We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Ranked #13 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Pathanamthitta, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but could be better”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed for a day and night at this property. They have a good lobby and the welcome is really nice, and makes you feel important. The people at the reception though may appear indifferent but dont worry they get their job done. The room is quiet nice, minimum decor, but sufficiently spacious. House keeping is really bad. They have to be reminded to fix the TV which was not working, fill a mini bar with items specifed ( it was empty). Again when you tell them, they do the work promptly. Food is quiet costly and I felt the charges were on the high side, not that the taste was something remarkable either. Toilets are clean and well maintained. Nice swimming pool with a cute kids pool. Overall an average hotel who could probably do much better

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saint0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 11 June 2016
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having your stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback. We were especially delighted to read your positive comments you made about the Hotel and the Services.

Sincere apologies for inconvenience you had, We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    438
    252
    91
    55
See reviews for
328
356
76
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Its wonderful option to stay in Agra for quite a few reasons:

1: Its very close to the Taj Mahal.
2: Prices are reasonable.
3: Hotel staff are polite and helpful.
4: Rooms are clean and well managed.
5: Food quality is nice.

However, travellers experience could be uplifted bit more by maintaining more professional travel desk, controlling noise level from room to room and from external sources and also smooth check out.

Overall, The big plus goes to its every staff members, who are simply stupendous and creating a brand image for this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 11 June 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

You must stay here! Extremely good value for so much luxury!! A gorgeous swimming-pool and gym, shops, good service and lovely rooms.

Room Tip: Try getting a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 11 June 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The most memorable thing about my stay at this hotel was the bad service.

When you request a wake-up call at 4:15 AM because you have to catch a train, you expect to receive a wake-up call at 4:15 AM and not at 4:40 AM.

And when you already pay an outrageous amount of money for a WiFi connection you expect it to work and if it doesn't, you expect a swift reimbursement of the costs. What you don't expect is that you have to argue with the hotel management for a considerable amount of time until they finally agree to do so.

To make things worse there were constant blackouts on the second evening of my stay and the fittings in my bathroom were quite rusty.

The only good thing about this hotel is its location, a convenient 15-minute walk away from the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JochenHertweck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 18 June 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agra hotels

London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were booked to stay in the Howard Sarovar Portico hotel on our recent visit to Agra in April 2012 but after seeing the room we decided to check out and book into another hotel. The room was dirty and the pillows still had stains on it from the previous occupants in the room. The toilet looks like it was never cleaned. We complained to the hotel manager but intially he was very dismissive of us until the Housekeeping Manager arrived and listen to what we had to say. They showed us two other rooms which was apparently better but they were NOT!! We decided to check out and check into another hotel. I would not reccomend this hotel ever .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalayMoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 18 June 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
2.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
2.0 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
2.8 km away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#90 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
1.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza The Fern Agra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Property: Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#11 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#12 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,271 - ₹ 5,774
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza The Fern Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Plaza The Fern Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing