We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money!!!”
Review of The Coral Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coral Tree
Ranked #2 of 202 Agra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not value for money!!!”
Reviewed 16 December 2016

The only 2 good things about the stay are: (a) Location (Near to Taj East Gate) (b) Good interiors, gardens and other decorations.
We visited Agra in Dec'16 and decided to choose this place for our stay. We also hired a taxi from here, which was the biggest mistake of my life. The driver holds incomplete documents and was not allowed to enter Gwalior (for which we hired it). After wasting so many hours, the driver took us back to half a way and assigned a private number taxi for Gwalior. He also asked us to be alert and cautious about the route and driver since he is not known and also it is not a commercial vehicle. I was with my wife and daughter and I cannot describe how unsafe I felt in that situation. But we decided to move on. Finally we reached Gwalior Fort at 4:30pm, which was closed within an hour. By this, the whole day got wasted. The most depressing part is that, owners never tried to compensate it in any way.
The hotel is not at all value for money. The amount they are charging is way too high, if we compare to the services and facilities that they provide. In spite of a good rated hotel, rooms do not have the helpline phone extensions. Whenever we tried calling for any assistance on their mobile number, the person is always busy with multiple things. They have very much lack of staff, no dedicated person to help. Breakfast is very very ordinary, just 1-2 items in the veg menu.
Even before arriving here, we could sense the services. They never reply on emails, whether you write them directly or even through booking.com. They took weeks to respond and only after rigorous follow-ups, you could get answer to any of your query before reaching there.
I could not recommend anyone to stay here. Save money and stay in some other hotel which is even nearer to Taj, and obviously have better facilities.

Room Tip: Take bigger corner rooms to stay away from unwanted noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sameer_Singh_Arora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    86
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
101
245
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Coral Tree Homestay is very rightly placed as number 1 homestay!! It's a wonderfully done up home, with great attention to detail.
I stayed there with a group of 12 persons for 2 nights.
Rooms are beautiful, bathroom are spacious, all rooms are equipped with tea/coffee maker and Wifi is good.
Lots of places to hang around - the garden, the balconies, the sitting areas, the verandahs..
The breakfast is wonderful, so are the other meals that are available on request. We had dinner the first night, and it was so good that we unanimously booked dinner for the second night right away.
Location is fantastic - close to the booking office and the Taj.
There is an ATM within walking distance.
The BEST PART and what truly makes it deserving of its ranking are the people who run it. Vandana and Pratibha are the most welcoming, genuine, kind-hearted and friendly people that I have met. They are so generous with their time and seem so calm and relaxed, that they put everyone at ease.
This is really an oasis in Agra. I normally just stay one night on Agra, but now that I've found Coral Tree, I stay two nights, just so we have time to relax and enjoy the place.
Wish you all the very best, I'm looking forward to my next stay!
Cecilia y
We visited 'Sheroes' cafe, a place run by victims of acid attacks. This was a very emotional and inspirational place, I'd recommend people put it on their itineraries. Google 'Sheroes' and check out their website. Very moving.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The owners of this homestay could not be more welcoming, sincere, and helpful during our stay. Its extremely close to the ticket office of Taj, and Taj Mahal itself. ATM's are right aroud the corner as well. The rooms are clean, the setting is very serene and calm, and lastly they provide awesome home cooked dinner's/breakfast. Highly recommended for all! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlossinAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2016

On our only night in Agra we stayed at Coral Tree Homestay which was another great homestay recommendation from our tour company. Just a few yards from the manic Agra traffic it was a little oasis of peace and quiet. It was great to just sit in the small garden and enjoy the sunshine and wildlife. Our room was on the ground floor, brightly coloured and much larger than your average hotel room with an equally large bathroom. Just opposite was a small dining room where we took a home cooked evening meal and breakfast the next morning. The food was excellent - all delicious, plentiful and very different from what we are used to.

Our only two very small complaints were that the bed was very hard with rather thin, threadbare sheets and quilts and the shower had a leak that squirted water upwards and all over the bathroom. Other than these two minor points I have no hesitation in recommending this homestay for a short or longer stay in Agra.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Highly recommended. This place is wonderful: becoming a tranquil calming oasis after a busy day sightseeing in Agra. The rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable. The owners and staff are friendly and very welcoming. The hotel is located just around the corner to the ticket office for the Taj Majal and approx 10min walk from the Taj Mahal East Gate. I would highly recommend to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
2.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.3 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 143 in Agra
2,758 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 143 in Agra
1,566 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 143 in Agra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coral Tree? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coral Tree

Property: The Coral Tree
Address: 4 Amarlok Colony, Opp Jalma Hospital, next to Shilpgarm Parking | Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,119 - ₹ 2,761
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Coral Tree" B&B is conveniently located with easy access to restaurants, shopping malls, Taj nature walk, etc. All four extra large rooms equipped with modern amenities and free Wifi access open to private leafy verandas overlooking a very well kept garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip and Agoda so you can book your The Coral Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing