through the walls. I am sure they are working on this, though 7years of operations was a good time to put things straight by now. The ceiling of my room was flaking (Maharani Padmini Suite).
3)The dinner and lunch spreads do not meet 5Star standards. I also ordered Chilli Chicken, a-la-carte. What I was served was more of a Sweet-n-Sour Chicken.
4)I was called twice from the laundry saying that my laundry was ready. I had to tell them that it was not mine since I had sent nothing to the laundry.
5)The Shaving Kit in the bathroom had the razor missing....... only the cream was provided. Luckliy, I always like using my own set whereever I go. Hence this was not a problem.
6)I requested my batroom to be replenised with Shampoo, cream and soap. A well dressed gentleman came and replenished toilet-rolls only. I am sure, he did not check what was really needed to be replenished in the batroom. I had to call them 2nd time to get the right stuff.
7)The bathtub had water standing in it. Maybe the management may do a little levelling to that there is a slope for the water to drain out.
8)In all my 5Star stays, I have seen a printed card on the Mini-bar/Snacks counter, saying what was complimentary and the rates of the stuff that was chargeable. You know it gets embarassing to call up the reception to ask the same!!

MY OVERALL RECOMENDATION:
This is one of the best properties I have stayed in. Please visit this place if you want to live the life of a royal and get treated like one too. But I feel that the promoters of this place are not at all interested to restore this place to its former glory. I think the operating management might be running against forces to put up a good show, but it lacks the backup they need. There is a lot of expectation when you pay almost Rs.10,000 per day of your stay at a hotel. Nevertheless, I would like to go back there if they can improve on the above.

Thank you and Merry Christmas 2011.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, no doubt about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chandrachoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
4.2 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#12 of 142 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
5.4 km away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 142 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
4.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#43 of 142 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
3.4 km away
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
2.3 km away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#16 of 142 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Imperial, Agra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Imperial, Agra

Property: The Grand Imperial, Agra
Address: 32/107a Mahatma Gandhi Road, Opposite Dm Bunglow, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Agra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,977 - ₹ 8,492
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Imperial, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GRAND IMPERIAL AGRA The Grand Imperial is the only Heritage hotel in Agra, and takes you into a world of Victorian Era. The wide arches and the red Lahori brick walls are a blend of Colonial and Mughal architecture.The Grand Imperial offers enough history to keep guests engrossed for days on end. There are special rooms, old mementos, photographs and macho stories of courage and velour that can be recounted over and over again. Located in the heart of the city of Agra, the hot seat of the Mughal Empire, the 100 year old Grand Imperial is constructed of biscuit bricks commonly referred to as Lahori bricks, which were also used in the construction of the world renowned monument of love - The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort. Post World War II the Imperial Hotel, as was then known, played host to distinguished guests such as the crown princes of England and Japan, Prince Aga Khan, Shri Moti Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Jai Prakash Narayan and renowned cinema personalities such as Dilip Kumar, Madhubala and others. Its 16 chambers of princess rooms and 14 deluxe rooms are a blend of the new modern comforts with old Heritage ambience. The property consists of old heritage, Victorian style arches, rooms with large areas and ceilings, wide corridors and spacious verandahs, open gardens, etc. Enjoy the Victorian-Mughal Era, in the bar, with its array of excellent wines, and beers. The multi-cuisine restaurant, bar, health club, spa, and lush lawns, makes your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda, TravelGuru and Expedia so you can book your The Grand Imperial, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Imperial, Agra Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing