We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel... Good for budget”
Review of Hotel Taj Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Taj Plaza
Ranked #102 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This hotel has a good location, the rooms are large but the fans and air coolers don't work efficiently enough so you'd need to go for air con if there in Summer like us. It's right next to the Oberoi Hotel where you can escape for a cocktail and beautiful views of their grounds and the Taj Mahal!  It's really a budget hotel, trying to be mid range...but an adequate stay for budget travellers as you get the extra hotel touches! We didn't try the rooftop restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 91LiviR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (490)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Taj Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 265 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

While I agree that the water was on the salty-side for some reason and the restaurant was just average, I thought it was a good value for the location and the staff was friendly. There were desktop computers for use and wifi in the lobby (there is no wifi in the rooms, even though they say, and I think, sincerely believe there is). We walked to the South Gate of the Taj Mahal for some meals and that area was much more hopping with people, traffic, animals, open sewers, etc. If you're looking for a more laid-back stay in Agra, stay close to the East Gate. The ticket booth (open at 5am) for the Taj was a five-minute walk away from the Hotel Taj Plaza and then you can take a free battery-powered shuttle to the gate. No problems--super easy. If I would come to Agra again, I would stay at this place. If breakfast was included in the price of our room and the Internet was more reliable, I would call this a great deal, but it still was a good deal ($23 USD Agoda).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The generator for the air conditioner in our room caught fire. We called the front desk for help, but no one came. The rooftop restaurant staff heard our concerns and also called the front desk. Still no one. They finally sent the "house boy," who understandably did not know what to do about the generator or the smoke filling the room.

I ran down four flights of stairs and found out the front desk clerk hadn't told the night manager, who was sitting about 8 feet away, because he didn't want to disturb the manager's conversation. The manager seemed surprised -- but unconcerned -- about the fire, simply offering us another room without bothering to check if people were safe or what to do about the smoke filling the upstairs hall making it difficult for guests to breathe.

The person in charge of the front desk later told us he didn't come to help because he first had to go turn off all the power to the room -- but he couldn't explain why the lights and fan were still on if he had truly turned off the power.

Unstable electricity is a reality in India, but having a staff so unaware of basic safety procedures or even why burning wires and plastic is bad means someone may die here one day. A good view of the Taj is not worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wander73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Some staff is quite grumpy.
The lobby did give me false hope about the rooms in terms of cleaniness. The doors are quite difficult to close and lock.
There is hot water but the water lines come out in different directions so I couldn't catch them...
The bucket is useful!

The best part is, the rooftop has a perfect view of Taj Mahal, though the smog does not give you a very clear view.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ac_mty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a friendly, warm welcome by hotel staff. our rooms on top floor were absolutely top, good beds, good shower, tea making facilities in the room.The view of Taj Mahal from Our hotel was great.very quiet, great breakfast, located nearby the city 15min walk or if you like a walk.it a great place to stay in Agra.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suvi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#18 of 142 in Agra
637 reviews
0.7 km away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#100 of 142 in Agra
584 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#85 of 142 in Agra
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#31 of 142 in Agra
485 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#78 of 142 in Agra
564 reviews
0.2 km away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#39 of 142 in Agra
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Plaza

Address: Fatehabad Road | Near Hotel the Oberoi Amar Vilas, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: ₹ 771 - ₹ 2,762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taj Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Taj Plaza offers 40 rooms which are divided into three categories i.E. Taj Facing Deluxe Room, Deluxe A/C Room and Non AC Room. The rooms are spacious and offer a beautiful view of the famous Taj Mahal to make your stay memorable. The hotel has a multi cuisine restaurant, Magic of Spice where guests can treat their taste buds with Indian, Chinese, Continental and Mughlai delicacies. There is a 24 hours Coffee N Taj Rooftop restaurant and Bar-Be-Que where comfort and taste come together in delectable food and gracious surroundings. Hotel Taj Plaza provides 24-hour a day, 7 days a week services of qualified personnels on duty at the front desk in the reception area. Also, qualified staff members are always alert and available to guests, walk-ins and attending telephone calls from all over the world 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Hotel has a well-equipped lobby with comfortable sitting area. A well established travel desk is committed to fulfill the travel requirements of guests. 24 hours power backup is provided for electricity outages. Guests can avail 24 hours personalized room service for a great stay experience. There is a nearby ATM cash machine for the convenience of guests. All major credit cards are acceptable and foreign currency exchange services is also available. A well spacious conference and banquet hall is available that can accommodate 10 to 100 people at a time. Various other facilities provided by the hotel are luggage deposit, internet station, family reading room, car parking, daily newspaper, laundry and dry cleaning, telephone and baby sitting services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, TravelGuru, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Taj Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing