We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as a base for the visit to the Taj”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Ranked #12 of 145 Hotels in Agra
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,737 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,131 helpful votes
“Good as a base for the visit to the Taj”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed for one night here as the sole purpose to visit Agra was to view the Taj Mahal. Check in was far from smooth as they only had reservations for 2 adults and 1 child according to their records whilst our voucher was for 2 adults and 2 children and we had paid our agent in advance and this included having an extra bed in the room. Our hotel voucher given to us by our agent was meaningless to them and reception wanted 1000 rupees more for the extra person and they would not put an extra bed in the room until then.

The matter was sorted out in due course when we phoned our agent who in turn contacted the hotel but this took several hours, in the meantime we went to our room, refreshed ourselves and quickly made our way to the Taj Mahal whilst the matter was being dealt with. Still I find it strange a hotel casually disregards their guests hotel voucher and may not realise the mistake could be theirs!

We got no welcome drinks or anything like that, in fact even the lifts did not work on our first day, thankfully we were only on the first floor. The hotel is getting refurbished on the higher floors although I heard no noise during the daytime, my wife claims she did.

The hotel room was nice and large but with old, slightly out of fashion furniture. We got complimentary bottles of water and later in the evening the extra bed arrived.

The hotel has a rather grand foyer with a big chandelier, there is a nice spa, small gym and a pool but is not heated so it can be rather chilly. There was a wedding reception in the evening when we were there and it seems is popular spot for such functions.

We had buffet breakfast included and it was rather average. The service was functional, there was a moderate variety and made to order eggs and the omelette were rather nice although there is room for improvement here as I was far from impressed with breakfast from any of the hotels I stayed in India during my trip.

This hotel is a good spot for Agra, reasonably priced, not far from the Taj Mahal, there are places to eat nearby with a Costa Cafe, Pizza hut were just a short walk away. There are internet places just across the road as the hotel charges for internet are high.

Once the refurbishment is complete, this would be a rather fine hotel but it did let itself down with a protracted check in process. They should had sided with the customer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestonGuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 22 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    441
    253
    92
    55
See reviews for
336
358
77
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Loved this hotel stay in Agra for 3 nights. Morning Breakfast was great. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesboss27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 11 June 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed 1 night, welcomed with juice drink and flowers, hotel looking a bit tired but clean facilities, large rooms. Big plus, staff were very helpful, one lady helping my 2 daughters dress in their saris for our tour of the Taj Mahal. Concierge and IT Manager tried to get wifi working on my iPad - but no success! We relied on hotel wifi for web, sms and skype, was isolating with no wifi. Breakfast was good, full western and indian buffet. One extra star for helpful staff, but one star off for tired decor, no wifi on iPad.

Room Tip: check that the room key will turn on the power, mine was intermittent and they only have 1 key
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSnowInPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 22 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Thank you about a great holiday in Agra.
Everything went very well, all flights, hotels etc. Hotels were fine and the staff were very helpful and nice people.
We are sure to come back and we are sure to use your services at that time.
Thank you again and hope to come to Agra.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajeet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 11 June 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

What a beautiful hotel. After a long journey to Agra, we were welcomed with big smiles and fresh flower garlands. The reception area is beautiful with massive chandeliers. The rooms were clean and very beautifully designed. Service from all employees were excellent. The best part, was the food! A full buffet breakfast and tasty items on the menu. They have a lovely spa inside the hotel, 2 restaurants to choose from and a lovely pool at the back. One of the best reasons to stay here is that this hotel is situated 10 minutes away from the Taj Mahal, so getting was not difficult at all. The view from the roof top restaurant is lovely.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, 11 June 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
1,534 reviews
1.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
2.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.8 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 145 in Agra
3,847 reviews
1.3 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza The Fern Agra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Property: Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#11 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,261 - ₹ 7,170
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza The Fern Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Howard Plaza The Fern Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing