We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #7 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Great hotel to stay at Agra. The most charming fact is the view of TajMahal from the room itself. It's really amazing. Rooms are quiet, clean and properly maintained. Restaurant serves good food but a bit expensive even in 5star category. They serves variety of items in breakfast. The lobby area is bit congested, it could have been better.

Will recommend it as the city is too noisy, so after you came from all the city hustle bustle, should have some quiet place to take rest.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms from which you will get the View of Taj. All room does not have that.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubhashisMandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,012)
There are newer reviews for The Gateway Hotel, Agra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,264 - 1,268 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel was OK. I ended up paying more than I thought it was worth, as I left booking too late, and this hotel was the only one left that wasn't a homestay on the one night I had in Agra. I'm trying not to let that affect my review too much, however even with the high amount of my bill, I still paid half of rack rate, so be sure you're not paying any more than that when you go!

They are currently renovating the second floor, so perhaps they hadn't gotten up to my room yet. It definitely needed renovation and had a damp smell. I was in a suite with a Taj view, however it was too foggy to properly see the Taj, and as some other reviewers have commented, the room was REALLY noisy, so in my personal opinion, if I went back, I'd ask for a garden view room - as the view of the Taj isn't worth the extra price (you're going to see it properly whilst you're there anyway) and I'd imagine the garden view rooms are much quieter.

Pro's: The garden is really lovely and the hotel has a gym and a pool (note, the staff tell you the gym is 24/7, but that means that if you want to access it after 9pm, or before 6am, you need to go to reception and ask for a key). There are magicians and puppeteers in the evening, which are probably good if you have kids. There are yoga mats in the rooms, and the staff are very friendly.
Cons: Room was noisy, damp, and visibly aging (as noted, they are renovating, so this may be fixed soon). My shower was broken, and when fixed, water pressure remained bad. When I arrived, I only had one towel in my room. I asked for extra towels, and arrived back to my room to find a single extra towel (Agra is hot, and you walk about a fair bit... expect to take a couple of showers a day!), so again had to ask for more.

In all, this hotel wasn't my cup of tea. If I went back, I'd book a room earlier and stay at the Oberoi. If I'm going to be gauged on price, I want it to be worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairstein_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Inauguration of new express way from New Delhi - Noida to Agra has made Hotels in Agra busy for some time ! The Express way reduces the journey time significantly by at least two hours to Agra. Its always a good idea specifically due to poor weather most of the year in Agra- to stay overnight - plan to see the Taj Mahal in either moon light or early morning. Agra Fort visit on same day - in the evening with Sound and Light Show at 1915 Hrs. I believe this is best way to spend evening Day 1 and visit Taj early morning pre-breakfast is best idea- due to heat - dust - humidity most of the year !

Stay at Gateway Agra Hotel-managed by Tata's is best and relaxing.

Room we stayed was comfortable with excellent house keeping. Specially offer of laundry at just $ 12 for any 10 clothes.You could dry clean in about 2-3 hours all your dirty clothes unlike US or Europe !
Taj Mahal is close and so is Agra Fort - Gate way has location advantage,

Food breakfast is excellent,
Have food only in Coffee shop as the Punjabi -Indian is understaffed and poor service. Best is the Bar ! Taj culture of excellent and efficient staff makes the stay pleasant.

Room Tip: Chose floor 5, and any side - pool side or road side.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MADHUKAR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by friends and we were not disappointed. We arrived fairly late in the evening, and on entering our room we could see the Taj Mahal through the window which was a magical moment. The room was very clean and tidy with the usual amenities that you would expect in this price range, although throughout our stay in India, we never really got used to having to pay for WiFi, but as we discovered this seems to be the norm in India, even at the most expensive hotels.
I really enjoyed the breakfast buffet (my favorite meal) and rather overindulged!
We stayed two nights and the staff were friendly and helpful in answering our questions. We did have to call housekeeping on one occasion for a minor issue (light bulb), and this was taken care of promptly, as was our laundry.
The hotel is in a good location with nice grounds, and a short drive from the Taj and the other major sites. Will probably never have the opportunity to go back, but would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Well worth the relatively small extra cost for a Taj view room
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Convenient to the Taj Mahal, the Red Fort, everything nearby...... Good breakfast buffet, excellent rooms (and mattress), and service. Restaurant food was also quite good, but even though it is surrounded by 6 acres of gardens, the noise level is poor. Maybe it was the wedding nearby. But then, there are always weddings in India.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. I don't know where that would be, but I'm sure all the hotels in the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyaDenver_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.4 km away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 142 in Agra
4,008 reviews
1.7 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.2 km away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
2.0 km away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 142 in Agra
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#7 Spa Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
Price Range: ₹ 5,002 - ₹ 17,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Yatra, ClearTrip, Prestigia, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and TravelGuru so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing