We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly + full of character”
Review of The Coral Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coral Tree
Ranked #2 of 205 Agra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We loved this place! Arrived late after a tortuous 9-hour journey from Sawai Madhopur with 3 tired kids, but we were immediately made to feel welcome and shown to our two double rooms on the top floor, which were perfect for us. Vandna said if she'd realised how young our kids were, she'd have given us rooms lower down - but it was honestly not a problem, and as there were no other rooms on the top floor it was really nice to have the outside terrace area (with seating and daybed) to ourselves. Beds were large and comfortable, and we'd booked an extra bed which was already installed and made up. Very clean, lovely laid-back atmosphere, delicious home-cooked breakfast (included in our room rate) and a lovely respite from the bustle of the streets. Vandna was really helpful in answering all our questions, advising us on getting Taj Mahal tickets and where to eat. There are a couple of perfectly decent rooftop restaurants about 5 mins walk away. Despite our best intentions we didn't leave for the ticket office until 6.40am, and the queue was already huge, so I would definitely advise getting there before 6.30am. (It's only about a 5 min walk from Coral Tree.) There were a number of other families staying when we were there, and lots of communal spaces made for a very chilled atmosphere. Would highly recommend Coral Tree, and it will definitely be our first choice if we ever return to Agra. Thank you Vandna and family!

Room Tip: If you need 2 rooms (and have no mobility issues), A + B on the top floor have a shared private outd...
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aldcfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal S, Owner at The Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Management
Dear Guest

Greetings from Coral Tree Homestay

Thank you for choosing our Homestay for your stay in Agra. We really appreciate your reviewing our Homestay.

Guest feedback's keep us motivated and help us to better ourselves. We are glad to know that you were able to find your stay in our Homestay satisfactory.We also thank you for the opportunity to serve you. It was a delight having you at our Coral Tree

Your feedback has been shared with the staff members. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Thanking You
Gopal Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for The Coral Tree
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2017

i love the place for its: location, food and the number guests taken is very few. Its a family run business so the service offered is very personalised and the owner has the time to chat with u during breakfast.

The breakfast was great: homemade puri bhaji with chickpeas curry, some toast, eggs, and mango juice which was yum

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nursakina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal S, Owner at The Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Management
Dear Guest

Greetings from Coral Tree Homestay

Thank you for choosing our Homestay for your stay in Agra. We really appreciate your reviewing our Homestay.

Guest feedback's keep us motivated and help us to better ourselves. We are glad to know that you were able to find your stay in our Homestay satisfactory.We also thank you for the opportunity to serve you. It was a delight having you at our Coral Tree

Your feedback has been shared with the staff members. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Thanking You
Gopal Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

The service was good and food . I just thought the rooms were very poor the towels very worn and thin , I don't think it would take much to have some nicer towels and make the rooms a bit more comfortable .location was good close to Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angedavis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal S, Owner at The Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017


Dear Guest,
Greeting from The Coral Tree homestay!!!
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the dirty towels and linen delivered to your room.

We are obviously disappointed to learn of your poor experience but do hope that you will reconsider, and return very soon.
Could you please write us in which room of coral tree you stay?

Lots of progress is being made in recent weeks and we are now performing much closer to where we need to be.

Regards,

Gopal Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as we had a visit planned for the Taj Mahal the following morning. This guest house is ideally situated for such a visit, with the ticket office etc. only a few hundred metres away.
The hosts here are very welcoming and nothing is too much for them. The grounds are pleasant and there are ample places to sit with a cold drink, book etc. We ate a lovely home-cooked meal in the evening and, as it was a communal dining area, it gave guests opportunities to share experiences with each other or the hosts.
An early morning start for the Taj meant that breakfast was taken following the visit and, again, this was a communal affair. Breakfast was plentiful with a wide range of options.
Unfortunately, our bedroom was a great disappointment and bordered on the archaic.
The linen barely covered the bed, whilst the pillows were very hard. The bathroom was out of date and we were told that the water switch needed turning on quite a few minutes before showering. The towels were small and thin and not worthy of being in a guest house. In fact the towels were grey and shoddy. The water pressure was low and showering was not a pleasant experience.
No complimentary toiletries and the only hanging space was a couple of knobs accompanied by metal coat hangers. A complaint has already been made to our travel company who organised the visit and I hope they and the management will address the urgent matters in order to bring this guest house up to standard.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal S, Owner at The Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017


Dear Guest,
Greeting from The Coral Tree homestay!!!
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the dirty towels and linen delivered to your room.

We are obviously disappointed to learn of your poor experience but do hope that you will reconsider, and return very soon.
Could you please write us in which room of coral tree you stayed?

Lots of progress is being made in recent weeks and we are now performing much closer to where we need to be.

Regards,

Gopal Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Yes the owners were lovely people and couldn't do enough for you. They have obviously put a lot of time an effort into making the place attractive. Lots of places to sit and rest including a garden with a swing seat etc. A welcome rest and haven after seeing dusty dirty Agra city! We had a nice vegetarian meal the night we stayed there in the dining area sitting with other guests. However.....although our room was attractive I would question the cleanliness of the bed linen and definitely the towels...they were a disgrace I have never seen greyer towels in my life! I judge a room on the quality of linen and towels this definitely failed! Such a shame as a little money spent on new towels and thin quilts rather than grubby blankets and tiny sheets would improve the quality of stay 100%. Management this needs addressing urgently.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal S, Owner at The Coral Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017


Dear Guest,
Greeting from The Coral Tree homestay!!!
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the dirty towels and linen delivered to your room.

We are obviously disappointed to learn of your poor experience but do hope that you will reconsider, and return very soon.
Could you please write us in which room of coral tree you stayed?

Lots of progress is being made in recent weeks and we are now performing much closer to where we need to be.

Regards,

Gopal Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.3 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
2.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 142 in Agra
1,583 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 142 in Agra
636 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coral Tree? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coral Tree

Address: 4 Amarlok Colony, Opp Jalma Hospital, next to Shilpgarm Parking | Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: ₹ 2,121 - ₹ 2,443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Coral Tree" B&B is conveniently located with easy access to restaurants, shopping malls, Taj nature walk, etc. All four extra large rooms equipped with modern amenities and free Wifi access open to private leafy verandas overlooking a very well kept garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Coral Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing