We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel pity about the city of Agra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #7 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Hotel was clean and tidy. Room was booked with a view, and was on one of the lower floors so it wasn't great. The air pollution was pretty bad so that didn't help either.
You would only stay there to visit the Taj, can't say there was much else to see or do there in Agra.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich-Dep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,010)
There are newer reviews for The Gateway Hotel, Agra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,559 - 1,563 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2010

We had the fortune of picking the Taj Gateway for the one night we were staying in Agra. In short, this hotel more than exceeded my expectations.

We arrived pretty exhausted from getting up so early to catch the train to Agra. We were delighted to be greeted in the clean and attractive lobby. Even though it was very early in the morning, we were given the keys to our rooms as soon as they were ready- a nice courtesy on the part of the staff.

The room was definitely above average for the money. We got a double with a taj view, it was the cheapest taj view you can get in a hotel of its class in Agra.

The food at this hotel was excellent- they have a restaurant serving Indian cuisine and another that serves both Indian and Continental. We ate at both and really enjoyed every meal we had. The drinks in the bar are also reasonably priced, which is not something you can say about every five-star in India!

We booked our trip to the Taj Mahal and another trip to the outskirts of Agra through the hotel. The car we got was clean and well-appointed, the driver polite and careful, and the price was basically the same as what you'd get at a lower-level travel agency.

Other nice touches in the room included free water, tea and instant coffee, waffled-cotton robes, a gorgeous marble bathroom, exceptional turn-down service and a lovely pool area. This is a fantastic upscale option for Agra- you'll save money over other five-stars and get Taj service to boot.

I am picky about hotels -- you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neimanmarxist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarayanRoy, Sales Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2010

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Agra.

Thank you for your review. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at our property.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Narayan Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Bad :
* when we arrived ( at noon) I have not found any bell boy at the door. It was hard for me to manage my luggage with a 1.5 yrs old baby girl. I have noticed that most of the time the bell boys stayed inside.
* Rundown old hotel with torn sofas.
* Poor quality amenities.

Good :
* warm, clean all side 4 feet deep safe swimming pool .
* Garden.
* Front desk efficiency.
* Good house keeping ( Specially a guy named Binod ).
* Location ( almost walking distance from Taj)
* Good and comfortable bed.


Suggestion to the owner :
* Breakfast and Dinner should include more choice.
* More clean restaurant.


I will suggest this hotel because most of the staff are helpful and nice. And swimmingpool is definitely a good one.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DhakaPagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarayanRoy, Sales Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2010

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Agra.

Thank you for your review. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We have also noted your concerns and suggestions and assure you of taking appropriate corrective/remedial actions to address these issues.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Narayan Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I, with my friends, stayd in this hotel and found that everything is enjoyble and very pleasant with the services, staff and everything. We enjoyed our vacations there

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Guests can look forward to gracious interiors, personalized service and the Taj's inimitable style for a memorable stay

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hexloads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.4 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 142 in Agra
4,004 reviews
1.7 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.2 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
2.0 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 142 in Agra
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#7 Spa Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
Price Range: ₹ 5,022 - ₹ 18,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, Agoda, Yatra, HotelQuickly, ClearTrip, Prestigia and HostelWorld so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing