We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis of calm”
Review of The Coral Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coral Tree
Ranked #2 of 205 Agra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Totally agree with the recent reviews - this is walking distance to the Taj Mahal.
The pretty garden is a pleasent spot to sit and reflect on what you have just visited.
The facilities are totally adequate, its comfy and quirky run by the most delightful family who are welcoming you into their home. The home cooked food is simple and delicous.
Our hosts couldn't do enough to make us welcome, even popping down to the local sweet shop at 8pm to get us a box of the lovely sweets they had served us at dinner.
We spent a very enjoyable couple of nights here.

Room Tip: We had ground floor room, which avoided the steps but was probably slightly noisier
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal S, Owner at The Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Hi Jane,- We're really thrilled you enjoyed your stay in Agra with us at the Coral Tree homestay. Sincerely hope you will return for another visit soon. Regards - Gopal & Vandna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (509)
There are newer reviews for The Coral Tree
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2017

We stayed here just one night. It is a very pretty homestay. Whilst the beds weren't as comfortable as some others we stayed at and I can understand some others saying it was a little noisy, there is a context. 1. This place is not expensive and hence the rooms are a little more rustic than others. They are clean, large and fine for one or two nights. 2. It is very close to the Taj and in a city. So there is going to be some noise. The real pluses are the tranquility of the lovely garden and the food. We ate there for dinner and breakfast. It is great value and really good. And you can walk to the ticket office of the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal S, Owner at The Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Hi There - Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Coral Tree Colony. We find feedback from our guests so important - it keeps us "on our toes" and helps keep our standards up. Best Regards - Gopal & Vandna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Very near Taj Mahal in a little oasis Of calm. Pretty well loved garden with a swing seat to rest up in. Tons of scalding hot water. Good breakfast lunch and supper. Really enjoyed our one night stay. Liked setting. Liked mr and mrs Singh. Very convenient for Taj Mahal.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hitherbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal S, Owner at The Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We're thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon at sometime in the future. Best regards - Gopal & Vandna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Having read some other reviews on here I think some people may be missing the point of a 'home stay'. Yes, it kind of means a bed and breakfast, but to hear people say that the rooms are basic and you have to switch the hot water on a few minutes before needing it really surprised me. Yes, the rooms are quite basic, but this is a home of a family and they are inviting you to their home. It is not a hotel and so what if you need to wait for the water to heat up for a few minutes. They do not advertise themselves as a 5 star hotel.
We found it beautiful and welcoming. The family were an absolute delight to meet and they made you feel welcome and at ease. Our room was upstairs on the top floor terrace and it was fine for a night. Yes, the bathroom is pretty basic, but it has hot water, a shower and a toilet. Some reviewers were upset at the lack of free toiletries which I find odd - do people not take their own soap and shampoo on holiday?
The family cook dinner and you sit around a big table with other guests and the food was absolutely yummy and plentiful.
We had slept well and were woken early by the call to prayer which was actually a really lovely way to wake up, a bit of real India.
The place is decorated beautifully in bright colours and there is a lovely garden for guests.
We only stayed for one night to facilitate a visit to the Taj Mahal, which I imagine most people do.
We would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CustardV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal S, Owner at The Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Hi CustardV,Thank you so much for your very kind review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Coral Tree homestay and hope you had a safe trip home. Best regards from Gopal & Vandna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Bar far the prettiest place we stayed and despite bering a stone's throw from the Taj, it felt calm and secluded, nestled on a back street but with a beautiful garden and first class, home cooked food. Our hostess spoke excellent English and accommodated our every need. Clean and comfy.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archiewoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal S, Owner at The Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon at sometime in the future. Best regards - Gopal & Vandna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.3 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
2.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 142 in Agra
1,583 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 142 in Agra
636 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coral Tree? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coral Tree

Address: 4 Amarlok Colony, Opp Jalma Hospital, next to Shilpgarm Parking | Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: ₹ 2,121 - ₹ 2,443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Coral Tree" B&B is conveniently located with easy access to restaurants, shopping malls, Taj nature walk, etc. All four extra large rooms equipped with modern amenities and free Wifi access open to private leafy verandas overlooking a very well kept garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Coral Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing